SubjectsPlus: HIS 233: Medieval Europe

Bookmark and Share
Find It
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Background Information

New Cambridge Medieval History
Print Location: D117 .N48 1995

A multi-volume history of the medieval period.

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Shorter Cambridge Medieval History
Print Location: D117 .P75

Bibliography

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Print Location: Ref D20 .A43x 1995

 

Maps

Old Maps Online

An online portal to digitized historical maps. 

Atlas of the Medieval World
Print Location: Burling Ref D117 .M35 2004

Databases

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations and offers full-text access to many resources.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Restricted Resource

Digital repository of resources for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), with some full text available. Contains journal citations, e-books, reviews, a finding list of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts, and more.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project MUSE Restricted Resource

Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Historical Texts

Google Book Search

Provides full-text of many books no longer under copyright, and allows searching of the contents of many more titles.

Mobile access to Google Book Search

Library Catalogs

Center for Research Libraries

Includes collections of primary source material. Many collections are digitized; other materials may be ordered through ILL and will typically arrive in about three days.

Biographical Information

Rise of the Medieval World
Print Location: CT114 .R57 2002

"Beginning in 500 with the fusion of classical, Christian, and Germanic cultures and ending in 1300 with a Europe united by a desire for growth, knowledge, and change, this volume provides basic information on the significant cultural figures of the Middle Ages. It includes over 400 people whose contributions in literature, religion, philosophy, education, or politics influenced the development and culture of the Medieval world. While focusing on Western European figures, the book does not neglect those from Byzantium, Baghdad, and the Arab world who also contributed to the politics, religion, and culture of Western Europe."--BOOK JACKET

Reference Resources

Catholic Encyclopedia
Print Location: BX841 .C25 1913

The classic 1913 edition.

Catholic Encyclopedia (Online)

The full-text of the 1913 edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Print Location: Ref. D 114 .D5 1982

A scholarly encyclopedia for the medieval period.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Print Location: Burling Ref BX841 .N44 2002

The most recent edition of the Catholic Encyclopedia.

Images

ARTstor Restricted Resource

Searchable database of images applicable to many different times, cultures, and disciplines. Also includes local Physics and Botany image collections. Use individual log-in for off-campus access.

Mobile access to ARTstor

Google Image Search

Search images available on the World Wide Web.

Primary Sources

Chronicles of the Vikings
Print Location: DL65 .P26 1995

Translations of texts from the Viking period.

English Historical Documents
Print Location: DA26 .E55x 1996

History of Medieval & Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents

Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations

Internet Medieval Sourcebook

Links to medieval texts and sources on the Web, both of short "classroom sized" extracts and full documents.

Medieval Iberia
Print Location: DP97.4 .M43 1997 Restricted Resource

Texts from Christian, Muslim, and Jewish sources.

Paston letters and papers of the fifteenth century
Print Location: DA240 .P294 2004

A collection of primary sources from one family in England.

Web sites

Center for Research Libraries Topic Guide: Medieval Studies

 A guide to resources available from the Center for Research Libraries.  Materials may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan for extended periods.

Labyrinth

A guide to electronic resources in medieval history.

Library of Congress Recommended Sites for Classical and Medieval History

 A list of reference resources that can supplement work in Classics, including among its recommendations: The Bryn Mawr Classical Review, the Internet Classics Archive, and Perseus -- which has searchable full-text access to the Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites

WWW Virtual Library:History

This is the central catalogue for the WWW-VL network of indexes to Historical materials on-line. It is intended for general public use, but its coverage and selection of sites concentrates on creating a facility useful for those pursuing historical research on-line. An extremely comprehensive index of links, it covers nearly every geographic area and many subjects

Style and Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: Perm Reserve Z253 .U69 2003

The style manual commonly used for History.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: Chicago/Turabian Style

This style guide contains information on the Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Catherine Rod

Catherine Rod
Special Collections Librarian and Archivist
Tel: (641) 269- 3364

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Tips
There are two important series that publish primary texts from the period of the Middle Ages. Titles are cataloged individually, but if you do a word search for "Records of Civilizations" or "Records of Social and Economic History" you will see a list of the titles included in each series. To locate other primary resources, use terms such as "sources" "personal narratives" "records" "diaries", etc. in your search.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search