Skip top navigation

SubjectsPlus: Reference Sources

Bookmark and Share
Find It
Skip the Find It! box
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



General Reference

World Almanac Restricted Resource

1998-current ed. Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. A source for biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics, dates, and information about a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries--General

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Restricted Resource

Digital multimedia version of the premier English-language encyclopedia.

Oxford English Dictionary (Online) Restricted Resource

Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [K-12] Restricted Resource

Full text of the encyclopedia, including 25,000 entries covering a wide array of topics and subject areas.

Mobile access to Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [K-12]

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries--Disciplinary

AccessScience Restricted Resource

Contains reference material covering all major scientific disciplines with articles drawn from McGraw-Hill encyclopedias, dictionaries, and yearbooks, as well as videos, curriculum materials, and links to primary source documents.

Encyclopedia of Africa (online) Restricted Resource

Focuses on African history and culture with articles that cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and  trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa.

Europa World Plus Restricted Resource

Online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.

New Oxford Companion to Literature in French Restricted Resource

Written by an international team of specialists and presents an authoritative guide not only to ten centuries of literature produced in the territory now called France, but also to the rich literary output of other French-speaking countries around the world. 

Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th ed. Restricted Resource

Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, the Dictionary covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. It also contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology.

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages Restricted Resource

Covers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 CE, as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. Over 800 scholars have assembled thousands of comprehensive entries, lavishly supplemented by hundreds of illustrations and dozens of maps.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History Restricted Resource

The entries in this work examine our shared history "from the bottom up," with entries on the way automobiles shaped American lives, the westward movement of settlers and farmers in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, the transformation of work over time, the women's suffrage movement, counterculture, leisure activities, consumption patterns, voting habits, population movements, racial divides, and many more topics intended to help readers develop a richer framework for understanding the social experience of Americans throughout history.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation Restricted Resource

This work provides detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to, and methods for, interpretation of the Bible.  The Encyclopedia contains entries ranging in length from 3,000 to 5,000 words, each with a bibliography for further reading and cross-referenced to other useful points of interest within the Encyclopedia.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature Restricted Resource

Documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 (online) Restricted Resource

In nearly 700 entries, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period—from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass—and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans. 2006 edition.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present (online) Restricted Resource

Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African-American culture on the American cultural landscape. 2009 ed.

Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion (online) Restricted Resource

Covers more than three millennia of Jewish religious thought, custom, law, and practice, from traditional approaches to Reform, Conservative, Reconstructionist and post-denominational Judaism. Brief definitions and longer essays, all supplemented with bibliographies, enlighten readers about the major figures, folklore, and events in the history of Judaism throughout the world. 2011 edition.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (online) Restricted Resource

Surveys American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present.  The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works, literary movements, periods, themes, historical perspectives and social context. 2004 edition. 

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (online) Restricted Resource

Provides comprehensive coverage of the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland and substantial accounts of individual authors and detailed histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.  2006 edition. 

Encyclopedia of Human Rights (online) Restricted Resource

Focusing primarily on developments since 1945, this encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history by leading scholars and human rights experts . The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Literary Encyclopedia Restricted Resource

Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (Online edition) Restricted Resource

Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History (online) Restricted Resource

With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.

ArtCyclopedia

Searchable online encyclopedia of art, including images. Also offers essays, news items, and a directory of Art Museums Worldwide.

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource

Gateway to art research and access point for full-text Oxford art reference publications, including The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Searchable database also includes specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource

Gateway to music research and access point for full-text Oxford music reference publications, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Impressive for its depth, scope and authority; open access.

Specialized Reference Sources

Green's Dictionary of Slang Restricted Resource

An unprecedented collection of the impertinent, vile, censored, hip, witty, and fascinating slang words of the English language. Covering five centuries of innovation in all English-speaking regions of the world.  Over 100,000 words are defined; each word is authenticated by genuine and full-referenced citations of its use.

Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans, 29th ed [electronic resource] Restricted Resource

Profiles more than 7,000 scholarships, fellowships, loans, internships, work study, and other education-related financial aid available to high school students, undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, and professionals.

Uniworld Online Restricted Resource

Searchable database featuring two unique directories that provide contact information for multinational business firms, showing "who operates where" and “who owns whom.” Useful for seeking employment and internships, sourcing, selling, building a business, or tracking competitors.

Biographical Information

Biographical and Organizational Information Subject Guide

Subject Guide created and maintained by Grinnell College librarians.

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th. edition (2009)
Print Location: Perm Reserve LB2369 .G53 2009

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Chicago Manual of Style (Online) Restricted Resource

Completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets, along with fully searchable Q&A content.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: Chicago/Turabian Style

This style guide contains information on the Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.

Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: Perm Reserve Z253 .U69 2003

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

Basics of APA Style

An online tutorial for using the APA style of writing papers and citing sources.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Print Location: Perm. Reserve (Burling & Kistle) BF76.7 .P83 2001

Student's Guide to Writing College Papers (APA, Chicago, MLA Styles)
Print Location: Perm Res LB2369 .T8 2010

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

Citing Sources (from Doing Research)

Collection of links to guides on various citation styles.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

RefWorks Guide

A basic help guide for RefWorks. Includes information on adding citations as well as links to other help documents regarding Write-n-Cite and creating annotated bibliographies

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.