Skip top navigation

SubjectsPlus: French

Bookmark and Share
Find It
Skip the Find It! box
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Indexes and Databases

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource

1926-present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

ARTFL Restricted Resource

Collection of primary source texts from 17th-century France including Diderot's Encyclopédie. Founded in 1982 as a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources.

Humanities Source Restricted Resource

Offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Covers the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities and includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Restricted Resource

Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations and offers full-text access to many resources.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Restricted Resource

Digital repository of resources for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), with some full text available. Contains journal citations, e-books, reviews, a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts, and more.

ATLA Religion Index Restricted Resource

1949-present. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over a thousand international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.

Mobile access to ATLA Religion Index

Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource

1940-present. Indexes books and journals in all areas of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, social & political philosophy, and the philosophy of education, history, language, law, religion, and science.

Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource

Covers film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes full text of more than 90 journals and indexing for more than 600 publications.

Mobile access to Film & Television Literature Index

Bibliography of the History of Art

1975-2007. Index and abstracts (in French or English) of the literature on European and American art from late antiquity to the present, covering over 1,200 journals. Freely available from the Getty Research Institute.

ARTbibliographies Modern Restricted Resource

Online bibliographical database providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project MUSE Restricted Resource

Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Bibliographie der Französischen Literaturwissenschaft
Print Location: 1st Floor Z2171 .K55

A comprehensive annual bibliography of Western-language materials about French language and literature.

RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource

Comprehensive database to scholarly literature on music. Indexes articles, bibliographies, books, catalogues, conference proceedings, critical commentaries to complete works, dissertations, electronic resources, ethnographic recordings and videos, festschriften, iconographies, reviews, and more. Particularly strong for classical music. For popular music publications, see Academic Search Premier.

Mobile access to RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries--Disciplinary

Literary Encyclopedia Restricted Resource

Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.

Historical Texts

French Revoluiton Digital Archive

The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community.

Library Catalogs

A Treasury of World's Fair Art & Architecture (UMD Digital Library)

From Brussels to New York, World's Fairs have provided inspiration and offered visions of the future to all those who visited. This particular World's Fair-themed digital collection draws on the World's Fair Collection at University of Maryland's Architecture Library. The collection features items from a number of the Fairs, including those held in Paris, Buffalo, Chicago, and San Francisco. After checking out the "Introduction" area, visitors should move on to the "Exhibits" area. Here they will find a potpourri of photographs, plans, drawings, posters, and other printed materials that tell the story of each Fair. Visitors shouldn't miss the images from the 1915-1916 San Diego Panama California Exposition, which include shots of Balboa Park and the Prado, which was the central avenue of the fair. The "Essays" section include materials written for an honors seminar at the University of Maryland taught by Professor Isabelle Gournay which detail some of the achievements of each exposition.

Gallica: Bibliothèque Numérique

The online catalog for the Bibliothèque Nationale de France includes digitized versions of over 2 million texts, documents, and periodicals.

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Center for Research Libraries

A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

Reference Resources

Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance
Print Location: Burling 1st floor Z6207.R4 B5

An annual bibliography listing books and articles in all areas of study on the 15th and 16th centuries in Europe: science, literature, philosophy, history, religion, the arts, economics, political science, and law.

New Oxford Companion to Literature in French Restricted Resource

Written by an international team of specialists and presents an authoritative guide not only to ten centuries of literature produced in the territory now called France, but also to the rich literary output of other French-speaking countries around the world. 

Oxford Language Dictionaries: French to English, English to French Restricted Resource

A quality language dicitonary from Oxford University Press, one of the world's leading scholarly publishers.  Each entry includes an audio pronunciation feature.  Please note: Grinnell College Libraries will trial this online dicitonary thru December 21, 2014.  Trial online resources are available only on campus.  

Please forward any comments you have regarding this resource to Phil Jones, consulting librarian for French and Arabic, at [jonesphi].

Major Sets

Contemporary Authors Restricted Resource

Search authors by name, nation of origin, ethnicity, and time period at the Literature Resource Center, which provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, work and topic overviews, biographies, and more.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Restricted Resource

Online access to a selection of Contemporary Literary Criticism volumes provided by the Literature Resource Center. Print volumes are held at Grinnell's Offsite Storage Facility and are available upon request.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Restricted Resource

(print and online-selective)Reference collection: PS 21 .D5x (volume no.) The last volume of the series includes a complete index. The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. Print volumes include: v. 321 Twentieth-Century French Dramatists v. 327 Sixteenth-Century French Writers v. 313-314 Writers of the French Enlightenment v. 258 Modern French Poets v. 217 Nineteenth-century French Poets v. 208 Literature of the French and Occitan Middle Ages : Eleventh to Fifteenth Centuries v. 192 French Dramatists, 1789-1914 v. 119 Nineteenth century French Fiction Writers: Romanticism and Realism, 1800-1860 vols. 60, 63, 72, 83, 88,92, 99 Canadian writers

Grove Art Online Restricted Resource

Online art encyclopedia, covering all aspects of visual culture. Contains articles, bibliographies, learning resources, and searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations. A version is also available in print at Burling reference.

Literature Resource Center (LRC) Restricted Resource

Provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Includes the MLA Bibliography which provides some links to full-text sources.

Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism Restricted Resource

Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short-story writers, philosophers, and other creative writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Online version is selective and accessed via Gale's Literature Resource Center. The library's print version is available upon request.

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource

Look for Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians in the Reference Collection

Twentieth Century Literary Criticism Restricted Resource

Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short-story writers, philosophers, and other creative writers who died between 1900 and 2000. Online version is selective and accessed via Gale's Literature Resource Center. The library's print version is available upon request.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Glossaries, etc.

Oxford Companion to Literature in French
Print Location: Ref. PQ41 .N49 1995

This one volume compendium provides brief entries on authors and works from all time periods of French literature as well as information on topics of literary and historical importance.

Databases for Related Disciplines

Film and Television: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Print Location: PN1994 .E446x 2006

A starting point to find appropriate sources for background information.

Web sites

ACLS Humanities E-Book Digital Collection Restricted Resource

Digital collection of over 4,300 full-text titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with 30 academic societies and over 100 contributing publishers.

Bibliotheque nationale de France: Gallica

Access to 90,000+ digitized texts

Library and Archives Canada

Bibliothéque et Archives Canada: Collections Canada

BBC News

Includes news from Africa and the Middle East.

LIMAG: Littératures du Maghreb

(Algérie, Maroc, Tunisie)

Africa South of the Sahara

From the Stanford Libraries--including links to newspapers.

LeLibraire.com

A commercial site with information about French books and authors from countries around the world.

Film and Video Collections

Films on Demand. Humanities and Social Sciences Collection Restricted Resource

Streaming video for thousands of full-length videos and video clips in subject areas including anthropology, art & architecture, communications, education, English & language arts, history, music, philosophy & religion, political science, psychology, sociology, and world languages.

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Resources at Grinnell

Grinnell Writing Lab

Room: ARH 132 Phone: 3117

Course Guides

FRN 327 Power and Resistance in 17th- and 18th-Century French

This guide provides links to resources for this seminar on French literature from the 17th and 18th century.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.