Skip top navigation

SubjectsPlus: Spanish

Bookmark and Share
Find It
Skip the Find It! box
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Newspapers

Acceda Noticias (Spanish interface) Restricted Resource

2000-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from over 50 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.

Access World News Research Collection Restricted Resource

Mostly 1990s-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from nearly 4,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource

Full text of newspapers published by U.S. ethnic communities including African American, Arabic, Asian, Filipino, Finnish, Greek, Hispanic, Italian, Jewish, Native American, Pacific Islander, Russian, and more.

Online Newspapers

Provides links to thousands of world newspapers.

Databases

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource

1926-present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Clase and Periodica Restricted Resource

Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities, includes articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews, and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Please note: database interface and citations are in Spanish.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Restricted Resource

Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.

Humanities Source Restricted Resource

Offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Covers the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities and includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

A bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Provides access to future, current, and retrospective volumes of the Handbook.

LatAm-Studies Full-Text Online Restricted Resource

Database of Spanish-language journals and other academic content on Latin America from the Caribbean, Central and South America, and around the world. Topics include culture, environment, finance, history, law, and literature.

Latindex

Database of scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal with articles in Spanish and Portuguese.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource

An extensive multidisciplinary database providing full text for thousands of publications, including thousands of peer-reviewed journals.

Mobile access to Academic Search Premier

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project MUSE Restricted Resource

Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (Online) Restricted Resource

A collection of full-text newspapers that reflect Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press

Created by University of Arizona Libraries, The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Latin American Newspapers Restricted Resource

1805-1922. Searchable collection of 35 historical Latin American newspapers published in Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad, and Venezuela.

Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers: Women's Magazine Digital Collection

Collection of women's magazines acquired by the University of Connecticut from bibliophile Juan Perez de Guzman y Boza. These periodicals were published by men during the 19th century, with privileged Spanish women as their intended audience. Content includes poetry, short stories, play reviews, music sheets, needlework patterns, advice on proper ettiquette, and engraved images of Paris fashion. In Spanish.

Library Catalogs

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Center for Research Libraries

A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

Data and Statistics

MOxLAD: Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Data Base

Contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the twentieth century up to today. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic collection of available statistical information in a single on-line source.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Restricted Resource

Digital multimedia version of the premier English-language encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations Restricted Resource

This A-to-Z reference details the important people, places, and events that have shaped the relationship between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.

Literary Encyclopedia Restricted Resource

Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Online edition) Restricted Resource

Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Print edition)
Print Location: REF E 184. S75 O97 2005 Restricted Resource


Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource

Gateway to art research and access point for full-text Oxford art reference publications, including The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Searchable database also includes specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
Print Location: REF F1406 .E515 2000

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (6 volumes)
Print Location: REF F1406 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture
Print Location: REF F1210 .E63 1997

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
Print Location: REF DP233.5 .E63 1999 Restricted Resource

Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature
Print Location: REF PQ6055 .F46 2002 Restricted Resource

Larousse gran diccionario
Print Location: REF PC4640 .L393 2004 Restricted Resource

Latin American Writers
Print Location: REF PQ 7081. A1 L37 1989 Restricted Resource

Latino and Latina Writers
Print Location: REF PS153. H56 L39 2004 Restricted Resource


Primary Sources

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica

La biblioteca digital de la Biblioteca Nacional de España. Proporciona acceso libre y gratuito a miles de documentos digitalizados, entre los que se cuentan libros impresos entre los siglos XV y XIX, manuscritos, dibujos, grabados, folletos, carteles, fotografías, mapas, atlas, partituras, prensa histórica y grabaciones sonoras.

Catálogo Monumental de España

The Instituto del Patrimonio Cultural de España (IPCE) and the Instituto de Historia del Centro de Ciencias Humanas y Sociales del Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC) have collaborated to restore, digitize, and make accessible examples from the Catálogo Monumental de España.

Hispana: Directorio y recolector de recursos digitales

Offers access to close to 2.5 million digital images from over 120 Spanish archives, libraries and museums in accordance with the Open Archives Initiative.

Los Primeros Libros de las Américas: Impresos Mexicanos del siglo XVI en las Bibliotecas del Mundo

Este proyecto construirá una colección digital de los primeros libros impresos en México antes de 1601. Estas monografías son muy importantes porque representan las primeras impresiones en el Nuevo Mundo y proporcionan fuentes primarias para estudios enfocados en una variedad de sujetos académicos.

