Find It

I'm looking for...

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Julia Bauder or Sheryl Bissen.


Newspaper and Magazine Articles

PressReader Restricted Resource Resource is highly recommended Resource contains newspapers
A comprehensive digital news resource offering over 5,000 newspapers and magazines from around the world. PressReader provides same-day full-content access to periodicals in over 60 languages.

Indexes and Databases

Access World News Research Collection Restricted Resource Resource is highly recommended Resource contains newspapers
Newspapers from countries around the world and regional papers from around the U.S.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker Restricted Resource
Digital collection covering works of major German-language authors spanning eleven centuries and including historical, philosophical, theological, political, and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches, and other non-literary material add context.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Resource contains newspapers
Strong for current events--some foreign language newspapers.
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor Z2231 .B5
A comprehensive annual bibliography of Western-language materials, primarily in German, on German language and literature.
Germanistik
Print Location: Burling 4th Floor East v.1 (1960)-
A core biblographic source for citations in German language and literature. Each volume contains approximately 7,500 citations from approximately 500 different sources, including journals and collected works.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Database of over 1,000 free, full-text, peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals, covering a wide range of subject areas in a variety of languages in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Searchable database of images applicable to many different times, cultures, and disciplines. Also includes local Physics and Botany image collections. Use individual log-in for off-campus access.
Center for Research Libraries
A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Restricted Resource
Digital repository of resources for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), with some full text available. Contains journal citations, e-books, reviews, a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts, and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource is highly recommended
Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Like JSTOR but focusing on the current issues of journals. Project Muse provides access to the full text of a large number of university press journals primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted Resource
1949-present. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over a thousand international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.
Africa Bibliography
Print Location: Burling 1st floor Z3503 .A34 1985 -
An annual listing of published work in African Studies, recognized as the authoritative guide to the available literature. Covers the whole of Africa and is not confined to works in English.
ARTbibliographies Modern Restricted Resource
Online bibliographical database providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards.
Bibliography of the History of Art
1975-2007. Index and abstracts (in French or English) of the literature on European and American art from late antiquity to the present, covering over 1,200 journals. Freely available from the Getty Research Institute.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
International African Bibliography
Indexes articles on Africa generally, African regions, Indian Ocean islands, and the African diaspora. Publications are from African and international sources, primarily in English. Print version is also available at Burling reference.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Restricted Resource
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
1940-present. Indexes books and journals in all areas of philosophy, including aesthetics, bioethics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, social & political philosophy, and the philosophy of education, history, language, law, religion, and science.
RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource
1967-present. Comprehensive database to scholarly literature on music. Indexes articles, bibliographies, books, catalogues, conference proceedings, critical commentaries to complete works, dissertations, electronic resources, ethnographic recordings and videos, festschriften, iconographies, reviews, and more. Particularly strong for classical music. For popular music publications, see Academic Search Premier.

Databases

Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource
Covers film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes full text of more than 90 journals and indexing for more than 600 publications.
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
1926-present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries--Disciplinary

Literary Encyclopedia Restricted Resource
Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries
Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.
Treasury of World's Fair Art & Architecture (UMD Digital Library)
Features items from a number of the Fairs, including those held in Paris, Buffalo, Chicago, and San Francisco. The "Essays" section includes materials written for an honors seminar at the University of Maryland taught by Professor Isabelle Gournay which detail some of the achievements of each exposition.
WorldCat Restricted Resource
Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Reference Resources

Das Wörterbuch-Netz
A site linking eleven major German dictionary projects and offering a search across all the dictionaries.
Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm Grimm
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PF 3625 .G7 1854a
This is the classic etymological dictionary of the German language published between 1854 and 1971.
Literature Resource Center (LRC) Restricted Resource
Provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Includes the MLA Bibliography which provides some links to full-text sources.
Early Germanic Literature and Culture
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PN831 .E28 2004

German Literature of the Early Middle Ages
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT175 .G45 2004

German literature of the High Middle Ages
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT191 .G47 2006

German Literature of the Eighteenth Century: the Enlightenment and Sensibility
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT289 .G45 2005

Literature of the Sturm und Drang
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT317 .L58 2003

Literature of Weimar Classicism
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT311 .L58 2005

Literature of German Romanticism
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT361 .L55 2004

German Literature of the Nineteenth Century, 1832-1899
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT341 .G42 2005

German Literature of the Twentieth Century: From Aestheticism to Postmodernism
Print Location: Burling 3rd floor PT401 .S76 2001

Contemporary Authors Restricted Resource
Search authors by name, nation of origin, ethnicity, and time period at the Literature Resource Center, which provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, work and topic overviews, biographies, and more.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Restricted Resource
Online access to a selection of Contemporary Literary Criticism volumes provided by the Literature Resource Center. Print volumes are held at Grinnell's Offsite Storage Facility and are available upon request.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Restricted Resource
Online access to a selection of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes through the Literature Resource Center. Print volumes are held at Grinnell's Offsite Storage Facility and are available upon request.
Grove Art Online Restricted Resource
Online art encyclopedia, covering all aspects of visual culture. Contains articles, bibliographies, learning resources, and searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations. A version is also available in print at Burling reference.
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource
Look for Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians in the Reference Collection
Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism Restricted Resource
Provides excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short-story writers, philosophers, and other creative writers who died between 1800 and 1899. Online version is selective and accessed via Gale's Literature Resource Center. The library's print version is available upon request.
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism Restricted Resource
(print and online-selective)-use index to printed volumes to find particular authors and works. Reviews and criticisms of authors and works are excerpted in this set. Reviews, etc. begin with the date of publication of the original work and continue. Updates occur regularly. The online version is selective and available through Literature Resource Center. The print edition (185+ volumes) is in the reference collection: PN771 .G27
Collins German-English, English-German dictionary
Print Location: Perm Reserve PF3640 .C68 1998

Oxford-Duden German dictionary : German-English, English-German
Print Location: Perm Reserve PF3640 .O94 2005

Practical Dictionary of German Usage
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PF3460 .B35 1996

Cambridge Companion to Medieval Romance
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PN671 .C36 2000

Cambridge History of German Literature
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT91 .C36 1997

Companion to German literature : From 1500 to the Present, 1997
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT236 .S55 1997

Encyclopedia of German Literature
Print Location: Ref. PT91 .E53x 2000
2 volumes
Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT41 .F46 1997

Oxford Companion to German Literature, 1997
Print Location: Ref. PT 41 .G3 1997

Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturegeschichte
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT 41 .R21
1955-1988. 5 volumes
Women Writers in German-speaking Countries : A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
Print Location: Burling 3rd Floor PT167 .W65x 1998

Web sites

19th-Century German Stories
Web editions for language learning & literary study
filmlink.de
Online-Informationsressourcen der Film- und Fernsehwissenschaft
German Embassy in Washington
D.C. Web site for German Culture and Life including the arts and literature
Germanistik im Netz
. . . dem Fachportal für deutsche Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft!
University of California Berkeley’s extensive guide for research in German Language, Literature, History, and other disciplines
Some of the materials referenced are available only to U.C. students, but much of it is freely accessible via the Web.
Wess German Studies Web/Major Digital Projects
and many other resources: http://www.dartmouth.edu/~wess/index.html

Resources at Grinnell

Grinnell College Libraries: Library Lab
Request a one-on-one research appointment.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Resource is highly recommended = Highly recommended
Resource contains newspapers = Newspapers
= Scholarly articles
Resource contains quantitative data = Quantitative data

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.