Skip top navigation

Database List: B

Bookmark and Share
Databases
Skip navigation
AB CDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWYZNumAll

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.


more information icon Click for more information about a database.



Bachtrack: The World's Best Way to Find Live Classical Music
Serving in part as both a directory and a calendar, this site is designed for anyone seeking live classical concerts, opera, and dance performances worldwide. Any company performing anywhere can upload schedules to the central database, with the focus being the major U.S. and British orchestras and opera houses. Schedules for major venues are maintained as well. Search by category first and then narrow by time, place, performer, composer or work.
BASE Lab (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
A search engine especially for academic open-access web resources, operated by Bielefeld University Library. BASE searches repository servers which use the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting, and offers over 50 million documents, including "Deep Web" results not found by commercial search engines.
Bean Beetles
Provides basic information about raising, handling, and maintaining cultures of bean beetles, Callosobruchus maculatus, for faculty who teach undergraduate laboratory courses.
Ben Jonson Online
Searchable full-text database of the complete writings of Ben Jonson in a readable, modernized form. Also includes around 90 old-spelling texts, 550 contextual documents, 80 essays, several hundred high-quality images, and 100 music scores, as well as details on more than 1,300 stage performances and a cross-linked bibliography of over 7,000 items.
Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Contains selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeology Odyssey, as well as the content of four books.
Bibliographie de la Philosophie
1961-2005. A bibliography providing citations and abstracts of books (but not articles) in philosophy.
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
A comprehensive annual bibliography of Western-language materials, primarily in German, on German language and literature.
Bibliographie der Französischen Literaturwissenschaft
A comprehensive annual bibliography of Western-language materials about French language and literature.
Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance
An annual bibliography listing books and articles in all areas of study on the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe: science, literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, and law.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
1971-present. An online index of scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Bibliography of the History of Art
1975-2007. Index and abstracts (in French or English) of the literature on European and American art from late antiquity to the present, covering over 1,200 journals. Freely available from the Getty Research Institute.
Bibliothèque Nationale de France: Gallica
The online catalog for the Bibliothèque Nationale de France includes digitized versions of over 2 million texts, documents, and periodicals.
Biological Sciences
1982-present. Interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Provides access to literature from over 8,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and selected books and patents.
BioOne.1
Access to the full text of over 100 scholarly Biology journals from many different publishers. Coverage varies by title but is generally the current 5 to 10 years of issues. Access to the content is also available from other databases via JournalFinder and the "Search for full text" links.
Black Abolitionist Papers
1830-1865. A primary-source collection that details the work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War through approximately 15,000 articles, documents, manuscripts, proceedings, correspondence, and literary works created by nearly 300 Black abolitionists across North America and Europe.
Blackwell Companion to Phonology
A major reference work drawing together 100+ contributions from leading scholars in the field representing a diverse range of approaches and methodologies to the key phenomena in phonological research.
Bloomberg Data Service
Copious, often real-time data about corporations, securities, and more. This data can only be accessed from the Bloomberg terminal on the first floor of Burling. Ask at the Circulation Desk for a username and password, or follow the on-screen instructions to create your own account.
Book Review Digest
1906-2009. An annual collection of book reviews in digest form.
Business Source Elite
1984-present. Searchable database covering national and international business, finance, banking, and industry, but also emphasizing regional business activities and trends.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)