Mesolore

A bilingual cyber center and community of scholars and students that offers interactive primary documents and pedagogic resources about Mesoamerica’s past and present.

PARES: El Portal de Archivos Españoles

Ofrece un acceso libre y gratuito, no solo al investigador, sino también a cualquier ciudadano interesado en acceder a los documentos con imágenes digitalizadas de los Archivos Españoles.

Web sites

Dialnet

Web portal maintained by the Universidad de La Rioja (Spain) offering a table-of-contents alerting service and some full text of Spanish-language journal articles and dissertations. Note: Grinnell College does not have a subscription to Dialnet; full-text access is limited to the portal's small percentage of free content.

Literatura Española e Hispanoamericana en Internet

Seminario de Literatura “Menéndez Pelayo,” Fundación Universitaria Española (Madrid).

Bases de datos: CSIC

Spain's Consejo Superior de Invesigaciones Científicas (CSIC) provides online indexing and some full text access to scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, science, technology, and medicine.  Note: Grinnell College does not have a subscription to CSIC; full text access is limited to the small percentage of this site's free content.     

COMPLUDOC: Base de datos de artículos de revistas

COMPLUDOC es una base de datos que contiene las reseñas de los artículos publicados en una selección de cerca de cuatro mil revistas científicas analizadas en la Biblioteca de la Universidad Complutense en Madrid.
La cobertura de los títulos se remonta a 1940. De cada artículo se recogen los siguientes datos: Autor, Título del artículo y Título de la revista (título de la revista, año, vol. y nº.).

RACO: Revistas Catalanas con Acceso Abierto

RACO (Catalan Journals in Open Access) is a cooperative, open access repository of full-text articles from scientific, cultural and scholarly Catalan journals.  Spanish journals are also included, and RACO's website offers Catalan, Spanish and English search interfaces. 

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online

O Biblioteca Científica Electrónica en Línea es un modelo para la publicación electrónica cooperativa de revistas científicas en Internet. Especialmente desarrollado para responder a las necesidades de la comunicación científica en los países en desarrollo y particularmente de América Latina y el Caribe. 

Hemeroteca Digital: Biblioteca Nacional de España

Nace en marzo de 2007 para proporcionar acceso público a la colección digital de prensa histórica española que alberga la Biblioteca, con una colección inicial compuesta por 143 títulos de prensa y revistas.  El formato de las publicaciones digitales es PDF con OCR, lo que permite buscar cualquier tema que se desee en el texto de la publicación.

REDALYC (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal Sistema de Información Científica Redalyc)

Provides open access to the full-text of scientific materials published throughout Latin America, Spain and Portugal.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes

La sección de "Lengua" reúne una importante colección de textos de carácter lingüístico y tiene como principal objetivo dar a conocer las obras filológicas que a lo largo de la historia han contribuido a hacer del antiguo dialecto de Castilla la lengua en que actualmente se comunican más de cuatrocientos millones de hispanohablantes y el vehículo de expresión de una rica y variada tradición literaria.

LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center

Affiliated with the University of Texas at Austin, LANIC provides access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.

Quijote Interactivo

Proyecto de la Biblioteca Nacional de España.

Digital Library of the Caribbean

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative of archives, libraries, and private collections. Available collections include: newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.

Biblioteca Africana

Nace con el objetivo de difundir la producción literaria en español escrita por autores africanos. Además, el usuario de este portal encontrará, junto con los textos de creación, estudios sobre el continente africano, reflexiones críticas y teóricas sobre autores o corpus concretos, enlaces de interés, así como un material audiovisual que permite dar a conocer de manera más profunda y desde diferentes perspectivas las condiciones de creación de este corpus emergente.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World

An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages.

Forvo: The Pronunciation Guide

Forvo is an online pronouncing dictionary representing approximately 150 languages. Anyone can add words and languages, and over 20,000 volunteer editors have participated. Definitions are not provided.

Foreign Language Videos

Collection of short video clips of native speakers of various languages. Provides samples of their speech on a variety of topics, including culture and daily life.

Spanish & Portuguese (Voice of the Shuttle)

University of California, Santa Barbara

Film and Video Collections

Films on Demand. Humanities and Social Sciences Collection Restricted Resource

Streaming video for thousands of full-length videos and video clips in subject areas including anthropology, art & architecture, communications, education, English & language arts, history, music, philosophy & religion, political science, psychology, sociology, and world languages.

Style and Citation Guides

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Resources at Grinnell

Course Guides

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.