SubjectsPlus: POL 216: Politics of Congress

Bookmark and Share
All Resources

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



General Congressional Resources

CQ Weekly Restricted Resource

Online; 1983-present. News magazine providing extensive coverage of Congress.

CQ Researcher
Print Location: Burling Ref. H35 .C672

1992-present. In-depth background reports on current political issues. The index is available online, but reports are only available in print in Burling reference.

National Journal
Print Location: Current Periodicals

Magazine and Web site focused on politics and policy. Current issues are on the first floor of Burling in the "Current Awareness" area (next to the windows on the northwest side of the first floor); issues more than 14 days old are available in Academic Search Premier.

Hill, The

A congressional newspaper that publishes daily when Congress is in session, with a special focus on business and lobbying, political campaigns and goings on on Capitol Hill.

Roll Call Restricted Resource

Online; 1989-present. Newspaper covering Congress.

Resources on Elections, Members and Constituencies

Almanac of American Politics
Print Location: JK 1012 .A44 Restricted Resource

Current edition on 2-hour reserve in Burling; previous edition in Burling Reference; older editions back to 1972 on the second floor.

OpenSecrets.org

Data on campaign finance, lobbying expenditures, 527 groups, and the personal finances of politicians. A project of the Center for Responsive Politics.

American Factfinder

For data on the demographics of Congressional Districts, select "American Community Survey" from the sidebar, then "Detailed Tables." Then, for "Geographic Type," select "Congressional District - 110th."

Project Vote Smart

Find all of the candidates who are running in national and local elections, check voting records for incumbents, find speeches, and examine campaign financing.

CQ Voting and Elections Collection Restricted Resource

A collection of research tools that covers a host of information about voting in America both past and present. Covers political parties, campaigns and elections, and demographic information about voters.

Guide to U.S. Elections
Print Location: Burling Ref. JK1967 .G85x 2005 Restricted Resource

Federal Election Commission Campaign Finance Data

Searchable database with campaign finance information for candidates in U.S. federal elections from 1999 to the present.

Resources on Internal Congressional Deliberations

CQ Almanac
Print Location: JK 1 .C66 Restricted Resource

Current edition in Burling reference; previous editions back to 1960 on the second floor. Each edition contains a detailed summary of one year's activity in Congress, including narrative histories of important bills and complete data on roll call votes.

THOMAS

1989-. Congressional information, including bills and resolutions. The best official government source for information on bills currently being considered in Congress.

ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource

1789-. Provides access to the CIS Index—the most comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications—plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.) Also includes the full text of the Congressional Record, 1789-present.

Congressional Hearings on FDSys

Look here for hearings that aren't available through LexisNexis Congressional.

U.S. Government Publications Office (GPO) via FDSys

The central Web site for finding government documents 1976-present. Replaces the former GPO Access.

U.S. Government Publications Office (GPO) via FirstSearch Restricted Resource

1976-. Indexes all types of U.S. government documents, including judiciary materials and Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted Resource

Online access to the reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, from 1817 to 1994; contains many images. Also available in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Please see a librarian if you would like to request the bound volumes from storage.

Congressional Bills Project

1947-2002. Downloadable data files with information about bills introduced into Congress, formatted for quantitative analysis.

Policy Agendas Project

1940s-present. Coded datasets of policy changes based on Congressional hearings, Congressional roll call votes, executive orders, State of the Union addresses, and more.

Congress Matters

Liberal blog affiliated with Daily Kos that seeks to chronicle, in detail, how Congress goes about its daily business. Lots of information, with good explanations of Congressional procedures.

Subject Specialist
Picture: Julia Bauder

Julia Bauder
Social Studies and Data Services Librarian
Tel: (641) 269-4431




Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource