Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?
Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
Click for more information about a database.
| Abstracts in Anthropology (Online)
2001-. Provides indexing and abstracts of books, articles, and conference papers from several hundred journals, covering cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. |
|
| Abstracts of Folklore Studies
1963-1975. Abstracts of articles from journals in folklore. Published for the American Folklore Society by the University of Texas Press |
|
| Academic Search Premier Mobile access to Academic Search Premier Dates vary. An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals. |
|
| Acceda Noticias (English interface)
Mostly 2000-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 40 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America. |
|
| Acceda Noticias (Spanish interface)
2000-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 50 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America. |
|
| Access World News Research Collection
Mostly 1990's-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 3,900 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more. |
|
| Access World News: United States
Electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Access World News also contains full-text content from key international sources. |
|
| AccessScience
The online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Yearbooks and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, and more. |
|
| ACLS Humanities E-Book Digital Collection
A digital collection of over 3,300 full-text titles offered by American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with 20 learned societies and over 100 contributing publishers. |
|
| ACM Digital Library
The full text of every article ever published by ACM (in journals, transactions, magazines, newsletters, SIGs, and conference proceedings) plus bibliographic citations from other major publishers in computing. |
|
| ACS Journals Search
The full text of articles from 30+ journals published by the American Chemical Society is available from the very first issues of the journals to the present. |
|
| Africa Bibliography
|
|
| African Abstracts
1961-1972. A quarterly review of ethnological, social, and linguistic studies appearing in current periodicals. |
|
| African American Music Reference
African American Music Reference when complete will include 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies, which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Musical genres represented are blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.It can also be searched through Music Online: Reference |
|
| AGRICOLA
Provides citations to the wide range of agricultural literature. |
|
| All Music Guide
|
|
| AllAfrica
AllAfrica aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources, who are responsible for their own reporting and views. |
|
| America's Historical Newspapers
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers compiled in a single database. Paid ads are excluded. Covers 1690-1922. |
|
| America: History and Life with Full Text Mobile access to America: History and Life with Full Text Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes some full text. Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations. |
|
| American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies Mobile access to American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies Produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1939-present.(Also available in print: Z2483 .A65) |
|
| American Factfinder
Statistics and aggregate data from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Economic Census, and Annual Economic Surveys. |
|
| American State Papers
1789-1838. Full-text database of U.S. Congressional materials. |
|
| Annee Philologique
This is the primary resource for comprehensive access to the literature on all aspects of the classical period. Library subscribes to the print version as well as the online version. The print version allows you to easily browse the years work. |
|
| Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History
A bibliography covering the Roman period in Great Britain up the 20th century. |
|
| Antarctic Bibliography - Print Index
Provides indexing and abstracts of government publications, reports, journal articles, and monographs from around the world covering topics related to the Antarctic. Subjects covered include biology, cartography, expeditions, geology, oceanography, and meteorology. |
|
| Anthropological Index Online
1957-. Indexes journal articles in physical anthropology, cultural anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics. |
|
| Anthropology Plus
1800s-. Combination of the former Anthropological Literature and Anthropology Index. Indexes journal articles and edited works in archaeology, anthropology and linguistics; also covers sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics. |
|
| Anthrosource
1888-. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). |
|
| AP Images (Associated Press)
Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Grinnell College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials. |
|
| Art & Architecture Complete Mobile access to Art & Architecture Complete A comprehensive database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 730+ academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. |
|
| Art History Resources on the Web / Christopher L. C.E. Whitcombe
Professor, Art History, Sweet Briar College, Virginia. 1995- Organized collection of links to websites in many aspects of Art History. |
|
| ARTbibliographies Modern
Online bibliographical database providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards. |
|
| ArtCyclopedia
An online encyclopedia of art. Also includes a directory of Art Museums Worldwide. Searchable. Includes images. |
|
| ARTFL
This is a collection of primary source texts from 17th century French including Diderot's <i>Encyclopédie.</i> Founded in 1982 as a result of a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the <a href="http://artfl-project.uchicago.edu/">ARTFL Project</a> is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. |
|
| ArticleFirst
1990-current. An index of articles listed on the table of contents pages of journals. This database is multidisciplinary and includes over 15,000 publications |
|
| Artlibraries.net, virtual catalog for art history
An international specialized meta-catalogue allowing the retrieval of bibliographic records of distinctive art historical databases, giving access to more than 8 million records (as of June 2008), including records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc., and an increasing percentage of records for archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources. |
|
| ARTStor Mobile access to ARTStor Searchable database of images applicable to different times, cultures and disciplines. Also includes local Physics and Botany image collections. Use individual log-in for off-campus access. |
|
| arXiv
3-primary 1991-present; an e-print service which presents papers in physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. |
|
| ATLA Religion Index Mobile access to ATLA Religion Index 1949-current. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over 1,000 international journals and 14,000 multi-author works. |
