SubjectsPlus: Philosophy

Bookmark and Share
All Resources

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Databases

Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource

1940-current. Indexes books and journals of philosophy: ethics, aesthetics, social and political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

ATLA Religion Index Restricted Resource

1949-current. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over 1,000 international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.

Mobile access to ATLA Religion Index

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. Includes some full text. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

PsycINFO Restricted Resource

Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1300 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.

Annee Philologique Restricted Resource

This is the primary resource for comprehensive access to the literature on all aspects of the classical period. Library subscribes to the print version as well as the online version. The print version allows you to easily browse the years work.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Restricted Resource

Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.

Project Muse Restricted Resource

Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource

Covers a diverse range of subjects from the humanities, including archaeology, art, classics, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature and religion. Some full text is included.

Mobile access to Humanities International Complete

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology and Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

ACLS Humanities E-Book Digital Collection Restricted Resource

A digital collection of over 3,300 full-text titles offered by American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with 20 learned societies and over 100 contributing publishers.

Research Pro

Research Pro is a tool for searching multiple databases at the same time. Rather than searching each database individually, you will be able to search up to 40 database at once and view results from a single page. For more information on Research Pro see http://www.grinnell.edu/node/50602.

Historical Texts

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Restricted Resource

Contains digital facsimile page images of 100,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, between 1473-1700.

Nietzsches Werke Restricted Resource

Nietzsches Werke: Historisch-kritische Ausgabe contains all and only Nietzsche's works found in the Kritische Studienausgabe.  

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Restricted Resource

Digitized copies of 138,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800, primarily in the United Kingdom and the Americas. Includes books, broadsides, Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed ephemera.

Continental Rationalists : Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz Restricted Resource

Full text database of the writings of Descartes, Benedict de Spinoza, and Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz through Intelex Past Masters

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections.

Theatrum Catalogorum

Harvard Theatrum Catalogorum “…launched in 2007 by Ann Blair, Morgan Sonderegger, and Adam Beaver as a scholarly resource for the Early Modernist [philosophical] community. In its first edition, it collates library catalogs from every major European country. In future editions, it will expand to include the Americas.”rnrn

Reference Resources

Blackwell Companions to Philosophy
Print Location: various, follow link for full list

An outstanding series that offers a broad, comprehensive and authoritative survey of philosophy. Written by today's leading philosophers, each volume provides coverage of the key figures, terms, topics, and problems of the field.

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) Restricted Resource

Provides full text of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly entries.

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Some full text. Reference Universe helps you find the right article--the authoritative article--to begin your research, whether it's on your shelves in a reference work or in an online reference database.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Print Location: Reference B51 .E53 2006

2nd Edition (2005) Ed. Donald M. Borchert. An indispensable reference source per the 2008 review in Booklist – it includes particularly in-depth treatment of logic and related mathematical topics. The chapter on Nietzsche is by Grinnell College’s own professor of philosophy Alan Schrift.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Print Location: Ref B51 .R68 1998

10 volumes (1998): "Depth and breadth of coverage, clarity of presentation, impressive bibliographies, excellent use of cross references, and an extensive index ...” --Outstanding Reference Sources : the 1999 Selection Sources Committee, RUSA [Reference and User Service’s Association], ALA [American Library Association].

Cambridge Companion Series
Print Location: various, follow link for full list

Outstanding single-volume references to individual philosophers, movements, etc. For Cambridge Companion titles in philosophy held by the Grinnell College libraries, see link. This list is not comprehensive. For a full listing of Cambridge Companions outside of philosophy, try a title search using the term Cambridge Companion).

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Impressive for its depth, scope and authority; open access.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy was founded in 1995 for the purpose of providing detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The IEP is free of charge and available to all internet users world wide. The present staff of 25 editors and approximately 200 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from the United States, Great Britain, and Australia. … The authors are specialists in the areas in which they write, and are frequently leading authorities. Submissions are peer reviewed by specialists according to strict criteria.”

Encyclopedia of Religion [electronic resource] Restricted Resource

Widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field, this 15-volume second edition includes over 3000 entries. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas [electronic resource] Restricted Resource

Brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.

Web sites

Grinnell College Department of Philosophy Recommended Web Resources

This is an excellent annotated collection of the most authoritative and useful philosophy resources on the Web. In addition to the best general philosophy web sites, the list includes links to professional organizations such as the American Philosophical Association, and a very useful collection of web resources organized by area/topics/movements in philosophy – including feminism, logic, existentialism, ethics, philosophy of mind, Chinese philosophy, metaphysics, and philosophy of science, among others.

PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy

PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. PhilPapers monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. The site also accepts articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies.

PhilSci Archive

Electronic archive for pre-prints in the Philosophy of Science. Sponsored by the Philosophy of Science Association, the Center for Philosophy of Science at University of Pittsburgh and the University Library System at the University of Pittsburgh.

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

RefWorks

A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.

Resources at Grinnell

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269-3355


Office: Burling Library, main floor

Walk in or make an appointment for research help.


Email: jonesphi@grinnell.edu


Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search