SubjectsPlus: Latin American Studies

Bookmark and Share
All Resources

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Newspapers

Acceda Noticias (English interface) Restricted Resource

Mostly 2000-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 40 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.

Access World News Research Collection Restricted Resource

Mostly 1990's-present online resource that provides full-text information from over 3,900 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource

Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Hispanic, Greek, Italian, Jewish, Finnish, Russian, Filipino, Arabic, Asian, Pacific Islander, Native American, and more.

Databases

Clase and Periodica Restricted Resource

Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.  Please note: database interface and citations are in Spanish.

LatAm-Studies Full-Text Online Restricted Resource

LatAm-Studies Full Text Online includes Spanish-language journals and other academic content on Latin America from the Caribbean, Central and South American and around the world.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

A bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Access to future, current, and retrospective volumes of the Handbook.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International Restricted Resource

1915-present. Includes scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports and more, covering global public policy and social issues.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource

Covers a diverse range of subjects from the humanities, including archaeology, art, classics, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature and religion. Some full text is included.

Mobile access to Humanities International Complete

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource

Dates vary. An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Mobile access to Academic Search Premier

Project Muse Restricted Resource

Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology and Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Databases for Related Disciplines

ATLA Religion Index Restricted Resource

1949-current. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over 1,000 international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.

Mobile access to ATLA Religion Index

GenderWatch Restricted Resource

A collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. Includes some full text. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

MLA International Bibliography [contained within Literature Resource Center] Restricted Resource

1926-current. Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource

Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1300 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource

1952-current. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource

Indexes the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (Online) Restricted Resource

A collection of full text newspapers that reflect Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press

Created by University of Arizona Libraries, The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Latin American Newspapers Restricted Resource

Full-text access to over thirty Spanish- and English-language newspapers from throughout Latin America printed between the late 19th and early 20th centuries. 

Library Catalogs

Google Book Search

Provides full-text of many books no longer under copyright, and allows searching of the contents of many more titles.

Mobile access to Google Book Search

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

Center for Research Libraries

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
Print Location: REF E184.S75 E587 2005


Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Online edition) Restricted Resource

Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Print Location: REF F1406 .E515 2000


Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (6 volumes)
Print Location: REF F1406 .E53 2008


Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture
Print Location: REF F1210 .E63 1997


Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Print edition)
Print Location: REF E 184. S75 O97 2005 Restricted Resource


Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Some full text. Reference Universe helps you find the right article--the authoritative article--to begin your research, whether it's on your shelves in a reference work or in an online reference database.

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) Restricted Resource

Provides full text of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly entries.

Data and Statistics

Censos y Conteos de Población y Vivienda

In Spanish. Current and historical data from the Mexican government's Censo de Población y Vivienda (Census of Population and Housing, conducted in years ending in zero) and Conteo de Población y Vivienda (Count of Population and Housing, conducted in years ending in five).

Hispanic Origin: US Census Bureau

Provides 2010 census information, current population survey data, and a helpful frequently asked questions section.

Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Geografía (INEGI)

INEGI recopila, procesa y distribuye de información acerca del territorio, la población y la economía de Mexico.

Latinos in Iowa

Provided by the State Data Center of Iowa and the Iowa Office of Latino Affairs.

World Bank Data

Formerly the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance. Hundreds of economic and social indicators, with 40 years of data for some series, for every country in the world.

Laws and Regulations

Finding the Law of Latin America: Yale Law School

This research guide focuses on electronic resources to help you find the law in Latin America and the Caribbean.  Approaching Latin American legal research is similar to approaching legal research of any country, including the United States....

Primary Sources

20th-Century Latin American and Latino Art Digital Archive

The International Center for the Arts of the Americas provides access through this digital archive to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of 20th-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.

Center for Research Libraries: Latin American Studies

CRL's collection of documents and resources on Latin American history. Many collections are digitized; other materials may be ordered through ILL and will typically arrive in about three days.

Mesolore

A bilingual cyber center and community of scholars and students that offers interactive primary documents and pedagogic resources about Mesoamerica’s past and present.

Web sites

Digital Library of the Caribbean

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of archives, libraries, and private collections. Available collections include: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.

LANIC

Latin American Network Information Center. Provides links to information about and from Latin America.

Latindex

Scientific journals from Latin American, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal--articles in Spanish and Portuguese.

REDALYC (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal Sistema de Información Científica Redalyc)

Based out of the Universidad Autónoma de Estado de México (UAEM), Redalyc provides open access to the full-text of scientific materials published throughout Latin America, Spain and Portugal.

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online

O Biblioteca Científica Electrónica en Línea es un modelo para la publicación electrónica cooperativa de revistas científicas en Internet. Especialmente desarrollado para responder a las necesidades de la comunicación científica en los países en desarrollo y particularmente de América Latina y el Caribe. 

Style and Citation Guides

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .T8 2007 Restricted Resource

Kate Turabian's classic guide is subtitled  "Chicago Style for Students and Researchers."

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

RefWorks

A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

Resources at Grinnell

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269-3355


Office: Burling Library, main floor

Walk in or make an appointment for research help.


Email: jonesphi@grinnell.edu


Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.