|
| Bachtrack: The World's Best Way to Find Live Classical Music
Serving in part as both a directory and a calendar, this site is designed for anyone seeking live classical concerts and opera performances worldwide. Any company performing worldwide can upload schedules to the central database, with the focus being the major U.S. and British orchestras and opera houses. The Bachtrack team maintains maintains schedules for major venues as well. Search by category first and then narrow by who, what, where, and when. |
|
| BASE Lab (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE searches repository servers come into being which use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalises, and indexes these data. |
|
| Bean Beetles
Bean beetles (seed beetles; Callosobruchus maculatus) |
|
| Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Contains selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical archaeology review, Bible review, and Archaeology odyssey, and the content of five books. |
|
| Bibliographie de la philosophie
Includes citations and abstracts of books (but not articles) in philosophy. |
|
| Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
A comprehensive annual bibliography of Western-language materials, primarily in German, on German language and literature. |
|
| Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft
A comprehensive bibliography of Western-language materials about French literature and the French language. It is issued annually and dvided into time periods, literary movements, and author. |
|
| Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance
Lists books and articles in all areas of study on the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe: literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, law, and science. |
|
| Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. |
|
| Bibliography of Bioethics
"An ongoing research project of the Kennedy Institute, Center for Bioethics at Georgetown University." Topics covered include abortion, euthanasia, behavioral research, capital punishment, genetic engineering, privacy, and warfare. |
|
| Bibliography of the History of Art
Index and abstracts (in French or English) of the current literature of European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Freely available from the Getty Museum. |
|
| Biological Sciences
1982 - current. This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this CSA database provides access to literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. |
|
| BioOne.1
Access to the full text of 87+ scholarly Biology journals from many different publishers. Coverage varies by title but is generally the current 5 to 10 years of issues. Access to the content is also available from other databases via the "Journal Finder" and the "Search for full text" links. |
|
| BIOSIS Previews
Contact the Science Librarian for use of this database. |
|
| Black abolitionist papers
Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany. (from the website) |
|
| Bloomberg Data Service
Copious, often real-time data about corporations, securities, and more. This data can only be accessed from the Bloomberg terminal on the first floor of Burling. Ask at the Circulation Desk for a username and password, or follow the on-screen instructions to create your own account. |
|
| Book Review Digest
Book reviews in digest form |
|
| Business Source Elite Mobile access to Business Source Elite 1984-current. Covers national and international business, finance, banking, and industry, but also emphasizes regional business activities and trends. |
|
| Cambridge Grammar of the English Language
|
|
| Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
Indexes U.S. Federal Government documents; covers back into the 1700's. |
|
| Cedar Rapids Gazette
Provides the electronic edition of record for this Iowa newspaper, excluding paid advertisements. Access is through the NewsBank database. |
|
| Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. |
|
| Chemical Abstracts
Description; provides the most in-depth coverage available of the scholarly research literature published internationally in all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering. Click the link for more information. |
|
| ChemIDplus
National Library of Medicine; an online chemical identification resource; an excellent tool for obtaining comprehensive and reliable ... information about chemical substances from over 70 chemical databases. |
|
| China Academic Journals Database
A full-text database of Chinese-language journals in the areas of literature, history, and philosophy from 1994-present. Articles are in Chinese and may be downloaded as PDFs. Searching can be done in English and some abstracts are available in English as well. |
|
| Choice Reviews Online
"Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education." |
|
| CiteSeer
A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. |
|
| Clase and Periodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Please note: database interface and citations are in Spanish. |
|
| Classical Music Reference Library
Classical Music Reference Library brings together reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music. Included are Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (also available in print in Burling Reference), and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music providing coverage of all classical genres, spanning music from the Medieval period to the 21st century, including definitions of musical terms and biographical information on the major classical composers and artists. This can also be searched through Music Online: Reference |
|
| Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library is made up of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works.rnContent in the database includes material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series.rnThe collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. |
|
| College Source Online
Provides the full text of college catalogs from 2-year, 4-year, and graduate schools. The database is searchable by major, tuition, state, enrollment, degrees, and affiliation. It also has links to financial aid information and college home pages. |
|
| Collembola collection
This database includes all records of Collembola which are or were in the Collection of K. Christiansen. The records are mainly from North America but include some specimens from Mexico and Lebanon, Syria and China. |
|
| Comext
External trade data for the European Union. This site is designed for downloading data for analysis rather than for quick access to individual statistics. |
|
| Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
Complete text of the Congressional Record from 1789 to 1999. |
|
| Contemporary Authors
See description of Literature Resource Center below. Search authors by time period, nation of origin, ethnicity, and name. |
|
| Contemporary Literary Criticism
(print and online--selective)--The print edition (232+ vol.) is in the reference collection: PN771 .C59 |
|
| Continental Rationalists : Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz
Full text database of the writings of Descartes, Benedict de Spinoza, and Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz through Intelex Past Masters |
