SubjectsPlus: JPN 295: (Re)presentations of Asians in the Americas

Bookmark and Share
All Resources

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Newspapers

Access World News Research Collection Restricted Resource

Mostly 1990's-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 3,900 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more.

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource

The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers compiled in a single database. Paid ads are excluded. Covers 1690-1922.

New York Times Historical Restricted Resource

Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 up to the last three years.  For current access, see National Newspapers, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources.

Online Newspapers

Provides links to thousands of world newspapers.

Databases

GenderWatch Restricted Resource

A collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource

Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Hispanic, Greek, Italian, Jewish, Finnish, Russian, Filipino, Arabic, Asian, Pacific Islander, Native American, and more.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource

Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

America: History and Life with Full Text Restricted Resource

Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes some full text.   Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.

Mobile access to America: History and Life with Full Text

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. Includes some full text. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource

Covers a diverse range of subjects from the humanities, including archaeology, art, classics, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature and religion. Some full text is included.

Mobile access to Humanities International Complete

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology and Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project Muse Restricted Resource

Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

AP Images (Associated Press) Restricted Resource

Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Grinnell College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.

GeNii, NII Scholarly Academic and Information Portal

Japanese academic portal providing services about academic paper information, book information, etc. and connecting CiNii (citation information by NII), Webcat Plus, KAKEN, NII-DBR (Academic research database repository).

Research Pro

Research Pro is a tool for searching multiple databases at the same time. Rather than searching each database individually, you will be able to search up to 40 database at once and view results from a single page. For more information on Research Pro see http://www.grinnell.edu/node/50602.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries: Find It!

Access the following resources here: library catalog, reserves, JournalFinder, WorldCat, interlibrary loan, subject and course guides, special collections catalog, and the Center for Research Libraries catalog.

Center for Research Libraries

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections.

Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) Restricted Resource

Provides full text of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly entries.

Cambridge History of Japan
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor DS835 .C36 1988


Asian American Almanac
Print Location: Reference E184.O6 A824


Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Print Location: Reference DS822.5 .E516 2002


Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: an A-Z Reference from 1868 to the Present
Print Location: Reference E184.J3 E53 2001


Japan Encyclopedia
Print Location: Reference DS821 .F73 2002


Scholarly Articles

Amerasia Journal

Also available in print: Burling 4th Floor East.

Web sites

Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation (AIISF)

Includes information outlining the history of Pacific immigration to the United States through Angel Island, in the San Francisco Bay. Individual immigration stories are also collected by the foundation and made available on the website.

Asians in Latin America: A Selected Bibliography, 1990-2002

A bibliography compiled for Amerasia Journal by Professor Clara Chu of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Dr. Shao You-Bao Overseas Chinese Documentation and Research Center

The Shao Center, located at the Ohio University library, is devoted to the documentation of and research on the Chinese overseas, including ethnic Chinese in areas of the world such as Latin America, Africa, Europe, and the Pacific. Resources include directories of institutes, scholars, librarians, and access to publications related to Chinese overseas studies.

International Society for the Study of Chinese Overseas (ISSCO)

Official online presence of the Society, including information about conferences and publications.

Asian Pacific Americans and Immigration Law

Contains comprehensive historical and current information on immigration law as it pertains to Asian Pacific Americans. Edited by Professor of Law Vernellia R. Randall of the University of Dayton.

Chinese Immigration to Canada: A Tale of Perseverance

Audio and video content from the CBC/Radio-Canada (Canada's national broadcaster) archives.

Relocation to Redress: The Internment of Japanese Canadians

Audio and video content from the CBC/Radio-Canada (Canada's national broadcaster) archives.

Internet East Asian History Sourcebook

 Portal to internet resources on East Asian history.

Internment Archives

Provides access to primary source material pertaining to the relocation of Japanese-American citizens during the World War II era. Documents include memoranda, reports, and books from the National Archives, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, the Office of Naval Intelligence, the California State Archives, and many other sources.

Japanese Internment: A List of Annotated Internet Resources

Created and maintained by the Asian Studies Department at the University of Redlands in Redlands, California, this website lists internet resources in various formats and from various sources, including government, public television, research institutions, and many others.

Library and Archives Canada: Immigrants from China

Access to government documents related to Chinese immigrants to Canada from 1885 to 1949.

National Archives: Records of the War Relocation Authority (WRA)

Online guide to WRA archival material, including records, still pictures, motion pictures, and sound recordings, pertaining to the removal, relocation, maintenance, and supervision, in 10 interior relocation centers, of persons (principally of Japanese ancestry) excluded from military areas during the World War II era. Also includes material pertaining to the resettling of Japanese-American internees after the exclusion order was revoked in late 1944.

Style and Citation Guides

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: Perm Reserve Z253 .U69 2003

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: Chicago/Turabian Style

This style guide contains information on the Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.

RefWorks

A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.

RefWorks Guide

A basic help guide for RefWorks. Includes information on adding citations as well as links to other help documents regarding Write-n-Cite and creating annotated bibliographies

Resources at Grinnell

Grinnell College Libraries: Library Lab

Request a one-on-one research appointment.

Grinnell Writing Lab

Room: ARH 132 Phone: 3117

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269-3355


Office: Burling Library, main floor

Walk in or make an appointment for research help.


Email: jonesphi@grinnell.edu