Database List: D

Bookmark and Share
Databases
ABCD EFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWYZNumAll

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.


more information icon Click for more information about a database.



Dance in Video
Contains hundreds of hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
Online reference for bibliographic information on major computer science publications, indexing over two million publications, including monographs, journals, and conference proceedings.
Des Moines Register
The Des Moines Register is the largest circulation paper in the state of Iowa. This link goes to a page with information on how to access the Register in various formats (online, microfilm, and print).
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5
Current edition of the standard handbook of the American Psychiatric Association.
Dialnet
Web portal maintained by the Universidad de La Rioja (Spain) offering a table-of-contents alerting service and some full text of Spanish-language journal articles and dissertations. Note: Grinnell College does not have a subscription to Dialnet; full-text access is limited to the portal's small percentage of free content.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Online access to a selection of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes through the Literature Resource Center. Print volumes are held at Grinnell's Offsite Storage Facility and are available upon request.
Digital Grinnell Repository
Hosts a wide and growing variety of materials created by Grinnell College students, faculty, and staff, as well as selected material that illuminates the College's history and other activities.
Digital National Security Archive
Contains 41 collections consisting of over 100,000 meticulously indexed declassified government documents, covering critical world events and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II to the present. Bibliographies, chronologies, glossaries, overviews, and photographs are included.
Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 (Iowa)
Sanborn fire-insurance maps are large-scale plans used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures, and include information such as outlines of buildings; the size, shape, and construction materials used; and location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, property boundaries, house and block numbers, and various other data. They are useful for historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, environmentalists, and anyone who wants to learn about the history and development of Iowa municipalities.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker
Digital collection covering works of major German-language authors spanning eleven centuries and including historical, philosophical, theological, political, and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches, and other non-literary material add context.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Database of over 1,000 free, full-text, peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals, covering a wide range of subject areas in a variety of languages in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
DRAM
Streaming audio of hard-to-find music recordings from independent record labels and archives, such as New World Records and Composers Recordings, Inc. Covers a wide range of genres of American music. Also provides complete and original liner notes and essays.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)