|
| CQ Voting and Elections Collection
A collection of research tools that covers a host of information about voting in America both past and present. Covers political parties, campaigns and elections, and demographic information about voters. |
|
| DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
"... Provides bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings." |
|
| Des Moines Register
The Des Moines Register is the largest circulation paper in the state of Iowa. This link goes to a page describing the various indexes to the Des Moines Register and how to access the Des Moines Register in various formats (online, microfilm, and print). |
|
| Dialnet
Web portal maintained by the Universidad de La Rioja (Spain) offering a table of contents alerting service and some full text of Spanish-language journal articles and dissertations. Note: Grinnell College does not have a subscription to Dialnet; full text access is limited to the small percentage of the portal's free content. |
|
| Dictionary of Literary Biography
(print and online-selective)Reference collection: PS 21 .D5x (volume no.) The last volume of the series includes a complete index. The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. |
|
| Digital Grinnell Repository
Hosts a wide and growing variety of materials created by Grinnell College students, faculty, and staff, as well as selected material that illuminates the College's history and other activities. |
|
| Digital National Security Archives
The archive contains 36 collections of over 80,000 declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U. S policiy decisions from post World War II through the present. |
|
| Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
This digital collection overs works of major German language authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. Each text has been carefully edited and prepared. |
|
| Directory of Open Access Journals
This is a database of over 1,000 free, full-text, peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals. It covers a wide range of subject areas in a variety of languages in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. |
|
| Dissertation Abstracts
1861-current. Covers the complete range of academic subjects appearing in dissertations accepted at most accredited institutions in the U.S. and some in Canada and other countries. |
|
| DRAM
(Digital Anthology of Recorded Music) Streaming audio recordings of chiefly 20th and 21st century music recorded on American recording labels, including New World. Also includes complete and original liner notes and essays. |
|
| Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2, 3 (1690-1922)
1690-1922. Full text of hundreds Early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states. |
|
| Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of 100,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, between 1473-1700. |
|
| Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership Phase I
EEBP-TCP is a partnership with ProQuest and with more than 150 libraries to generate highly accurate, fully-searchable, SGML/XML-encoded texts corresponding to books from the Early English Books Online Database . |
|
| eBook Collection
Provides access to electronic versions of books which may be viewed or checked-out online. All available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Login via individual account for off-campus access. |
|
| EBooks
OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through libraries worldwide. |
|
| EBSCO Animals [K-12]
Current. Offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to the nature and habitat of familiar animals. |
|
| EBSCO for Kids [K-12]
Current. Provides encyclopedia entries, a dictionary, and magazine articles aimed at children and young people up to high school level. |
|
| EBSCOhost Mobile access to EBSCOhost Provides a multipurpose gateway to searching a wide range of subjects in 16 different databases, including an encyclopedia, scholarly and popular periodicals, news sources, information about health, business, education, and pharmacology. |
|
| ECO (Electronic Collections Online)
1995-current. A collection of thousands of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. |
|
| EconLit Mobile access to EconLit 1969-current. Provides citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources. NOTE: Many of the articles in EconLit are working papers from the RePEc database. "Search for full text" will NOT take you to the full text of these working papers. Look for the links in the EconLit records to the full text of the working papers. |
|
| Education Research Complete Mobile access to Education Research Complete "A database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties." |
|
| eHRAF Archaeology
A cross-cultural database containing tens of thousands of pages of information on the world's prehistory. It is organized by archaeological tradition and by subject. |
|
| eHRAF World Cultures
Provides ethnographic studies of cultures within the United States and around the world. |
|
| Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digitized copies of 138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, primarily in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera. |
|
| Empire Online
1492-present. A collection of original primary documents relating to cultural contacts, including aspects of religion, race, class, and imperialism. |
|
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online
|
|
| Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
|
|
| Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
"To increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource." |
|
| English Lexicon Project Web Site
The English Lexicon Project affords access to a large set of lexical characteristics, along with behavioral data from visual lexical decision and naming studies for thousands of words and nonwords. Researchers interested in psycholinguistics, human memory, computational modeling, and other fields will find these data useful. |
|
| Entrez: the Life Sciences Search Engine
A search system created by the National Center for Biotechnology Information to search its major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others. |
|
| Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
A multidisciplinary database providing coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from nearly 6,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. |
|
| ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
1966-current. Indexes education-related literature, including library science literature. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more. |
|
| ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO] Mobile access to ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO] 1966-current. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more. |
|
| Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Hispanic, Greek, Italian, Jewish, Finnish, Russian, Filipino, Arabic, Asian, Pacific Islander, Native American, and more. |
|
| Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories. |
|
| European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
