SubjectsPlus: Economics

Bookmark and Share
All Resources

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Background Information

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
Print Location: Burling Ref HB61 .N49 2008 (8 volumes)

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law
Print Location: Burling Ref K487 .E3 N48 1998 (3 volumes)

Scholarly Articles

EconLit Restricted Resource

1969-current. Provides citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources. NOTE: Many of the articles in EconLit are working papers from the RePEc database. "Search for full text" will NOT take you to the full text of these working papers. Look for the links in the EconLit records to the full text of the working papers.

Mobile access to EconLit

SSRN (Social Sciences Research Network)

The Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) maintains a database of over 350,000 working papers. These papers are primarily in economics and law, but also in political science and a few other subjects. Because these are working papers, they have not necessarily been peer reviewed.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource

Indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.

Journal of Economic Literature Restricted Resource

Provides indexing and abstracts to economic literature, including journal articles and book reviews. Published by the American Economic Association. Available online through JSTOR from 1969 to two years ago. Paper available for most recent 2 years.

Newspaper and Magazine Articles

Wall Street Journal
Print Location: Microform Room

The Libraries have the Wall Street Journal on microfilm from 1970 until a few months ago. Issues from recent months are available in print in the microform room, except for the most current issue, which is in current periodicals. If you need help using the microfilm machines, ask a librarian.

Regional Business News Restricted Resource

1990-current. Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications including 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Mobile access to Regional Business News

Business Source Elite Restricted Resource

1984-current. Covers national and international business, finance, banking, and industry, but also emphasizes regional business activities and trends.

Mobile access to Business Source Elite

Business Periodicals Index
Print Location: Burling Reference Index Alcove

1958-1995. Topics covered include business and commerce, accounting, economics, communication, politics and government.

Newspapers and Magazines

See the subject guide on finding newspaper and magazine articles for more sources.

Books

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections.

Data and Statistics

Mergent Online Restricted Resource

Current and historical information about U.S. and foreign companies. Includes financial information, stock prices, annual reports, and more.

Other Databases

FASB Accounting Standards Codification

Replaces FARS. The authoritative source of information on Generally Accepted Accounting Procedures. Free basic access after registration.

UNCTAD TRAINS

The Trade Analysis and Information System from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development. Comprehensive data on tariffs and other trade control measures. Requires free registration.

IDEA (formerly EDGAR)

SEC Filings and Forms. This database provides indexing and access to all forms which companies and others are required by law to file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource

1789-. Provides access to the CIS Index—the most comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications—plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.) Also includes the full text of the Congressional Record, 1789-present.

Policy Archive

A digital archive of over 13,500 reports, briefs, white papers and other documents from think tanks, research centers, government agencies and foundations.

Web sites

Resources for Economics (RFE)

A project of the American Economic Association. A searchable database of 2,000 sources of economics information on the Web.

Beige Book

Formally known as the "Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District." Qualitative information about the state of the economy.

Economic Report of the President

An annual report to Congress written by the chair of the Council of Economic Advisors. Reports are available here from 1995-present and in FRASER from 1960-1980.

Style and Citation Guides

RefWorks

A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

Resources at Grinnell

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Kevin Engel

Kevin Engel
Science Librarian
Tel: (641) 269-4234




Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search