Database List

Bookmark and Share
Databases

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.


more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Scarlet & Black (Grinnell College newspaper)
The Scarlet & Black newspaper is published by students of Grinnell College. Beginning in 1894, it was the first college newspaper published west of the Mississippi River. Images of the S&B are available online from 2007 to date.  Some older issues are also available. An index to the S&B up to 1941 is available  in the card catalog of the Iowa Room. Between 1941 and 1975 indexes are bound in the volumes of the S&B which are also in the Iowa Room. An list of articles covering the years 1976 to 2000 is available in the library catalog.
Science Abstracts
1898-1996. Provides indexing and abstracts to periodicals in physics and electrical engineering. Issued by the Institution of Electrical Engineers and the Physical Society of London.
Science Citation Index
Contact Kevin Engel (<strong>engelk@grinnell.edu</strong>)for access to the Science Citation Index. A unique database that allows you to discover who has cited (referred to) a particular article or book since it was originally published.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
Slide Collection (Grinnell College)
Search for slides in the Grinnell College Slide Collection.
Smithsonian Physical Tables--9th Revised Edition
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics.
Social Explorer
Easily visualize data on a map. Limited to U.S. data; available datasets include the Census (1790-present), American Community Survey, Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980-2000), and Carbon Emissions Data (2002).

Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. There are some parts of this that require a subscription.

Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of community development; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness.
Sociological Abstracts
1952-current. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sources of Statistics


SPIN/Scitation
Provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals.
SRef
A scientific reference linking system developed for members of the scientific community that supports electronic publishing such as databases, multi-media applications and online-magazines.
SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network)
The Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) maintains a database of over 350,000 working papers. These papers are primarily in economics and law, but also in political science and a few other subjects. Because these are working papers, they have not necessarily been peer reviewed.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.