1991-present (online), 1975-1995 (print). Citations for Slavic and East European studies published in Europe, geographic coverage of East-Central and Eastern Europe as well as Russia and the former Soviet Union/Commonwealth of Independent States. Also available in print: Z2483 .E94 |
|
| European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 Mobile access to European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 In cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, this database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. |
|
| FASB Accounting Standards Codification
Replaces FARS. The authoritative source of information on Generally Accepted Accounting Procedures. Free basic access after registration. |
|
| Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. |
|
| Film & Television Literature Index Mobile access to Film & Television Literature Index Covers film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes full text of more than 90 journals and indexing for more than 600 publications. |
|
| Filmakers Library Online
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. |
|
| FindArticles
Contains articles from the back issues of over 900 magazines, journals, trade publications and newspapers. Search the online article archive or browse by category list or publication name. |
|
| FirstSearch
A gateway to searching the many databases offered through the FirstSearch interface. The databases cover a wide range of subjects in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. |
|
| Flickr
View and share images and videos with the world; basic accounts are free. |
|
| Folkstreams.net
Building a national preserve of documentary films about American folk or roots culture. Produced by independent filmmakers, these hard-to-find films give voice to the arts and experience of diverse American groups. |
|
| French 20 Bibliography
A critical and biographical reference for the study of French literature since 1885. Published by the French Institute/Alliance Francaise. |
|
| Frick Collection Art History Research databases
The Frick Collection invites you to make use of its art history databases including The Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America; The Montias Database of 17th Century Dutch Art Inventories; and Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century: A Critical Dictionary. Images are not included. |
|
| Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [K-12] Mobile access to Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [K-12] Current. Full text of the encyclopedia, including 25,000 entries covering an array of topics and subject areas. Also includes images. |
|
| Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Sound files are included with the online version. This can also be searched through Music Online: Reference. A print version with CDs for each volume is also available in Burling Reference. |
|
| GenderWatch
A collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas. |
|
| GeNii, NII Scholarly Academic and Information Portal
Japanese academic portal providing services about academic paper information, book information, etc. and connecting CiNii (citation information by NII), Webcat Plus, KAKEN, NII-DBR (Academic research database repository). |
|
| GeoRef
Contact Kevin Engel for access to GeoRef. The database of the American Geological Institute (AGI). It covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics. |
|
| Gerritsen collection of women's history
The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time. The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms. The Gerritsen Collection consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series. |
|
| Global Development Finance
External debt information for developing countries from the World Bank. Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2009, for most reporting countries. |
|
| Google Scholar
Accesses the scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Includes links to resources subscribed to by Grinnell College. |
|
| Government Finance Statistics
1972-current. Also available in print. Most recent year is in Burling Reference; issues back to 1977 are on the second floor. |
|
| GPO (U.S. Government Publications Office) [through FirstSearch]
1976-current. Indexes all types of U.S. Government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and other documents issued by Federal Government agencies. |
|
| Greenfile Mobile access to Greenfile Information on aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles about global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. |
|
| Grove Art Online
Also available in print in the Reference Collection. Ref. N6847 .G758 2000 |
|
| Grove Music Online
Also available in print in the Reference Collection. |
|
| Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Access to future, current, and retrospective volumes of the Handbook. |
|
| Health Source: Consumer Edition Mobile access to Health Source: Consumer Edition 1985-current. A collection of consumer health information with access to hundreds of periodicals. Subjects covered include genetics, oncology, pediatrics, emergency medicine, bacteriology,and more. |
|
| Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Mobile access to Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition 1975-current. Provides access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health. |
|
| HeinOnline Law Journal Library
18th century to present. A very large database of legal journals. |
|
| HighWire Press
A division of the Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free, full-text, peer-reviewed content, with 919 journals in the Biological , Physical, Medical and Social Sciences currently included. |
|
| Historical Abstracts with Full Text Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text Covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. Includes some full text. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations. |
|
| Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
|
|
| Humanities International Complete Mobile access to Humanities International Complete Covers a diverse range of subjects from the humanities, including archaeology, art, classics, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature and religion. Some full text is included. |
|
| ICPSR
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to the world's largest archive of raw data sets in the social sciences. Before downloading data, you will be prompted to create a MyData account. You must be on campus to create this account. As long as you log in to your MyData account from an on-campus computer at least every 6 months, you will also be able to download data while you are off campus. |
|
| Independent Online
A source for news, classifieds and information from South Africa. Contains hundreds of local news items, all fully searchable. In English. |
|
| Index to American Little Magazines
1920-1967. Indexes small press magazines. |
|
| Index to Black Periodicals
Provides indexing to African American periodicals of general and scholarly interest. In 2002, the index included 34 publications. |
|
| Ingenta
An electronic table of contents and search service. Users can set up a personal account and receive e-mail alerts of recently published articles of interest and/or the table of contents of new issues of journals of interest. |
|
| INIS
