Skip top navigation

SubjectsPlus: LAS 111: Introduction to Latin American Studies

Bookmark and Share
Find It
Skip the Find It! box
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource

Provides access to a wide range of full-text content for news, business, legal, and reference information. Particularly strong in legislative, government, corporate, financial, and demographic information, as well as market research and industry reports.

Access World News Research Collection Restricted Resource

Mostly 1990s-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from nearly 4,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource

Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Arabic, Asian, Filipino, Finnish, Greek, Hispanic, Italian, Jewish, Native American, Pacific Islander, Russian, and more.

LANIC: Newspapers and News

Search online versions of major Spanish- and English-language newspapers from countries throughout Latin America. Or: search over 100 major sources with LANIC's Latin American News Custom Search Engine.

Databases

Clase and Periodica Restricted Resource

Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities, includes articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews, and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Please note: database interface and citations are in Spanish.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource

An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Mobile access to Academic Search Premier

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project MUSE Restricted Resource

Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

PAIS International Restricted Resource

1915-present. Index of scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports, and more, covering global public policy and social issues, from the Public Affairs Information Service.

Databases for Related Disciplines

America: History and Life with Full Text Restricted Resource

Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes some full text. Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.

Mobile access to America: History and Life with Full Text

AnthroSource Restricted Resource

1888-present. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).

EconLit Restricted Resource

1969-current. Provides citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources.

Mobile access to EconLit

GenderWatch Restricted Resource

1970-present. A collection of hundreds of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations and offers full-text access to many resources.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource

1926-present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource

1952-present. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource

Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (Online) Restricted Resource

A collection of full-text newspapers that reflect Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Data and Statistics

Latinos in Iowa

Provided by the State Data Center of Iowa and the Iowa Office of Latino Affairs.

MOxLAD: Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Data Base

Contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the twentieth century up to today. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic collection of available statistical information in a single on-line source.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Restricted Resource

Digital multimedia version of the premier English-language encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations Restricted Resource

This A-to-Z reference details the important people, places, and events that have shaped the relationship between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Online edition) Restricted Resource

Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (6 volumes)
Print Location: REF F1406 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Print Location: REF F1406 .E515 2000

Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture
Print Location: REF F1210 .E63 1997

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Print edition)
Print Location: REF E 184. S75 O97 2005 Restricted Resource


Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
Print Location: REF E184.S75 E587 2005


Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History
Print Location: REF E 184. S75 R69 2006 Restricted Resource


Hispanic Americans : A Statistical Sourcebook
Print Location: REF E184. S75 H5655 2009 Restricted Resource


Latino and Latina Writers
Print Location: REF PS153. H56 L39 2004 Restricted Resource


Latino Chronology : Ahronologies of the American Mosaic
Print Location: REF E 184. S75 F543 2007 Restricted Resource


Primary Sources

Mesolore

A bilingual cyber center and community of scholars and students that offers interactive primary documents and pedagogic resources about Mesoamerica’s past and present.

Web sites

Digital Library of the Caribbean

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of archives, libraries, and private collections. Available collections include: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.

LANIC

Latin American Network Information Center. Provides links to information about and from Latin America.

REDALYC (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal Sistema de Información Científica Redalyc)

Provides open access to the full-text of scientific materials published throughout Latin America, Spain and Portugal.

Latindex

Database of scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal with articles in Spanish and Portuguese.

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .T8 2007 Restricted Resource

Kate Turabian's classic guide is subtitled  "Chicago Style for Students and Researchers."

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Resources at Grinnell

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.