SubjectsPlus: Science

Bookmark and Share
Find It
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Databases

ACM Digital Library Restricted Resource

Full text of every article ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), whether in journals, transactions, magazines, newsletters, SIGs, or conference proceedings, plus bibliographic citations from other major publishers in computing.

Chemical Abstracts Restricted Resource

Provides in-depth coverage of the scholarly research literature published internationally in all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering.

Choice Reviews Online Restricted Resource

Provides reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education, publishing over 7,000 concise reviews every year.

MathSciNet Restricted Resource

primary

MEDLINE Restricted Resource

primary

PsycINFO Restricted Resource

primary

PsycARTICLES/PsycBOOKS Restricted Resource

PsycARTICLES provides full text articles from numerous journals (principally published by the APA) covering general and specialized topics in Psychology and related disciplines. PsycBOOKS includes the full text of over 1700 books (including newly-published APA books and the complete APA Handbooks in Psychology series), approximately 120 archival resources, and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Proceedings First Restricted Resource

1993-present. Index of worldwide conference proceedings, covering every published conference, congress, exposition, meeting, symposium, and workshop received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Records contain a list of the papers presented at each conference.

Science.gov

Gateway to science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results from over 60 scientific databases.

Reference Resources

AccessScience Restricted Resource

Contains reference material covering all major scientific disciplines with articles drawn from McGraw-Hill encyclopedias, dictionaries, and yearbooks, as well as videos, curriculum materials, and links to primary source documents.

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology
Print Location: Science Library Oversize QR81 .B46x 2001

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Print Location: Burling Reference BF31 .E52 2001


DailyMed

In-depth information about marketed drugs; National Library of Medicine.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5
Print Location: Science Library RC455.2.C4 D536 2013

Current edition of the standard handbook of the American Psychiatric Association.

Drug Information

MEDLINEplus -- United States National Library of Medicine; a guide to thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications, and herbs and supplements.

Encyclopedia of Psychology
Print Location: Science Reference BF31 .E52 2000


Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences
Print Location: Science Ref RC334 .E535 2003

Glossary of Geology
Print Location: QE5 .B38 2005

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Print Location: Science Library Reference QL3 .G7813 2002


Handbook of Physics
Print Location: Science Library Reference QC61 .T3713 2002

Historical Atlas of the Earth: A Visual Exploration of the Earth's Physical Past
Print Location: QE28.3 .H57 1996

Hortus third : a concise dictionary of plants cultivated in the United States and Canada
Print Location: SB45 .B22 1976

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Print Location: Science Reference TP9 .K54 2004 (26 volumes + index)


Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics
Print Location: Science Library Reference QC5 .M15 1996 (3 volumes)

MEDLINEplus

An incredible wealth of overview and more in-depth information organized by the United States National Library of Medicine.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

For easy-to-understand, authoritative information about human diseases and disorders.

Merck Veterinary Manual

For easy-to-understand, authoritative information about animal/non-human diseases and disorders.

NCBI Bookshelf

The full text of 900+ well-known biology and other science textbooks, reports, and other materials.  In addition, check the textbooks available on Reserve and in the Reference area of the Science Library.

Plants Database

U.S. Department of Agriculture

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

Wolfram MathWorld

Online mathematical encyclopedia published by Wolfram Research for the mathematics and education communities. Includes interactive entries with 3D graphics, full search capabilities, and extensive citations to books and journal articles.

Style and Citation Guides

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: Perm Reserve Z253 .U69 2003

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing / Joseph Gibaldi
Print Location: Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998

This style guide is used frequently in the humanities.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Print Location: Perm. Reserve (Burling & Kistle) BF76.7 .P83 2001

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Kevin Engel

Kevin Engel
Science Librarian
Tel: (641) 269- 4234

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search