International Nuclear Information System, International Atomic Energy Agency; provides a "comprehensive information reference service for literature on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology." |
|
| INSPEC
Contact Kevin Engel for access to INSPEC. Covers over 4,100 journals, book reviews, conference proceedings, and dissertations in the areas of physics, electronics, and computer science. |
|
| International African Bibliography
Indexes articles on Africa generally, African regions, Indian Ocean islands, and the African diaspora. Publications are from African and international sources, primarily in English. Library also has in print: Reference Alcove, 1971 to the present. |
|
| International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Contains numerical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Covers physics, chemistry, and technology. The 1000-page index is hyperlinked to each entry's appropriate page. |
|
| International Financial Statistics
Country-level data on foreign exchange, imports/exports, reserves, consumer prices, industrial production, commodity prices, banks and more from the International Monetary Fund. Some data is available as far back as 1940. This site is designed for downloading data for analysis rather than for providing quick access to individual statistics. |
|
| International Index to Periodicals
Index to journals in the social sciences and humanities |
|
| International Philosophical Bibliography
Provides an index to the philosophical literature in periodicals and books published in German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch, and Portuguese. The bibliography itself is published in French. |
|
| Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities. |
|
| iPoll Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Search for U.S. public opinion data from Gallup polls; ABC, NBC, and CBS News polls; and more. In many cases, you can download the full data set from the survey through Roper Express. View the Terms of Use for this resource. |
|
| Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Coverage varies. Some full text. Resources for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) citations in journals(1784-), books, reviews; a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts; etc. |
|
| Jazz Music Library
Jazz Music Library streams over 5,000 albums containing over 60,000 tracks. New albums are added on a regular basis. With jazz broadly defined, genres range from Folk to Reggae to Gospel to Bossa Nova. You may search by performer, composer, genre, song or album titles. |
|
| Journal of Economic Abstracts
Provides indexing and abstracts to economic literature, including journal articles and book reviews. Published by the American Economic Association. Available online through JSTOR. 1963-1968. |
|
| Journal of Economic Literature
Provides indexing and abstracts to economic literature, including journal articles and book reviews. Published by the American Economic Association. Available online through JSTOR from 1969 to two years ago. Paper available for most recent 2 years. |
|
| JSTOR Mobile access to JSTOR Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology and Botany, except for the most recent two to five years. |
|
| JSTOR Plant Science
"An online environment that brings together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials, making them widely accessible to the plant science community as well as to researchers in other fields and to the public." The content comes from herbaria all over the world. |
|
| Knovel Critical Tables
Contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties for organic and inorganic compounds. |
|
| LatAm-Studies Full-Text Online
LatAm-Studies Full Text Online includes Spanish-language journals and other academic content on Latin America from the Caribbean, Central and South American and around the world. |
|
| Latin American Newspapers
Full-text access to over thirty Spanish- and English-language newspapers from throughout Latin America printed between the late 19th and early 20th centuries. |
|
| Latindex
Scientific journals from Latin American, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal--articles in Spanish and Portuguese. |
|
| LearningExpressLibrary
Online guide to test preparation in basic skills and career advancement. Includes practice tests for: academic, advanced placement, basic skills success, civil service, college preparation, cosmotology, EMS, ESL (Spanish) skills improvment courses, firefighter, GED, graduate school entrance, law enforment, military, real estate, skills improvment courses, teacher certification, technical and career college, and US citizenship. |
|
| Left Index (Online) Mobile access to Left Index (Online) Indexes articles from the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically- and culturally-engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy. 1982 and earlier-present. |
|
| LexisNexis Academic
Coverage varies. Full text. Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information and is strong in legislative, government, company, financial and demographic information, market research, and industry reports. |
|
| Liberal Arts Scholarly Repository, LASR
LASR, Liberal, Arts Scholarly Repository, is a developing community of liberal arts institutions that share a common vision for providing access to their locally created scholarly works. This vision includes the portal here that aggregates the collections, a shared repository to which member schools can contribute content, and the people who are actively developing LASR. |
|
| Library Literature
Covers Library and Information Science including records from library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews. |
|
| Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) Mobile access to Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. |
|
| Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics. |
|
| List of Institutional Repositories, INASP
This page contains resources which allow for cross-searching of collections of Institutional Repositories. If you know you require information from a specific institution, please consult them directly. |
|
| Literary Encyclopedia
The Literary Encyclopedia is an authoritative collection of specially commissioned articles written by scholars expert in their fields. It addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements and historical events around the world. Its interactive features enable the user to place literature within its historical context in innovative ways. |
|
| Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 315 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. |
|
| Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Includes the MLA Bibliography which sometimes links to full-text. |
|
| Maps for Students @ Ancient World Mapping Center
This is a learning and a teaching site. Scholars contribute their customized maps usually prepared for their publications. These maps are freely available for download--both filled in for study, and blank to be used in teaching settings. |
|
| MasterFILE Premier Mobile access to MasterFILE Premier 1975-current. Covers virtually every subject area of general interest, provides full text of general reference publications, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection. |
|
| MathSciNet
