SubjectsPlus: Linguistics

Bookmark and Share
Find It
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Define

Define...

... a topic by gathering background/overview information; help formulate your research question.

Blackwell Companion to Phonology Restricted Resource

A major reference work drawing together 100+ contributions from leading scholars in the field representing a diverse range of approaches and methodologies to the key phenomena in phonological research.

Cambridge Grammar of the English Language
Print Location: Burling Reserve PE1106 .H74 2002

Print reference work providing a description of the grammar of general-purpose, present-day, international Standard English, offering a detailed account of the principles governing the construction of English words, phrases, clauses, and sentences.

Endangered Languages (UNESCO)

"The aim of UNESCO’s Endangered Languages Programme is to support communities, experts and governments by producing, coordinating and  disseminating:
--tools for monitoring, advocacy, and assessment of status and trends in linguistic diversity,
--services such as policy advice, technical expertise and training, good practices and a platform for exchange and transfer of skills."

Endangered Languages Project

"An online resource to record, access, and share samples of and research on endangered languages as well as to share advice and best practices for those working to document or strengthen languages under threat."

World Atlas of Language Structures
Print Location: P143 .W67x 2005

World's Writing Systems
Print Location: Z40 .W65 1996

Print reference book that explores in depth how scripts are applied to individual languages. Every major writing system is presented in a passage of text, accompanied by a romanized version, a phonetic transcription, and an English translation. A bibliography concludes each entry.

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

Identify

Identify

... specific sources of information about the defined topic--to answer your research question

Databases

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource

1-popular Useful for coverage of newspapers and some popular magazines 1980's-present; use the Power Search.

Access World News Research Collection Restricted Resource

Mostly 1990s-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from nearly 4,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more.

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts/Sociological Abstracts/PsycINFO Restricted Resource

3-primary. Search these three databases as a good starting point for finding primary literature in linguistics and related areas.

Anthropological Literature Restricted Resource

Indexes journal articles and edited works in archaeology, anthropology, and linguistics; also covers sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics.

America: History and Life with Full Text Restricted Resource

Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes some full text. Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.

Mobile access to America: History and Life with Full Text

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations and offers full-text access to many resources.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource

A cross-cultural database that provides ethnographic studies of diverse cultures within the United States and around the world. From Human Relations Area Files.

Education Research Complete Restricted Resource

Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, from early childhood to higher education in all educational specialties. Includes indexing and abstracts, as well as some full text.

Mobile access to Education Research Complete

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO] Restricted Resource

1966-present. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.

Mobile access to ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [EBSCO]

OLAC: Open Language Archives Community

"Provides access to a wealth of information about thousands of languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives."

WorldCat Restricted Resource

4-primary

Reference Sources

MRC Psycholinguistic Database

Database of over 150,000 words matched with linguistic and psycholinguistic attributes. Some also provide psychological measures. Of use to researchers in psychology and linguistics as well as those in artificial intelligence and computer science who require psychological and linguistic descriptions of words.

English Lexicon Project

Provides access to a large set of lexical characteristics, along with behavioral data from visual lexical decision and naming studies, for thousands of words and nonwords. Intended for research in psycholinguistics, human memory, computational modeling, and other fields.

Dialnet

Web portal maintained by the Universidad de La Rioja (Spain) offering a table-of-contents alerting service and some full text of Spanish-language journal articles and dissertations. Note: Grinnell College does not have a subscription to Dialnet; full-text access is limited to the portal's small percentage of free content.

Linguistic Society of America

The Linguistic Society of America (LSA) was founded in 1924 to advance the scientific study of language. LSA plays a critical role in supporting and disseminating linguistic scholarship both to professional linguists and to the general public.

Linguist List

International Linguistics Community Online; a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.

AP Images (Associated Press) Restricted Resource

Constantly updated, AP Images provides access to millions of primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Also provides audio, video, graphics, and interactives. This database may be used for educational purposes only.

Locate

Locate

... the publications identified above at Grinnell or elsewhere--get your information

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

Journal Finder

The full text of journals, magazines, newspapers, and books available online through the Grinnell College Libraries.

Other Library Catalogs

Evaluate

Evaluate

...the validity, objectivity, and usefulness of the information

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Kevin Engel

Kevin Engel
Science Librarian
Tel: (641) 269- 4234

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search