SubjectsPlus: Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies

Bookmark and Share
All Resources

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Databases

Filmakers Library Online Restricted Resource

Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. 

GenderWatch Restricted Resource

A collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource

Indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource

1952-current. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource

Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1300 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.

America: History and Life with Full Text Restricted Resource

Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes some full text.   Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.

Mobile access to America: History and Life with Full Text

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource

Covers a diverse range of subjects from the humanities, including archaeology, art, classics, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature and religion. Some full text is included.

Mobile access to Humanities International Complete

Project Muse Restricted Resource

Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology and Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource

Dates vary. An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Mobile access to Academic Search Premier

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries--Disciplinary

glbtq: Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture

an online encyclopedia that includes bibliographies and a discussion board.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History Restricted Resource

With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

New York Times Historical Restricted Resource

Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 up to the last three years.  For current access, see National Newspapers, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources.

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource

The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers compiled in a single database. Paid ads are excluded. Covers 1690-1922.

Times Digital Archive 1785-2006 (London Times) Restricted Resource

Access to the complete backfile of the Times (London) including text, images, editorials, and advertisements.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections.

Center for Research Libraries

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Print Location: Burling Ref HQ1115 .E43 2001 (2 volumes)

 

LGBT, encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America
Print Location: Burling Ref HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2003 (3 volumes)

The Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide
Print Location: Burling Ref HQ1115 .G74 2003 (6 volumes)

Women's Studies Encyclopedia
Print Location: Burling Ref HQ1115 .W645 1999 (3 volumes)

 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Glossaries, etc.

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) Restricted Resource

Provides full text of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly entries.

Reference Sources

AP Images (Associated Press) Restricted Resource

Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Grinnell College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.

Primary Sources

ACT UP Oral History Project

A collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power in New York. A transcript of each interview is available in PDF as well as streaming video excerps of each interview.

Duke University Libraries' Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture: Lesbian Pulp Fiction Collection Restricted Resource

includes historical information on lesbian pulp fiction and prominent authors, a complete listing of the collections holdings, and additional readings section for materials that provid an introduction to the historical context.

Gerritsen collection of women's history Restricted Resource

The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.

The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.

The Gerritsen Collection consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.

ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives:

affiliated with the University of Southern California, the Archives houses the world's largest research library on GKBTQ heritage and concerns.

Society of American Archivists' Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable (LAGAR)

the Projects and Publication area includes archives of "Archival InQueeries" and the "Lavender Lagacies Guide" to resources in North America.

The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Historical Society (GLBTHS)

focuses on the collection, preservation, exhibition, and accessibility of cultural, historical and artistic materials that are a part of GLBTQ communities. The archives represent one of the largest collections of primary resource materials chronicling GLBTQ history.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Restricted Resource

Primary source documents from women's reform organizations such as the Women's Trade Union League, the National Association of Colored Women, Henry Street and Hull House settlements, and the National Women's Party.

Women working , 1800-1930

Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on the women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.

American Women

A gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States

Agriculture and Food

Multidisciplinary Databases

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 Restricted Resource

Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

Web sites

WomensLaw.org

WomensLaw.org was founded in February 2000 by Elizabeth Martin with the help of a group of lawyers, teachers, advocates, and web designers interested in seeing the power of the Internet help survivors of domestic violence.  In 2001, the WomensLaw.org website was launched to provide state-specific legal information and resources for survivors of domestic violence. 

Institute fo Women's Policy Research (IWPR)

Website for a non-profit scientific research organization focused on addressing the needs of women, promoting public dialogue and strengthening families, communities, and societies.

Feminist Majority Foundation Online

FMF publishes Ms. Magazine and participates in action, education, and research on feminist issues. Includes lists of resources; links to freely available content;news and historical information.

Feminist Theory Website

Information about feminism and feminists in English, Spanish and French with the most developed sections in English. Includes biographies, ethnic and national feminism.

Women's Studies in Digital Archives

Web-based project of the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries identifies women's studies content available in broad digital collections of primary sources (books, diaries, letters, personal papers, pamphlets, images, maps, musical scores, sound recordings, and statistical data)

Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR)

IWPR is a non-profit scientific research organization that seeks to address the needs of women, promote public dialogue, strengthen families, communities, and societies in affiliation with the public policy and women's studies programs at George Washington University.

Other Sources

Advocate

the Web version of The Advocate includes up-to-date news and links to other Web sites for travel, news, etc.

American Civil Liberties Union Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Project

is a project that fights descrimination and shapes public opinion on GLBTQ rights through the courts, legislatures and public education. The site profiles current cases, news items, and a resources section with a collection of podcasts, videos, online resources, and printed materials.

Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)

promotes fair, accurate, and inclusive representation of people and events in the media.

Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)

is the leading national education organization focused on ensuring safe schools for all students. The organization has conducted several studies and the results are available on the Web site.

here! Gay Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Television Restricted Resource

this is a resource that YOU PAY FOR. It offers on-demand television targeting gay and lesbian viewers as well as podcasts, video downloads, blogs, and music.

Human Rights Campaign (HRC)

founded in 1980, HRC is the largest GLBTQ civil rights organization in the United States. The focus of the organization is to ensure equality for GLBTQ people through political action and educational outreach.

In the Life

produces documentary stories for the GLBTQ communities.

International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission (IGLHRC)

a U.S. -based nonprofit, nongovernmental organization, the mission of IGLHRC is to secure the human rights of all people impacted by discrimination or abuse on the basis of sexual orientation or expression, gender identity or expression, and/or HIV status. The Web site contains publications and resources that compile and record evidence of human rights violations, as well as fact sheets and position papers that summarize information related to the human rights of sexual and gender minorities worldwide

International Lesbian and Gay Association (ILGA)

an "international non-profit and non-governmental community-based federation" has been in existence since 1978. This site includes infomation about GKBTQ legislation by country. The Web site is accessible in four languages.

Lambda Legal

has been working towards full equality for the GLBTQ community and people with HIV for years on both federal and state levels. The Web site includes information on significant court cases, etc. and a Cooperating Attorneys Network.

Logo

is the virtual presence of Logo, a lesbian and gay network from MTV Networks. Logo features stories, shows, and news as well as a gay and lesbian travel site and a music section.

National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE) Restricted Resource

is a nonprofit organization founded in 2003 by transgender activists to advocate and educate on issues of importance to transgender people.

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force Restricted Resource

is one of the oldest GLBTQ civil rights organizations. The Web site contains reports, issue maps, and fact sheets on a variety of issues as well as ways to mobilize activism.

OUTProud Restricted Resource

is the portal for the National Organization of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Youth provides resources of interest to GLBTQ youth. Includes an online magazine and discussion forum.

Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG)

provides up-todate information on programs, tools for change, resources, conference information, and guidance for individuals and chapters.

Queer Arts Resource (QAR)

is a Web site to expand the range and depth of knowledge about contemporary and historical queer art. Includes current and archived online galleries.

Style and Citation Guides

RefWorks

A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.

Resources at Grinnell

Course Guides

Queertheory.com

is a subject guide to a vast range of queer, GLBTQ, and gender resources related to academics, culture theory, the body culture, music, literature, and related fields. Includes reviews and links to other sites.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Cecilia Knight

Cecilia Knight
Acquisitions and Discovery Librarian
Tel: (641) 269-3368


Office Hours: Tuesdays & Fridays 11:00-11:50 a.m. & by appointment


Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search