1940-present. Covers the world's mathematical literature. Provides web access to the signed reviews and bibliographic information from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. |
|
| MEDLINE
1953-current; FirstSearch interface. One of the premier sources for bibliographic coverage of medicine, medical research, health care, molecular biology, physiological psychology, and more. |
|
| MedWatch: The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program
The "FDA gateway for clinically important safety information and reporting serious problems with human medical products." |
|
| Mergent Online
Current and historical information about U.S. and foreign companies. Includes financial information, stock prices, annual reports, and more. |
|
| MLA International Bibliography [contained within Literature Resource Center]
1926-current. Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore. |
|
| Monthly Energy Review
PDF version of the Monthly Energy Review published by the U.S. Department of Energy. Contains data on the production, consumption, trade, and prices of various sources of energy. Time-series data extends back to the 1970s. Data tables can also be downloaded in Excel format. |
|
| MRC Psycholinguistic Database
A machine usable dictionary containing 150837 words with up to 26 linguistic and psycholinguistic attributes for each - psychological measures are recorded for only about 2500 words. The dictionary may be of use to researchers in psychology or linguistics to develop sets of experimental stimuli, or those in artificial intelligence and computer science who require psychological and linguistic descriptions of words. |
|
| Music Index
Data from more than 655 international music periodicals covering a broad range of subjects incuding musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries. This print index is available for the years 1949-1993 and is in offsite storage. |
|
| Music Online: Reference
This database includes the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference, and Classical Scores Library. Made up of the texts of hundreds of books, recordings,and scores, it is searchable by subjects, categories, or across the entire database. |
|
| Music-in-Print Series
Indexes a variety of types of sheet music including sacred choral, secular choral, organ, classical vocal, orchestral, string, guitar, woodwind, piano, band, brass, percussion, recorder, handbell, etc. |
|
| NASA Earth Observatory
Offers high-quality geological, environmental, and geographical information at the planetary scale ... from NASA's extensive repositories of satellite imagery and numeric data; includes color photographs, maps, satellite images, articles, data sets, and more. |
|
| National Gallery of Art
Provides digital images of artwork and descriptive articles about the materials in the U.S. National Gallery of Art. |
|
| National Geographic Magazine
National Geographic Magazine includes indexes to its own content. Earlier years have indexes to several volumes at a time; new years (National Geographic) are indexed annually. |
|
| National Newspapers
Includes the following newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, 1988-present; Los Angeles Times, 1985-present; New York Times, 1980-present; Wall Street Journal, 1984-present; Washington Post, 1987-present. |
|
| Naxos Music Library
Streaming music service for the genres of Classical Music, Jazz Contemporary, World/Folk, New Age, and Chinese Music. |
|
| Naxos Video Library
Naxos Video Library is a streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. It includes 300 full-length videos from which you can create custom clips to add to individual playlists. This international collection makes subtitles available in over 5 languages. Search by by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival. |
|
| NCBI PubMed (MEDLINE) Mobile access to NCBI PubMed (MEDLINE) Covers the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics), primarily general science and chemistry journals. |
|
| Neurosciences Abstracts/MEDLINE/PsycINFO
Search these 3 databases at the same time; a good way to start searching for primary literature about almost any topic in Neuroscience. The latest 10 years of MEDLINE is included in this search. |
|
| New York Times and Index
The New York Times is one of the leading news providers in the U.S. This link goes to a page with options for accessing the New York Times in the Grinnell College Libraries. |
|
| New York Times Historical
Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 up to the last three years. For current access, see National Newspapers, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources. |
|
| Newspaper Source Plus Mobile access to Newspaper Source Plus 1994-present.Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. |
|
| NewspaperCat
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A. Smathers Libraries. |
|
| Nietzsches Werke
Nietzsches Werke: Historisch-kritische Ausgabe contains all and only Nietzsche's works found in the Kritische Studienausgabe. |
|
| Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922
Indexes 51 titles from 1890-1899. Also indexes 14 of the 51 beyond 1899. Includes a "Poems" section, listing over 13,000 poems. |
|
| Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
This database contains 1.2 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor. |
|
| Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, philosophers and other creative writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. Print version is available in the reference collection: Ref PN761 .N56 |
|
| OAIster
Contains digital resources from 1,000+ open archive collections; includes a wide array of materials--digitized books and articles, audio files, images, movies, data sets, theses and dissertations, technical reports, research papers, and more. OAIster was originally developed at the University of Michigan Libraries. |
|
| Online books page
Out of copyright materials. Full text. An index of thousands of on-line books on the Internet. Pointers to significant directories and archives of on-line texts. |
|
| OpenDOAR, Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. It also allow you search for repositories or search repository content. |
|
| Organic Syntheses
|
|
| Oxford Art Online
Full text. A gateway into art research and the access point for Oxford art reference subscriptions and publications including The Dictionary of Art(1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art(2001). Articles will be added and updated. |
|
| Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3). |
|
| Oxford Music Online
All time periods. Full text. Oxford Music Online expands Grove Music online and comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and more. |
|
| Oxford Reference Online (ORO)
Provides full text of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly entries. |
|
| PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
1915-present. Includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports and more, covering global public policy and social issues. |
|
| PDID (Pioneer Digital Image Database)
Collections of images including Art of the Prairie Region, the Grinnell College Art Image Database, the Grinnell College Physics Historical Museum, the Paul Wilson Plant Image Database, Historic Iowa Postcards, and more. |
