SubjectsPlus: Dance

Bookmark and Share
All Resources

Where did the "Off-Campus Access" links go?

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Complete full text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts and Sciences, Health and General Sciences, and Ecology and Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project Muse Restricted Resource

Access to the full-text of over 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Humanities International Complete Restricted Resource

Covers a diverse range of subjects from the humanities, including archaeology, art, classics, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature and religion. Some full text is included.

Mobile access to Humanities International Complete

MasterFILE Premier Restricted Resource

Be sure to use if researching ballet, since access to Pointe, the international periodical focusing on working dancers, is available here. This database includes popular, general-interest publications, so investigate your sources if you are limited to sch

Mobile access to MasterFILE Premier

Databases for Related Disciplines

America: History and Life with Full Text Restricted Resource

Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes some full text.   Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.

Mobile access to America: History and Life with Full Text

Anthrosource Restricted Resource

1888-. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource

Indexes the scholarly literature on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text Restricted Resource

Covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. Includes some full text. Includes articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations.

Mobile access to Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource

1952-current. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies Restricted Resource

Good to use for dance in Eastern Europe, especially Russia, Poland, former Soviet Union. Draws from some important dance publications, with links to JSTOR full-text for older articles, and abstracts for newer articles, some of which are available in our print collection.

Mobile access to American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

New York Times Historical Restricted Resource

Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 up to the last three years.  For current access, see National Newspapers, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources.

Times Digital Archive 1785-2006 (London Times) Restricted Resource

Access to the complete backfile of the Times (London) including text, images, editorials, and advertisements.

Library Catalogs

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 B.C. to the present. The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide. Contains millions of records. This is the best way to identify resources beyond our collections.

Center for Research Libraries

CRL is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.

New York Public Library

The Dance Collection is the world's largest research collection dedicated to documenting dance;also search the Digital Collections for dance images.

Reference Resources

Oxford Reference Online (ORO) Restricted Resource

Provides full text of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly entries.

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource

All time periods. Full text. Oxford Music Online expands Grove Music online and comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz and more.

Current Biography Yearbook
Print Location: Burling Ref CT100 .C8

Covers 1940 to present.  Updated by Current Biography monthly supplement.

A Core Collection in Dance
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor Z7514.D2 C685 2001


International Dictionary of Modern Dance
Print Location: REF GV1585 .B46 1998


International Encyclopedia of Dance: A Project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc.
Print Location: REF GV1585 .I586 1998

The Dance Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF GV1585 .C5 1967

This was standard source until publication of the International encyclopedia. Although it's older, it's still worth a look, especially for the wealth of black & white photographs.

Scholarly Articles

Dance Research Journal Restricted Resource

The Dance Research Journal is the official journal of the Congress on Research in Dance. DRJ carries scholarly articles, book reviews, a list of books and journals received, and reports of scholarly conferences, archives, and other projects of interest to the field.

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance (JOPERD)
Print Location: v.52 (1981) - current

Locations: Burling 4th floor East; and, Current Periodicals.  Emphasis on dance and movement education. Indexed in Education Research Complete database.

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport
Print Location: v.51 (1980)- current

Locations: Burling 4th floor East; and, Current Periodicals Article topics include physiological and mental aspects of dance, as well as teaching. Indexed in Education Research Complete database. 

Primary Sources

Dance in Video Restricted Resource

Contains hundreds of hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

UBUWeb

UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.  All mate rials on UbuWeb are being made available for noncommercial and educational use only. All rights belong to the author(s), and UbuWeb is completely free.

DRAM Restricted Resource

(Digital Anthology of Recorded Music) Streaming audio recordings of chiefly 20th and 21st century music recorded on American recording labels, including New World. Also includes complete and original liner notes and essays.

Naxos Music Library Restricted Resource

Streaming music service for the genres of Classical Music, Jazz Contemporary, World/Folk, New Age, and Chinese Music.

Naxos Video Library Restricted Resource

A streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries, including 300 full-length videos from which you can create custom clips to add to individual playlists. This international collection makes subtitles available in over 5 languages and is searchable by by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.

Web sites

Accelerated Motion: Toward a New Dance Literacy in America

A series of dynamic and interactive educational materials aimed at fostering a multidisciplinary understanding of how movement ideas are enacted in various aspects of American culture.  Produced by the Wesleyan University Press & the Academic Media Studio; supported by a grant from NITLE.

ChoreoVideo

An online project under development at Florida State University.

Congress on Research in Dance

Publisher of the Dance Research Journal and CORD Newsletter. USE the DANCE COMMUNITY tab to find additional web sites devoted to special areas of interest such as dance education, dance therapy, dance films, sacred dance, etc.

Dance Films Association

Dedicated to furthering the art of dance film. Connecting artists and organizations, fostering new works for new audiences, and sharing essential resources, DFA seeks to be a catalyst for innovation in and preservation of dance on camera.

Dance Heritage Coalition

Use ACCESS link. This website is a metasite for dance researchers, with tutorial, finding aids, and links to catalogs of major holdings of primary sources.

Library of Congress American Memory: Performing Arts & Music Collections

Select promising collections before trying your search words. See especially Variety Stage Motion Pictures.

Library of Congress Performing Arts

Search the Performing Arts Resource Guide OR for digital items also use the Performing Arts Encyclopedia search box.

OntheBoards.tv

Offers high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

Chicago Manual of Style
Print Location: Perm Reserve Z253 .U69 2003

On permanent reserve at the circulation desk.

MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing / Joseph Gibaldi
Print Location: Perm Reserve PN147 .G444 1998

This style guide is used frequently in the humanities.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

RefWorks

A Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269-3355


Office: Burling Library, main floor

Walk in or make an appointment for research help.


Email: jonesphi@grinnell.edu


Picture: Jieun Kang

Jieun Kang
Humanities Librarian
Tel: (641) 269-3362




Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search