SubjectsPlus: Biographical and Organizational Information

Bookmark and Share
Find It
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Newspapers

Acceda Noticias (English interface) Restricted Resource

2000-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from over 40 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.

Acceda Noticias (Spanish interface) Restricted Resource

2000-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from over 50 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.

New York Times Historical (1851-2010) Restricted Resource

Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2010. For current access, see National Newspapers Expanded, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources.

Online Newspapers

Provides links to thousands of world newspapers.

AllAfrica

Aggregates and indexes content from over 130 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources. Available in English or French.

Access World News: United States Restricted Resource

Electronic editions-of-record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Also contains full-text content from key international sources.

National Newspapers Core Restricted Resource

Includes the following newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, 1988-present; Los Angeles Times, 1985-present; New York Times, 1980-present; Wall Street Journal, 1984-present; Washington Post, 1987-present.

Access World News Research Collection Restricted Resource

Mostly 1990s-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from nearly 4,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource

Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Arabic, Asian, Filipino, Finnish, Greek, Hispanic, Italian, Jewish, Native American, Pacific Islander, Russian, and more.

Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource

An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Mobile access to Academic Search Premier

Europa World Plus Restricted Resource

Online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.

Uniworld Online Restricted Resource

Searchable database featuring two unique directories that provide contact information for multinational business firms, showing "who operates where" and “who owns whom.” Useful for seeking employment and internships, sourcing, selling, building a business, or tracking competitors.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource

Provides access to a wide range of full-text content for news, business, legal, and reference information. Particularly strong in legislative, government, corporate, financial, and demographic information, as well as market research and industry reports.

PAIS International Restricted Resource

1915-present. Index of scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports, and more, covering global public policy and social issues, from the Public Affairs Information Service.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource

1952-present. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.

Biographical Information

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource

Gateway to art research and access point for full-text Oxford art reference publications, including The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Searchable database also includes specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource

Gateway to music research and access point for full-text Oxford music reference publications, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Data and Statistics

World Bank Data

Provides statistics and data for hundreds of economic and social indicators, going back 40 years in some cases, for every country in the world. Includes a catalog of available World Bank datasets of use to policymakers, advocacy groups, journalists, and academics.

Reference Resources

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

African American National Biography
Print Location: Burling Ref E185.96 .A4466 2008


American National Biography
Print Location: Burling Ref E176 .A493x 1999


Biographical Dictionary of Iowa
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor CT234 .B56 2008


Biography Index
Print Location: Burling Ref Restricted Resource

An index to biographical information appearing in books and magazines.

Biography: a User's Guide
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor CT21 .R585 2008

A discussion of biography as a literary form.

Dictionary of National Biography
Print Location: Burling Ref CT1502 .S46


Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Print Location: Burling Ref DA28 .O95 2004


Chambers Biographical Dictionary
Print Location: Burling Ref CT103 .C4 1997


Dictionary of Literary Biography Restricted Resource

Online access to a selection of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes through the Literature Resource Center. Print volumes are held at Grinnell's Offsite Storage Facility and are available upon request.

Encyclopedia of Associations
Print Location: REF AS22 .E5 48th ed Restricted Resource


Encyclopedia of Biography
Print Location: Burling Ref CT103 .E53 1997


Iowa Biographical Dictionary
Print Location: Burling Ref CT234 .I59


Notable American Women: 1607-1950
Print Location: Burling Ref CT3260 .N57


Notable American Women: the Modern Period
Print Location: Burling Ref CT3260 .N57


Notable American Women: a Biographical Dictionary Completing the Twentieth Century
Print Location: Burling Ref CT3260 .N57


Research Guide to European Historical Biography
Print Location: Burling Ref CT759 .R47x


Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
Print Location: Burling Ref CT213 .S


The Biographical Dictionary of Iowa
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor CT234 .B56 2008


The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia
Print Location: Burling Ref CT103 .C26 1998


Current Biography Yearbook
Print Location: Burling Ref CT100 .C8

Covers 1940 to present.  Updated by Current Biography monthly supplement.

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Print Location: REF AS8 .E53 48th ed Restricted Resource


Web sites

Charity Commission for England and Wales

Provides information about each of the thousands of registered charities in England and Wales.

Charity.com

Charity and non-profit information database.

CharityVillage (Canada)

Directory of non-profit sector in Canada.

CharityWatch

Listing of charities compiled by the American Institute of Philanthropy.

Directory of Development Organizations

International in scope.

Google Scholar

Accesses the scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Includes links to resources subscribed to by Grinnell College.

National Center for Charitable Statistics

Search for statistics on active charitable organizations.

NGO Database

A database reflecting the research interests of scholars at Duke University. International in scope.

TakingITGlobal Organizations Database

International in scope. Search by country, language, category, and more.

Charting Impact

Encourages strategic thinking about how your nonprofit or foundation will achieve its intended impact, and helps you share concise information about your plans and progress with key stakeholders and the public.

Charity Navigator

America's premier independent charity evaluator, works to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace by evaluating the financial health of over 5,500 of America's largest charities.

GuideStar

Non-profit data, reports and forms for donors, grantmakers and businesses.

Humanitarian Accountability Partnership

Established in 2003, HAP International is the humanitarian sector's first international self-regulatory body. Members of HAP are committed to meeting the highest standards of accountability and quality management.

Interaction

The largest coalition of U.S.-based international nongovernmental organizations (NGOs), with more than 190 members working in every developing country.

Keystone Accountability

Helps organizations develop new ways of planning, measuring and reporting social change; offers provides access to useful guides, reports and surveys.  

Non-Governmental Organizations

A useful guide, including a search engine, for information on NGOs.  Created by the University of California Berkeley.

Philanthropedia

Rates verified, financially responsible charities according to how much great work they're doing.

Project on the Evolution of International Non-Governmental Organizations

Information sources on NGOs  from the City University of London.

Search for Charities (US)

Compiled by the US Internal Revenue Service.  A list of organizations eligible to receive tax-deductible charitable contributions. This online version is offered to help you conduct a more efficient search of these organizations.

WANGO: World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations

An international organization uniting NGOs worldwide in the cause of advancing peace and global well being. WANGO helps to provide the mechanism and support needed for NGOs to connect, partner, share, inspire, and multiply their contributions to solve humanity’s basic problems.

Wikiprogress

A global platform for sharing information in order to evaluate societal progress.  It is a place to find information and statistics to facilitate the exchange of ideas, initiatives and knowledge on “measuring the progress of societies,” and is open to anyone who has an interest in the concept of “progress.”

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355