|
| Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Perseus brings together a large, hetereogenous collection of materials and presents it in ways to illustrate the connections between disciplines, events, ideas, and concepts. |
|
| Philosopher's Index
1940-current. Indexes books and journals of philosophy: ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. |
|
| PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. |
|
| Policy Archive
A digital archive of over 13,500 reports, briefs, white papers and other documents from think tanks, research centers, government agencies and foundations. |
|
| Polling the Nations
Compiles surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the records reports a question asked, the percentage of respondents who gave each answer, and some information about the sample and survey methodology. The raw data is NOT available from this source; for some surveys, you may be able to find raw data through ICPSR or another source. |
|
| Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
An index to dozens of popular and scholarly periodicals of the 19th century. |
|
| Pravda Digital Archive
Pravda was established in 1912 and is the chief chronicle of Russian and Soviet history, from the beginnings of the Russian Revolution through World War II, the Cold War, the fall of the Soviet Union, and up to the present day. The archive contains PDFs of nearly every year of this primary resource. The full text of all articles can be searched via Basic and Advanced Search in Cyrillic or Roman characters. Users should make sure they are using the current version of Adobe reader and Mac users should use the Safari browser to access this resource. |
|
| Primary Search Mobile access to Primary Search 1990-current. Provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). |
|
| Proceedings First
1993-current. An index of worldwide conference proceedings. |
|
| Project Muse
Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. |
|
| PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive)
Covering 1893 up to the current 4 years, PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. |
|
| ProQuest Congressional
1789-. Provides access to the CIS Index—the most comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications—plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.) Also includes the full text of the Congressional Record, 1789-present. |
|
| Proquest Digital Microfilm
2008-present (with a lag of a few months). Digital scans of the Des Moines Register and Chicago Tribune. For older editions of these papers, please continue to use the tangible microfilm in the Microforms Room. |
|
| ProQuest Search
Search all of our ProQuest databases simultaneously ... |
|
| PsycARTICLES/PsycBOOKS
Provides full-text articles from several dozen journals covering general and specialized topics in Psychology. In addition, full text from over 1700 books are available including 100 out-of-print books from 1950-2002, approximately 120 archival resources in Psychology, and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology with over 1500 authored entries. |
|
| PsycINFO
Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1300 journals, dissertations, and book chapters. |
|
| PsycINFO/Sociological Abstracts/MEDLINE/Biological Sciences
3-primary; search these 4 databases at the same time; a good way to start searching for primary literature for almost any topic in Psychology. |
|
| Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century. |
|
| Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (Annual)
An index of the most popular, general-interest periodicals published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th and 21st century America. |
|
| Reference Universe
Some full text. Reference Universe helps you find the right article--the authoritative article--to begin your research, whether it's on your shelves in a reference work or in an online reference database. |
|
| RefWorks
A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. |
|
| Regional Business News Mobile access to Regional Business News 1990-current. Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications including 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. |
|
| Registry of Open Access Repositories, ROAR
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Open access to research maximises research access and thereby also research impact, making research more productive and effective. |
|
| Research Pro
Research Pro is a tool for searching multiple databases at the same time. Rather than searching each database individually, you will be able to search up to 40 database at once and view results from a single page. For more information on Research Pro see http://www.grinnell.edu/node/50602. |
|
| RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature Mobile access to RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature The comprehensive database to the music literature. Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more. Particularly strong for classical music. For popular music publications see Academic Search Premier. |
|
| Rock's Backpages: The Online Library of Rock Writing
50 years and growing of rock journalism from the major popular music sources such as Rolling Stone, Creem, New Musical Express, Melody Maker, Sounds, Mojo and Uncut and more. |
|
| RoperExpress
Download full public opinion data sets from Gallup polls; ABC, NBC, and CBS News polls; and more—including international surveys. (RoperExpress is only for downloading full data sets to analyze. To search for quick public opinion statistics, use iPoll.) View the Terms of Use for this resource. |
|
| Scarlet & Black (Grinnell College newspaper)
The Scarlet & Black newspaper is published by students of Grinnell College. Beginning in 1894, it was the first college newspaper published west of the Mississippi River. Images of the S&B are available online from 2007 to date. Some older issues are also available. An index to the S&B up to 1941 is available in the card catalog of the Iowa Room. Between 1941 and 1975 indexes are bound in the volumes of the S&B which are also in the Iowa Room. An list of articles covering the years 1976 to 2000 is available in the library catalog. |
|
| Science Abstracts
1898-1996. Provides indexing and abstracts to periodicals in physics and electrical engineering. Issued by the Institution of Electrical Engineers and the Physical Society of London. |
|
| Science Citation Index
Contact Kevin Engel (<strong>engelk@grinnell.edu</strong>)for access to the Science Citation Index. A unique database that allows you to discover who has cited (referred to) a particular article or book since it was originally published. |
|
| Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results. |
|
| Slide Collection (Grinnell College)
Search for slides in the Grinnell College Slide Collection. |
|
| Smithsonian Physical Tables--9th Revised Edition
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics. |
|
| Social Explorer
Easily visualize data on a map. Limited to U.S. data; available datasets include the Census (1790-present), American Community Survey, Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980-2000), and Carbon Emissions Data (2002). |
|
| Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. There are some parts of this that require a subscription. |
