Skip top navigation

Database List: A

Bookmark and Share
Databases
Skip navigation
A BCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWYZNumAll

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.


more information icon Click for more information about a database.



Abstracts in Anthropology (online)
2001-present. Provides indexing and abstracts of books, articles, and conference papers from several hundred journals, covering cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Abstracts of Folklore Studies
1963-1975. Abstracts of articles from journals in folklore. Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press.
Academic Search Premier
An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.
Acceda Noticias (English interface)
2000-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from over 40 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.
Acceda Noticias (Spanish interface)
2000-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from over 50 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.
Access World News Research Collection
Mostly 1990s-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from nearly 4,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more.
Access World News: United States

Electronic editions-of-record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Also contains full-text content from key international sources.


AccessScience
Contains reference material covering all major scientific disciplines with articles drawn from McGraw-Hill encyclopedias, dictionaries, and yearbooks, as well as videos, curriculum materials, and links to primary source documents.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Digital Collection
Digital collection of over 4,300 full-text titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with 30 academic societies and over 100 contributing publishers.
ACM Digital Library
Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), whether in journals, transactions, magazines, newsletters, SIGs, or conference proceedings, plus bibliographic citations from other major publishers in computing.
ACS journals search
Full text of articles from 30+ journals published by the American Chemical Society, from the very first issues to the present.
ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information
An established and definitive source within and beyond the chemistry community, educating researchers on how to effectively communicate scientific information.
Africa Bibliography
An annual listing of published work in African Studies, recognized as the authoritative guide to the available literature. Covers the whole of Africa and is not confined to works in English.
African Abstracts
1961-1972. A quarterly review of ethnological, social, and linguistic studies appearing in current periodicals.
African American Music Reference
Includes essays, biographies, chronologies, images, sheet music, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies to chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Musical genres represented are blues, civil rights songs, gospel, jazz, minstrelsy, rhythm & blues, slave songs, spirituals, and other forms of black American musical expression.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
A subset of America's Historical Newspapers, created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this collection include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN), and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for worldwide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
All Music Guide
Offers in-depth information on musicians, albums, and songs with news, reviews, ratings, discographies, music samples, and links to streaming audio.
AllAfrica
Aggregates and indexes content from over 130 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources. Available in English or French.
America's Historical Newspapers
1690-1922. Electronic editions-of-record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers compiled in a single database. Paid ads are excluded.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes some full text. Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
1939-present. Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union, produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. ABSEES is also available in print (Z2483.A65).
American Factfinder
Statistics and aggregate data from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Economic Census, and Annual Economic Surveys.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Digital resource presenting insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact up to the civil rights movement of the mid-20th century. Contains material from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection, including books, manuscripts, artwork, photographs, and newspapers. Highlights include rare documents such as treaties, speeches, diaries & travel journals, and historical maps.
American State Papers
1789-1838. Full-text database of U.S. Congressional materials.
Ancient World Mapping Center
Hosts a series of downloadable maps that are freely available for educational use and also can be licensed for publication at nominal cost. The maps are organized according to rough geographic regions, including the Roman Empire, the Iberian Penninsula, Egypt, the Aegean, and the Mediterranean.
L' Annee Philologique
Comprehensive bibliography of the literature on all aspects of the classical period, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, in collaboration with the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the American Philological Association. A print edition is also available (Z7016.M35 A1).
Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History
Print reference work covering the history of the British Isles from the Roman period up to the 20th century. Available upon request.
Annual Reviews
1932-present. Provides critical reviews of the primary research literature in 46 disciplines within three broad catagories of academic endeavor: the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
Antarctic Bibliography
Provides indexing and abstracts of government publications, reports, journal articles, and monographs from around the world covering topics related to the Antarctic. Subjects covered include biology, cartography, expeditions, geology, oceanography, and meteorology. Print version available upon request.
Anthropological Index Online
1957-present. Indexes journal articles in physical anthropology, cultural anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Anthropological Literature
Indexes journal articles and edited works in archaeology, anthropology, and linguistics; also covers sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics.
AnthroSource
1888-present. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
AP Images (Associated Press)
Constantly updated, AP Images provides access to millions of primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Also provides audio, video, graphics, and interactives. This database may be used for educational purposes only.
The Arabidopsis Book
Open-access peer-reviewed online journal covering a broad range of topics in research on Arabidopsis thaliana and related species, supported by the American Society of Plant Biologists.
Art History Resources on the Web
1995-present. Organized collection of links to websites in many aspects of art history, created by Christopher L.C.E. Whitcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College in Virginia.
Art Source
Covers a broad range of subjects, from fine, decorative, and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. International in scope covering English-language journals, books, and more, as well as works published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. The database also has an extensive collection of images.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Online bibliographical database providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards.
ArtCyclopedia
Searchable online encyclopedia of art, including images. Also offers essays, news items, and a directory of Art Museums Worldwide.
ARTFL
Collection of primary source texts from 17th-century France including Diderot's Encyclopédie. Founded in 1982 as a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources.
ArticleFirst
1990-present. Multidisciplinary index of articles listed on the table of contents pages of over 15,000 academic journals.
Artlibraries.net: Virtual Catalogue for Art History
International specialized meta-catalogue enabling the retrieval of bibliographic records from numerous art history databases. Offers access to well over 10 million records, including articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues, exhibition books, and an increasing percentage of records for archival and photographic materials and online resources.
ARTstor
Searchable database of images applicable to many different times, cultures, and disciplines. Also includes local Physics and Botany image collections. Use individual log-in for off-campus access.
arXiv
3-primary. 1991-present. An e-print service which presents papers in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
ATLA Religion Index
1949-present. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over a thousand international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)