Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
Click for more information about a database.
|PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
1915-present. Includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports and more, covering global public policy and social issues.
|PDID (Pioneer Digital Image Database)
Collections of images including Art of the Prairie Region, the Grinnell College Art Image Database, the Grinnell College Physics Historical Museum, the Paul Wilson Plant Image Database, Historic Iowa Postcards, and more.
|Perseus Digital Library
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. Perseus brings together a large, hetereogenous collection of materials and presents it in ways to illustrate the connections between disciplines, events, ideas, and concepts.
1940-current. Indexes books and journals of philosophy: ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
|PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
A digital archive of over 13,500 reports, briefs, white papers and other documents from think tanks, research centers, government agencies and foundations.
|Polling the Nations
Compiles surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. Each of the records reports a question asked, the percentage of respondents who gave each answer, and some information about the sample and survey methodology. The raw data is NOT available from this source; for some surveys, you may be able to find raw data through ICPSR or another source.
|Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
An index to dozens of popular and scholarly periodicals of the 19th century.
|Pravda Digital Archive
Pravda was established in 1912 and is the chief chronicle of Russian and Soviet history, from the beginnings of the Russian Revolution through World War II, the Cold War, the fall of the Soviet Union, and up to the present day. The archive contains PDFs of nearly every year of this primary resource. The full text of all articles can be searched via Basic and Advanced Search in Cyrillic or Roman characters. Users should make sure they are using the current version of Adobe reader and Mac users should use the Safari browser to access this resource.
Mobile access to Primary Search
1990-current. Provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
1993-current. An index of worldwide conference proceedings.
Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
|PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive)
Covering 1893 up to the current 4 years, PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive.
1789-. Provides access to the CIS Index—the most comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications—plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.) Also includes the full text of the Congressional Record, 1789-present.
|Proquest Digital Microfilm
2008-present (with a lag of a few months). Digital scans of the Des Moines Register and Chicago Tribune. For older editions of these papers, please continue to use the tangible microfilm in the Microforms Room.
Search all of our ProQuest databases simultaneously ...
Provides full-text articles from several dozen journals covering general and specialized topics in Psychology. In addition, full text from over 1700 books are available including 100 out-of-print books from 1950-2002, approximately 120 archival resources in Psychology, and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology with over 1500 authored entries.
Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1300 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.
|PsycINFO/Sociological Abstracts/MEDLINE/Biological Sciences
3-primary; search these 4 databases at the same time; a good way to start searching for primary literature for almost any topic in Psychology.
= Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
= Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
Grinnell College Libraries Burling Library 1111 6th Ave. Grinnell, IA 50112
641-269-3350 Fax: 641-269-4283 firstname.lastname@example.org