SubjectsPlus: Religious Studies

Bookmark and Share
Find It
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Databases

ATLA Religion Index Restricted Resource

1949-present. Covers religious and theological scholarship in over a thousand international journals and 14,000 multi-author works.

Mobile access to ATLA Religion Index

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations and offers full-text access to many resources.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource

Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.

Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource

1940-present. Indexes books and journals in all areas of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, social & political philosophy, and the philosophy of education, history, language, law, religion, and science.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource

1952-present. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource

Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1,800 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource

1926-present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource

1971-present. An online index of scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.

Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource

Covers film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes full text of more than 90 journals and indexing for more than 600 publications.

Mobile access to Film & Television Literature Index

Humanities Source Restricted Resource

Offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Covers the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities and includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project MUSE Restricted Resource

Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Digital Collection Restricted Resource

Digital collection of over 3,300 full-text titles offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with 20 academic societies and over 100 contributing publishers.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Data and Statistics

Association of Religion Data Archives

An archive of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers.

Social Explorer Restricted Resource

Provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information, allowing users to create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. Limited to U.S. data; available datasets include the Census (1790-present), American Community Survey (2005-2011), Religious Congregations & Membership Study (1980-2010), and Carbon Emissions Data (2002).

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Religion [electronic resource] Restricted Resource

Widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field, this 15-volume second edition includes over 3000 entries. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers.

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (online) Restricted Resource

Publishing in print in February 2009, this encyclopedia presents students, researchers, political analysts, journalists, and common readers with accurate, comprehensive, and balanced scholarship on all aspects of the world's fastest-growing religion and the areas it affects: society, politics, economics, everyday life, culture, and thought.

Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion (online) Restricted Resource

Covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world. 2011 edition.

Cambridge Companion to Religious Studies
Print Location: BL41 .C34 2012

Introduces readers to key debates in the contemporary study of religion and suggests future research possibilities.

Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in the Study of Religion
Print Location: BL41 .R686 2011

Routledge Companion to Religion and Science
Print Location: BL240.3 .R685 2012

Brings together an outstanding team of scholars to explore the ways in which science intersects with the major religions of the world and religious naturalism.

Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Religion and Social Justice
Print Location: BL65.J87 W55 2012

Religions of the Ancient World: A Guide
Print Location: Ref. BL687 .R47 2004

 

The Encyclopedia of Religion
Print Location: Reference BL31 .E46 2005

Encyclopaedia of Islam
Print Location: Reference DS37 .E523 2007

Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
Print Location: Reference B121 .E53 2001


Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion
Print Location: Reference BL458 .E53 1999

Harper's Dictionary of Hinduism
Print Location: Reference BL1105 .S78 1977

Primary Sources

Al Tafsir.com

A completely free, non-profit website providing access to the largest and greatest online collection of Qur’anic Commentary (tafsir or tafseer), translation, recitation and essential resources in the world.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Restricted Resource

1473-1700. Contains digital facsimile page images of 100,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere.

Islamic Heritage Project (IHP)

Harvard’s Islamic Heritage Project (IHP) is a digital collection containing more than 156,000 pages of primary source materials dating from the 10th to the 20th centuries CE.  IHP includes over 280 Islamic manuscripts, more than 50 maps, and more than 275 printed texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections.

Empire Online Restricted Resource

1492-present. A digital collection of original primary documents relating to intercultural contact, including aspects of imperialism, religion, race, and class.

Making of the Modern World (Online) Restricted Resource

Offers the full text of thousands of books, serials, pamphlets, essays, and more from major libraries around the world. These resources track the development of the modern, western world (from 1450 onwards) through the lens of trade and wealth. The titles are in English as well as many other languages.

Repositories

Digital Grinnell Repository

Hosts a wide and growing variety of materials created by Grinnell College students, faculty, and staff, as well as selected material that illuminates the College's history and other activities.

Web sites

Digital Dead Sea Scrolls

The Israel Museum, in partnership with Google, provides users the opportunity to examine and explore searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of five of the Dead Sea Scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history. The Dead Sea Scrolls, which include the oldest known biblical manuscripts in existence, offer critical insight into Jewish society in the Land of Israel during the Second Temple Period, the time of the birth of Christianity and Rabbinic Judaism.

H-Net: Humanites and Social Sciences Online

An international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web. Our edited lists and web sites publish peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.

Sacred Texts

The British Library’s digital collection of sacred texts from all religions, arranged chronologically, with a zoomable high-resolution image for each text.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Impressive for its depth, scope and authority; open access.

Wabash Center Internet Guide to Religion

A directory of religious resources on the Web, browseable by subject.

Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive Restricted Resource

Contains selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Includes each issue of the magazines Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review, and Archaeology Odyssey, as well as the content of four books.

Film and Video Collections

Films on Demand. Humanities and Social Sciences Collection Restricted Resource

Streaming video for thousands of full-length videos and video clips in subject areas including anthropology, art & architecture, communications, education, English & language arts, history, music, philosophy & religion, political science, psychology, sociology, and world languages.

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: Chicago/Turabian Style

This style guide contains information on the Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: Perm Reserve Z253 .U69 2003

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Resources at Grinnell

Grinnell Writing Lab

Room: ARH 132 Phone: 3117

Course Guides

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search