Database List

Bookmark and Share
Databases

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.


more information icon Click for more information about a database.


NASA Earth Observatory
Offers high-quality geological, environmental, and geographical information at the planetary scale ... from NASA's extensive repositories of satellite imagery and numeric data; includes color photographs, maps, satellite images, articles, data sets, and more.
National Gallery of Art
Provides digital images of artwork and descriptive articles about the materials in the U.S. National Gallery of Art.
National Geographic Magazine
National Geographic Magazine includes indexes to its own content. Earlier years have indexes to several volumes at a time; new years (National Geographic) are indexed annually.
National Newspapers
Includes the following newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, 1988-present; Los Angeles Times, 1985-present; New York Times, 1980-present; Wall Street Journal, 1984-present; Washington Post, 1987-present.
Naxos Music Library
Streaming music service for the genres of Classical Music, Jazz Contemporary, World/Folk, New Age, and Chinese Music.
Naxos Video Library
Naxos Video Library is a streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. It includes 300 full-length videos from which you can create custom clips to add to individual playlists. This international collection makes subtitles available in over 5 languages. Search by by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.
NCBI PubMed (MEDLINE)
Mobile access to NCBI PubMed (MEDLINE)
Covers the out-of-scope citations from certain MEDLINE journals (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics), primarily general science and chemistry journals.
Neurosciences Abstracts/MEDLINE/PsycINFO
Search these 3 databases at the same time; a good way to start searching for primary literature about almost any topic in Neuroscience. The latest 10 years of MEDLINE is included in this search.
New York Times and Index
The New York Times is one of the leading news providers in the U.S. This link goes to a page with options for accessing the New York Times in the Grinnell College Libraries.
New York Times Historical
Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 up to the last three years.  For current access, see National Newspapers, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources.

Newspaper Source Plus
Mobile access to Newspaper Source Plus
1994-present.Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.
NewspaperCat
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A. Smathers Libraries.
Nietzsches Werke
Nietzsches Werke: Historisch-kritische Ausgabe contains all and only Nietzsche's works found in the Kritische Studienausgabe.  
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922
Indexes 51 titles from 1890-1899. Also indexes 14 of the 51 beyond 1899. Includes a "Poems" section, listing over 13,000 poems.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
This database contains 1.2 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on women, children, leisure and sport, and humor.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, philosophers and other creative writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. Print version is available in the reference collection: Ref PN761 .N56
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.