|
| Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of community development; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness. |
|
| Sociological Abstracts
1952-current. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences. |
|
| Sources of Statistics
|
|
| SPIN/Scitation
Provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals. |
|
| SRef
A scientific reference linking system developed for members of the scientific community that supports electronic publishing such as databases, multi-media applications and online-magazines. |
|
| SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network)
The Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) maintains a database of over 350,000 working papers. These papers are primarily in economics and law, but also in political science and a few other subjects. Because these are working papers, they have not necessarily been peer reviewed. |
|
| Taxonomy Database
National Center for Biotechnology Information, National Library of Medicine. |
|
| Teacher Reference Center (TRC) Mobile access to Teacher Reference Center (TRC) Dates vary. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. |
|
| The Arabidopsis Book
<em>A free access peer-reviewed serial publication that is supported by the American Society of Plant Biologists. It was launched in 2002 under the direction of Chris Somerville and Elliot Meyerowitz as a new model for communicating up-to-date and comprehensive information about a broad range of topics in research on Arabidopsis thaliana and related species.</em> |
|
| Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. |
|
| THOMAS
1989-. Congressional information, including bills and resolutions. The best official government source for information on bills currently being considered in Congress. |
|
| Times Digital Archive 1785-2006 (London Times)
Access to the complete backfile of the Times (London) including text, images, editorials, and advertisements. |
|
| TOPICsearch Mobile access to TOPICsearch Current. This current events database allows exploration of social, political & economic issues popular in today's K-12 school classrooms. |
|
| TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas; National Library of Medicine. |
|
| Transitions Online [TOL]
An independent, online news source from the Czech Republic. TOL covers news, politics, culture, and analysis from central and eastern Europe, and the Balkans. In English. |
|
| Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Includes excerpts of criticism of literary authors who died between 1900 and 2000. |
|
| U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Online access to the reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, from 1817 to 1994; contains many images. Also available in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Please see a librarian if you would like to request the bound volumes from storage. |
|
| U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
The maps published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications (1817-1980). |
|
| U.S. Government Publications Office (GPO) via FDSys
The central Web site for finding government documents 1976-present. Replaces the former GPO Access. |
|
| U.S. Government Publications Office (GPO) via FirstSearch
1976-. Indexes all types of U.S. government documents, including judiciary materials and Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records. |
|
| UN Data
Search statistical data gathered by 15 UN agencies, including the World Health Organization, UNICEF, the United Nations Development Program, and the Food and Agriculture Organization. |
|
| UNCTAD TRAINS
The Trade Analysis and Information System from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. Comprehensive data on tariffs and other trade control measures. Requires free registration. |
|
| USA Trade Online
Extremely detailed import and export data for over 20,000 commodities. You must see a librarian and get a password to use this database. |
|
| Vocational and Career Collection Mobile access to Vocational and Career Collection 1985-. Some full text.designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals. |
|
| Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
A bibliography of major periodicals published between 1824 and 1900, primarily in Great Britain. |
|
| Wikimedia commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips). The repository is created and maintained by volunteers. Content may be browsed or searched by topic, geographic location, genre (type), or author.” |
|
| Wolfram MathWorld
|
|
| Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary source documents from women's reform organizations such as the Women's Trade Union League, the National Association of Colored Women, Henry Street and Hull House settlements, and the National Women's Party. |
|
| Women working , 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on the women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. |
|
| World Almanac
1998-current ed. Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. A source for biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics, dates, and information about a wide variety of subjects. |
|
| World Bank Data
Formerly the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Hundreds of economic and social indicators, with 40 years of data for some series, for every country in the world. |
|
| World's Writing Systems
The World's Writing Systems is the only available work to explore in depth how scripts are applied to individual languages. Every major writing system is presented in a passage of text, accompanied by a romanized version, a phonetic transcription, and an English translation. A bibliography concludes each entry. |
|
| WorldCat
Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections. |
|
| WorldCat Local Mobile access to WorldCat Local Search books, videos, archival materials, electronic resources and more owned by over 60,000 libraries around the world including the resources in Grinnell College Libraries . |
|
| Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration. |
|
| WormBase
Caenorhabditis elegans |
|
| Writings on British History
A bibliography of books and articles published during a given span of years on the history of Great Britain from about 400 A.D. to 1939. Includes an appendix containing a select list of publications on British history since 1939. |
|
| Year's Work in English Studies
An annual publication of bibliographic essays that present a selective, comprehensive, and evaluative overview of a given year's scholarly writing in the fields of English and American literature. Library also has in print: Burling 3rd floor PE58 .E6 |
|
| Zentralblatt MATH
1868-current. Comprehensive coverage of international mathematical research. Try MathSciNet instead for most searches. Grinnell College does not subscribe to this resource, but you can retrieve three results for any search using the free version. |
= Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
= Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
Chat will open in a new window.
This page maintained by:
Library Webmaster
Powered by SubjectsPlus
Grinnell College Libraries Burling Library 1111 6th Ave. Grinnell, IA 50112
641-269-3350 Fax: 641-269-4283 query@grinnell.edu

