Database List

Bookmark and Share
Databases

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.


more information icon Click for more information about a database.


Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
A bibliography of major periodicals published between 1824 and 1900, primarily in Great Britain.
Wikimedia commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips). The repository is created and maintained by volunteers. Content may be browsed or searched by topic, geographic location, genre (type), or author.”
Wolfram MathWorld

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary source documents from women's reform organizations such as the Women's Trade Union League, the National Association of Colored Women, Henry Street and Hull House settlements, and the National Women's Party.
Women working , 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on the women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
World Almanac
1998-current ed. Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. A source for biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics, dates, and information about a wide variety of subjects.
World Bank Data
Formerly the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Hundreds of economic and social indicators, with 40 years of data for some series, for every country in the world.

World's Writing Systems
The World's Writing Systems is the only available work to explore in depth how scripts are applied to individual languages. Every major writing system is presented in a passage of text, accompanied by a romanized version, a phonetic transcription, and an English translation. A bibliography concludes each entry.
WorldCat
Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections.

WorldCat Local
Mobile access to WorldCat Local
Search books, videos, archival materials, electronic resources and more owned by over 60,000 libraries around the world including the resources in Grinnell College Libraries .

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.
WormBase
Caenorhabditis elegans

Writings on British History
A bibliography of books and articles published during a given span of years on the history of Great Britain from about 400 A.D. to 1939. Includes an appendix containing a select list of publications on British history since 1939.  
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.