Skip top navigation

Database List: M

Bookmark and Share
Databases
Skip navigation
ABCDEFGHIJKLM NOPRSTUVWYZNumAll

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.


more information icon Click for more information about a database.



Making of the Modern World (Online)
Offers the full text of thousands of books, serials, pamphlets, essays, and more from major libraries around the world. These resources track the development of the modern, western world (from 1450 onwards) through the lens of trade and wealth. The titles are in English as well as many other languages.
Maps for students at the Ancient World Mapping Center
Hosts a series of downloadable maps that are freely available for educational use and also can be licensed for publication at nominal cost. The maps are organized according to rough geographic regions, including the Roman Empire, the Iberian Penninsula, Egypt, the Aegean, and the Mediterranean.
MasterFILE Premier
1975-present. Covers virtually every subject area of general interest, provides full text of general reference publications, reference books, biographies, and primary source documents. Also features an image collection.
MathSciNet
1940-present. Covers the world's mathematical literature. Provides web access to the signed reviews and bibliographic information from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
MEDLINE
1809-present (with greater coverage beginning in the 1940's). One of the premier sources for bibliographic coverage of medicine, medical research, health care, molecular biology, physiological psychology, and much more. Accessed through ProQuest.
MedWatch: The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program
Maintained by the Food and Drug Administration for reporting serious reactions, product quality problems, therapeutic failure, and product-use errors with medical products, including drugs, biologic products, medical devices, dietary supplements, infant formula, and cosmetics. Includes educational resources and safety alerts.
Mergent Online
Current and historical information about U.S. and foreign companies. Includes financial information, stock prices, annual reports, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
1926-present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Monthly Energy Review
PDF version of the Monthly Energy Review published by the U.S. Department of Energy. Contains data on the production, consumption, trade, and prices of various sources of energy. Time-series data extends back to the 1970s. Data tables can also be downloaded in Excel format.
MRC Psycholinguistic Database
Database of over 150,000 words matched with linguistic and psycholinguistic attributes. Some also provide psychological measures. Of use to researchers in psychology and linguistics as well as those in artificial intelligence and computer science who require psychological and linguistic descriptions of words.
MUSE
Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Music Index
1949-1993. Print reference work containing data from more than 655 international music periodicals covering a broad range of subjects, incuding musicological or organological topics plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Music Online: Reference
Cross-searchable platform for music databases that includes The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference, and Classical Scores Library. Contains the texts of hundreds of books, scores, and audio and video recordings.
Music-in-Print Series
Indexes various types of sheet music including band, brass, chamber & popular music, classical guitar, classical vocal, handbell, jazz, orchestral, organ, percussion, piano, recorder, sacred & secular choral, string, woodwind, and more.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)