Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
Click for more information about a database.
|African American Music Reference
African American Music Reference when complete will include 50,000 pages of text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies, which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. Musical genres represented are blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.It can also be searched through Music Online: Reference
|AP Images (Associated Press)
Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Grinnell College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.
|Art & Architecture Complete
Mobile access to Art & Architecture Complete
A comprehensive database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 730+ academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Mobile access to ARTStor
Searchable database of images applicable to different times, cultures and disciplines. Also includes local Physics and Botany image collections. Use individual log-in for off-campus access.
|BASE Lab (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE searches repository servers come into being which use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting" (OAI-PMH) for providing their contents. BASE collects, normalises, and indexes these data.
|Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
"To increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource."
View and share images and videos with the world; basic accounts are free.
|Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.Each volume contains an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instrument, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Sound files are included with the online version. This can also be searched through Music Online: Reference. A print version with CDs for each volume is also available in Burling Reference.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages and provides specialized services for adaptive reading and information access for the blind and other persons with disabilities.
|JSTOR Plant Science
"An online environment that brings together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials, making them widely accessible to the plant science community as well as to researchers in other fields and to the public." The content comes from herbaria all over the world.
|Liberal Arts Scholarly Repository, LASR
LASR, Liberal, Arts Scholarly Repository, is a developing community of liberal arts institutions that share a common vision for providing access to their locally created scholarly works. This vision includes the portal here that aggregates the collections, a shared repository to which member schools can contribute content, and the people who are actively developing LASR.
|List of Institutional Repositories, INASP
This page contains resources which allow for cross-searching of collections of Institutional Repositories. If you know you require information from a specific institution, please consult them directly.
|NASA Earth Observatory
Offers high-quality geological, environmental, and geographical information at the planetary scale ... from NASA's extensive repositories of satellite imagery and numeric data; includes color photographs, maps, satellite images, articles, data sets, and more.
|New York Times Historical
Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 up to the last three years. For current access, see National Newspapers, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources.
The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A. Smathers Libraries.
|OpenDOAR, Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories. It also allow you search for repositories or search repository content.
|Registry of Open Access Repositories, ROAR
The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world. Open access to research maximises research access and thereby also research impact, making research more productive and effective.
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips). The repository is created and maintained by volunteers. Content may be browsed or searched by topic, geographic location, genre (type), or author.”
= Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
= Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
Grinnell College Libraries Burling Library 1111 6th Ave. Grinnell, IA 50112
641-269-3350 Fax: 641-269-4283 email@example.com