Find It

More 3Search options

Find books, music, and videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search for a journal by title or ISSN.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for databases by name.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search our Special Collections and College Archives finding aids:

Search examples of student, faculty and staff scholarship and digital versions of items from the College's manuscript and book collections.

Find books and videos on reserve.

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Becky Yoose, Julia Bauder, or Sheryl Bissen.



Background Information

Annual Review of Political Science Restricted Resource

1998-present. Annual summary and analysis of research in the field of political science. Good source for an overview of the current state of research on a given topic at a given point in time.

Mobile access to Annual Review of Political Science

Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought
Print Location: Burling Ref JC423 .E54 2001 Restricted Resource

Political Handbook of the World
Print Location: Burling Ref JF37 .P61

Detailed overview of the politics and governments of every country in the world. Current edition in reference; older editions back to 1977 on the second floor.

Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource

Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

PAIS International Restricted Resource

1915-present. Index of scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports, and more, covering global public policy and social issues, from the Public Affairs Information Service.

Project MUSE Restricted Resource

Access to the full text of approximately 600 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Newspaper and Magazine Articles

New York Times and Index

The New York Times is one of the leading news providers in the U.S. This link goes to a page with options for accessing the New York Times in the Grinnell College Libraries.

Newspapers and Magazines

See the subject guide on finding newspaper and magazine articles for more sources.

Style and Citation Guides

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries via Fisher College.

Resources at Grinnell

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Julia Bauder

Julia Bauder
Social Studies and Data Services Librarian
Tel: (641) 269- 4431

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.