SubjectsPlus: Theatre

Bookmark and Share
All Resources

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Databases

MLA International Bibliography [contained within Literature Resource Center] Restricted Resource

1926-current. Indexes scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource

Covers a diverse range of subjects from the humanities, including archaeology, art, classics, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature and religion. Some full text is included.

Mobile access to Humanities International Complete

Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource

Covers film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes full text of more than 90 journals and indexing for more than 600 publications.

Mobile access to Film & Television Literature Index

Literature Online (LION) Restricted Resource

A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 315 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology and Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project Muse Restricted Resource

Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Research Pro

Research Pro is a tool for searching multiple databases at the same time. Rather than searching each database individually, you will be able to search up to 40 database at once and view results from a single page. For more information on Research Pro see http://www.grinnell.edu/node/50602.

eBook Collection Restricted Resource

Provides access to electronic versions of books which may be viewed or checked-out online. All available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Login via individual account for off-campus access.

AP Images (Associated Press) Restricted Resource

Provides 24/7 access to over 4.9 million primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Additionally, provides audio, video, graphics and interactives. Constantly updated, AP Images is an important resource for virtually every discipline. This database may be used for educational purposes only. Images may not be posted on the Web or otherwise made available electronically to anyone outside the Grinnell College community. These images may not be republished or distributed in newspapers, newsletters, magazines, brochures, catalogs, yearbooks, calendars, posters, or similar materials.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries

Use the library catalog, limiting your search location to Reference, to find research-starter items in specialty areas such as American theater, musical theater, staging techniques, literary criticism of drama, and bibliographies which lead you to additio

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections.

Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) Restricted Resource

Provides full text of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly entries.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance
Print Location: Reference PN2035 .O94 2003

Comprehensive and authoritative - covers Ancient Greece to current decade.

The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
Print Location: Reference PN1861 .C65 2007 (2 volumes)


International Dictionary of Theatre
Print Location: Reference PN2035 .I49 1992 (c1992-c1996)(3 volumes)

Less a dictionary, than a brief-entry encyclopedia: Vol. 1 Plays; Vol. 2 Playrights; Vol. 3 Actors, Directors & Designers.

The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
Print Location: Reference PN1584 .W67x 1994(1994-2000)

Six volumes arranged by geographical area.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Print Location: Reference PN1625 .M3 1984

An international reference work in five volumes.

Theatre Reviews

The New York Times Theater Review Archive

Look for Archive box on current Theater Reviews page. From 1996 forward, most reviews can be accessed free of charge. In addition, reviews back to 1905 of certain selected shows are available.

The New York Times Article Archive

Although to access some articles in the following archives, you must register as a member, registration is free. For reviews not freely accessible, see New York Times on microfilm available in Burling Library.

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews
Print Location: REF PN2000 .N76

Library has 1967-1994. Theater reviews reprinted from primarily New York newspapers. Print indices for 1940 - 1960 and 1961 -1972 are shelved in REF PN2000 .N76 after 1994 volume.

National Theatre Critics' Reviews
Print Location: REF PN2000 .N76

Burling Library has has 1995-1996.

New York Times on Microfilm: 1858 to present
Print Location: Burling Library Basement Microform Storage

For access to New York Times articles not freely available online.

Primary Sources

Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource

Naxos Video Library is a streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. It includes 300 full-length videos from which you can create custom clips to add to individual playlists. This international collection makes subtitles available in over 5 languages. Search by by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.

Miscellaneous

A Search for an American Voice in Theater
Print Location: Listening Room Se1114

6 DVD set. From summary: "This six-part series traces the history of stage drama and the American imagination, from pre-Revolutionary days to the late 20th century, through interviews and archival images."

Web sites

UBUWeb

UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.  All mate rials on UbuWeb are being made available for noncommercial and educational use only. All rights belong to the author(s), and UbuWeb is completely free.

CurtainUp

Subtitle: The Internet Theater Magazine of Reviews, Features, Annotated Listings. Covers New York City, London, The Berkshires, Philadelphia, Washington DC, California (mostly Los Angeles), New Jersey, and special festivals such as Humana in Louisville, Kentucky. Offers a review archive indexed by title back to 1997.

INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections

Use the Visual & Performing Arts search.

Official London Theatre Guide

Website of the Society of London Theatre. Contains current news and features, but a few archival months of interviews are included. Links provided to other British web sites.

The Costume Page

Offers over 1,000 unique links for the benefit of those who study and/or make costumes, including students and researchers, and all those interested in fashion, textile art, and costume history.

Theater History on the Web

Since 1996, this site has been maintained by retired drama professor Jack Wolcott to provide theatre practitioners and scholars easy access to useful research sites throughout the world.

Theatrecrafts.com

The aim of theatrecrafts.com is to be the best resource for practical information and advice about technical theatre matters for theatre fans everywhere.

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

RefWorks

A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing / Joseph Gibaldi
Print Location: Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998

This style guide is used frequently in the humanities.

Resources at Grinnell

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Jieun Kang

Jieun Kang
Humanities Librarian
Tel: (641) 269-3362




Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search