Find It

More 3Search options

Find books, music, and videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search for a journal by title or ISSN.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for databases by name.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search our Special Collections and College Archives finding aids:

Search examples of student, faculty and staff scholarship and digital versions of items from the College's manuscript and book collections.

Find books and videos on reserve.

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Becky Yoose, Julia Bauder, or Sheryl Bissen.



Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource

An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Mobile access to Academic Search Premier

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource

1975-present. Provides access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, with emphasis on nursing and allied health.

Mobile access to Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Education Research Complete Restricted Resource

Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, from early childhood to higher education in all educational specialties. Includes indexing and abstracts, as well as some full text.

Mobile access to Education Research Complete

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [ProQuest] Restricted Resource

1966-present. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.

MEDLINE Restricted Resource

1809-present (with greater coverage beginning in the 1940's). One of the premier sources for bibliographic coverage of medicine, medical research, health care, molecular biology, physiological psychology, and much more. Accessed through ProQuest.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

Center for Research Libraries

A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Reference Resources

AP Images (Associated Press) Restricted Resource

Constantly updated, AP Images provides access to millions of primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Also provides audio, video, graphics, and interactives. This database may be used for educational purposes only.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport
Print Location: Burling Ref GV567 .B48 2005 (4 volumes)

Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior
Print Location: Science Library Ref R726.5 .E53 2004 (2 volumes)

Encyclopedia of Sports Science
Print Location: Ref GV558 .E53 1997 (2 volumes)

Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
Print Location: Burling Ref GV567 .E56 1996 (3 volumes)

Style and Citation Guides

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries via Fisher College.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Resources at Grinnell

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Kevin Engel

Kevin Engel
Science Librarian
Tel: (641) 269- 4234

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.