Skip top navigation

SubjectsPlus: English

Bookmark and Share
Find It
Skip the Find It! box
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Newspapers

Online Newspapers

Provides links to thousands of world newspapers.

Databases

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource

1926-present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Literature Online (LION) Restricted Resource

Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, with nearly 400 full-text literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources.

Literature Resource Center (LRC) Restricted Resource

Provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Includes the MLA Bibliography which provides some links to full-text sources.

Year's Work in English Studies Restricted Resource

Annual journal of bibliographic essays that present a selective, comprehensive, and evaluative overview of each year's scholarly writing in the fields of English and American literature. Print version is also available (PE58.E6).

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource

An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Mobile access to Academic Search Premier

Humanities Source Restricted Resource

Offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Covers the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities and includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.

Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource

Covers film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes full text of more than 90 journals and indexing for more than 600 publications.

Mobile access to Film & Television Literature Index

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Restricted Resource

Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project MUSE Restricted Resource

Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 Restricted Resource

Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States, including full coverage of the Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. Reflects the history of the 20th century, offering access to information about history, culture, and seminal developments across nine decades.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Digital Collection Restricted Resource

Digital collection of over 4,300 full-text titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with 30 academic societies and over 100 contributing publishers.

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

New York Times Historical (1851-2010) Restricted Resource

Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2010. For current access, see National Newspapers Expanded, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources.

Times Digital Archive 1785-2006 [London Times] Restricted Resource

Fully searchable access to the complete backfile of The Times of London, including text, images, editorials, and advertisements.

Historical Texts

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Restricted Resource

1473-1700. Contains digital facsimile page images of 100,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Restricted Resource

1701-1800. Digitized copies of 138,000 English-language titles and editions published primarily in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera.

Making of the Modern World (Online) Restricted Resource

Offers the full text of thousands of books, serials, pamphlets, essays, and more from major libraries around the world. These resources track the development of the modern, western world (from 1450 onwards) through the lens of trade and wealth. The titles are in English as well as many other languages.

Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online Restricted Resource

Searchable full-text database of the complete writings of Ben Jonson in a readable, modernized form. Also includes around 90 old-spelling texts, 550 contextual documents, 80 essays, several hundred high-quality images, and 100 music scores, as well as details on more than 1,300 stage performances and a cross-linked bibliography of over 7,000 items.

Emily Dickinson Archive

Makes high-resolution images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts available in open access, and provides readers with a website through which they can view images of manuscripts held in multiple libraries and archives.

English Broadside Ballad Archive (EBBA)

Provides access to surviving but difficult-to-access early ballads printed in English, with priority given to black-letter broadsides of the seventeenth century--the heyday of the printed broadside ballad. EBBA makes these ballads fully accessible as texts, art, music, and cultural records of the period.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

Center for Research Libraries

A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

English Short Title Catalogue

The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800 in the British Isles and North America found in the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Literary Encyclopedia Restricted Resource

Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

Oxford English Dictionary (Online) Restricted Resource

Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (online) Restricted Resource

Provides comprehensive coverage of the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland and substantial accounts of individual authors and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.  2006 edition. 

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (online) Restricted Resource

Surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present.  The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works, literary movements, periods, themes, historical perspectives and social context. 2004 edition. 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature Restricted Resource

Documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.

Green's Dictionary of Slang Restricted Resource

An unprecedented collection of the impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language. Covering five centuries of innovation in all English-speaking regions of the world.  Over 100,000 words are defined; each word is authenticated by genuine and full-referenced citations of its use.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas [electronic resource] Restricted Resource

Brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Restricted Resource

Digital multimedia version of the premier English-language encyclopedia.

American Writers
Print Location: Reference PS129 .A55

British Writers
Print Location: Reference PR85 .B68

Book Review Digest
Print Location: Reference, east wall

1906-2009. An annual collection of book reviews in digest form.

Index to American Little Magazines
Print Location: Reference, east wall

1920-1967. Print reference book that indexes small press magazines.

Images

AP Images (Associated Press) Restricted Resource

Provides access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline.

Agriculture and Food

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture Restricted Resource

Includes over 3,000 essays written by subject experts and assembled into a consistent, readable, and straightforward alphabetical reference work. Entries cover the major areas of popular culture: art, dance, film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television and radio, theater, and more. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Repositories

Digital Grinnell Repository

Hosts a wide and growing variety of materials created by Grinnell College students, faculty, and staff, as well as selected material that illuminates the College's history and other activities.

Web sites

American and English Literature Internet Resources

Created and maintained by librarians at Southern Connecticutt State University, this site provides links to websites, listservs, newsgroups, and homepages of various authors.

Electronic Beowulf: University of Kentucky

Designed to meet the needs of general readers, who require a full, line by line, translation; of students, who want to understand the grammar and the meter; and of scholars, who want immediate access to a critical apparatus identifying the nearly 2000 eighteenth-century restorations, editorial emendations, and manuscript-based conjectural restorations.

Global Shakespeares: Video and Performance Archive - Open Access

A collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.

California Language Archive

A catalog and online archive of audio recordings (from the Berkeley Language Center) and paper materials (from the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages) dating from 1950. The collection includes indigenous language material from throughout the Americas, with a particular focus on the languages of California and western North America.

David Perdue's Charles Dickens Page

Site provides information on Charles Dickens' novels, including plot descriptions, character lists, and contextual dommentary. Other content includes a glossary, discussion of staging, a scholarly bibliography, and links to additional information.

Voice of the Shuttle: Web Site for Humanities Research

A guide to online resources in the humanities and related disciplines.  

Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism

The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. The collection is not inclusive of all the work on the web, nor does it plan to be. The sites are selected with some thought to their overall usefulness.

Online Literary Criticism Guide

Provides links to some of the best starting places for finding online critical writing. This resource is particularly good for finding information on English-language authors, but also includes many authors whose works have been translated into English.  This website is maintained by ipl2, a merger of the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII).

Open Source Shakespeare: An Experiment in Literary Technology

Offers online versions of Shakepeare's complete works, along with a concordance and text and character searching.  The site is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. OSS includes the 1864 Globe Edition of the complete works, which was the definitive single-volume Shakespeare edition for over a half-century.

Index Translationum

Created by UNESCO, The Index Translationum is a list of books translated in the world, i.e. an international bibliography of translations. The Index Translationum was created in 1932; please check for updates on the website if you are seeking information on recent translations.         

Film and Video Collections

Films on Demand. Humanities and Social Sciences Collection Restricted Resource

Streaming video for thousands of full-length videos and video clips in subject areas including anthropology, art & architecture, communications, education, English & language arts, history, music, philosophy & religion, political science, psychology, sociology, and world languages.

Style and Citation Guides

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

Citing Sources (from Doing Research)

Collection of links to guides on various citation styles.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

RefWorks Guide

A basic help guide for RefWorks. Includes information on adding citations as well as links to other help documents regarding Write-n-Cite and creating annotated bibliographies

Resources at Grinnell

Grinnell Writing Lab

Room: ARH 132 Phone: 3117

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.