Skip top navigation

SubjectsPlus: Education

Bookmark and Share
Find It
Skip the Find It! box
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Databases

Education Research Complete Restricted Resource

Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, from early childhood to higher education in all educational specialties. Includes indexing and abstracts, as well as some full text.

Mobile access to Education Research Complete

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO] Restricted Resource

1966-present. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.

Mobile access to ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO]

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [ProQuest] Restricted Resource

1966-present. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource

Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1,800 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.

Library Catalogs

Center for Research Libraries

A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Reference Resources

Almanac of American Education
Print Location: Reference LA217.2 .A45 2007

A yearly look at national, state, and county trends in education. Reference LA217.2 .A45 2007

Encyclopedia of Education
Print Location: 1st Floor Oversize LB15 .E47 2003

An eight-volume encyclopedia covering key topics in education, including court cases.

Encyclopedia of Educational Research
Print Location: First Floor, Oversize LB15 .E448 1992

A four -volume encyclopedia surveying research on a wide range of educational topics.

Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Print Location: Burling 2nd floor LB17 .P485 1996

Examines how philosophical ideas have influenced education, from ancient Greece to the present.

World Education Encyclopedia
Print Location: 1st Floor Oversize LB15 .W87 2001

A three-volume set that describes educational systems around the world.

Education: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Print Location: Burling 2nd floor LB15 .O28x 1999

Although dated, this is still a useful bibliography of sources in all areas of education.

Web sites

ENC Online

Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Mathematics and Science Education. Curriculum materials, news, and other resources for teachers of math and science

International Comparisons in Education

Statistics and other data related to education in the U.S and abroad.

Iowa Education

The state of Iowa's website for education, including links to agencies, services, facts, and news.

National Center for Education Statistics

NCES is the primary federal entity collecting and analyzing education-related data for the United States and other nations. The NCES catalog can be searched to locate NCES publications and data products, many full-text or available for download, including The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, TIMSS (Third International Mathematics and Science Study) and the NAEP (Nation's Report Card). NCES also makes available extremely detailed data about pre-K through graduate education and about libraries.

US Dept. of Education:Topics from A-Z

Presents information on education-related topics, provided by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains information on topics such as student achievement, bilingual education, disabled children, delinquent children, class size reduction, drug-free schools, magnet schools, family literacy programs, financial aid, home schooling, postsecondary education, preschools, private schools, public schools, special education, tutoring, and vocational education

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Print Location: Perm. Reserve (Burling & Kistle) BF76.7 .P83 2001

Resources at Grinnell

Course Guides

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Julia Bauder

Julia Bauder
Social Studies and Data Services Librarian
Tel: (641) 269- 4431

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.