Database List: E

Bookmark and Share
Databases
ABCDE FGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVWYZNumAll

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.


more information icon Click for more information about a database.



Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2, 3 (1690-1922)
1690-1922. Full text of hundreds of early American newspapers, including titles from all of today's 50 states.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
1473-1700. Contains digital facsimile page images of 100,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere.
Early English Books Online - Text Creation Partnership, Phase I
EEBO-TCP is a partnership with ProQuest and over 150 libraries to generate highly accurate, fully searchable, SGML/XML-encoded texts corresponding to books from the Early English Books Online database.
eBook Collection
EBSCO catalog of electronic books which may be viewed or checked out online. All available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Log in via individual account for off-campus access.
EBooks
OCLC catalog of online electronic books available through member libraries worldwide, includes all subjects.
EBSCOhost
Provides a multipurpose gateway to searching a wide range of subjects in 16 different databases, including an encyclopedia, scholarly and popular periodicals, news sources, and information about health, business, education, and pharmacology.
ECO (Electronic Collections Online)
1995-present. A collection of thousands of scholarly journals covering a wide range of subjects in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
EconLit
1969-present. Provides citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources. NOTE: Many of the articles in EconLit are working papers from the RePEc database. "Search for full text" will NOT take you to the full text of these working papers. Look for the links in the EconLit records to the full text of the working papers.
Education Research Complete
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, from early childhood to higher education in all educational specialties. Includes indexing and abstracts, as well as some full text.
eHRAF Archaeology
A cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. Organized by archaeological tradition and by subject. From Human Relations Area Files.
eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that provides ethnographic studies of diverse cultures within the United States and around the world. From Human Relations Area Files.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
1701-1800. Digitized copies of 138,000 English-language titles and editions published primarily in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera.
Empire Online
1492-present. A digital collection of original primary documents relating to intercultural contact, including aspects of imperialism, religion, race, and class.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Digital multimedia version of the premier English-language encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Print reference book that covers a broad range of social movements throughout American history, such as those concerned with the abolition of slavery, civil rights, women's equality, labor and economic justice, anti-war protest, ethnic and group identity, religion and moral reform, environmentalism, LGBT, and conservatism.
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
Online encyclopedia working toward featuring every species of life on earth, including animals, plants, fungi, protists, and bacteria.
Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations
This A-to-Z reference details the important people, places, and events that have shaped the relationship between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.
English Lexicon Project
Provides access to a large set of lexical characteristics, along with behavioral data from visual lexical decision and naming studies, for thousands of words and nonwords. Intended for research in psycholinguistics, human memory, computational modeling, and other fields.
Entrez: The Life Sciences Search Engine
A search system created by the National Center for Biotechnology Information to search its major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
A multidisciplinary database providing coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from nearly 6,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO]
1966-present. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [ProQuest]
1966-present. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Arabic, Asian, Filipino, Finnish, Greek, Hispanic, Italian, Jewish, Native American, Pacific Islander, Russian, and more.
Europa World Plus
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
1991-present. Provides citations for Slavic and East European studies published in Europe, with geographic coverage of East-Central and Eastern Europe as well as Russia and the former Soviet Union/Commonwealth of Independent States. 1975-1995 also available in print (Z2483.E94).
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
In cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, this database is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas is covered, including natural disasters, disease outbreaks, and slavery.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)