SubjectsPlus: Energy

Bookmark and Share
Find It
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Information Strategy

Information Strategy

A basic guide for tracking down relevant, high-quality information needed for papers, lab reports, discussions, and other purposes.

Define

Define...

... a topic by gathering background/overview information; help formulate your research question.

AccessScience Restricted Resource

Contains reference material covering all major scientific disciplines with articles drawn from McGraw-Hill encyclopedias, dictionaries, and yearbooks, as well as videos, curriculum materials, and links to primary source documents.

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Reference Universe Restricted Resource

Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

Identify

Identify

... specific sources of information about the defined topic--to answer your research question

Databases

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource

1-popular Useful for coverage of newspapers and some popular magazines 1980's-present; use the Power Search.

Access World News Research Collection Restricted Resource

Mostly 1990s-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from nearly 4,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more.

GreenFILE Restricted Resource

Information on aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government, and general-interest titles about global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Mobile access to GreenFILE

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

Environmental Science & Pollution Management/Biological Sciences/MEDLINE/PAIS International Restricted Resource

3-primary; search these 4 databases at the same time; a good way to start searching for primary literature about almost any topic related to Energy.

AGRICOLA

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for worldwide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource

Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.

WorldCat Restricted Resource

Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.

Other Sources

ICPSR Restricted Resource

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to the world's largest archive of raw data sets in the social sciences. Before downloading data, you will be prompted to create a MyData account. You must be on campus to create this account. As long as you log in to your MyData account from an on-campus computer at least every 6 months, you will also be able to download data while you are off campus.

DOE Data Explorer

"Find scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines"; U.S. Department of Energy.

Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicles Data Center (AFDC)

"Online collection of information on alternative fuels and the vehicles that use them. Alternative fuels described here are those defined by the Energy Policy Act of 1992, including biodiesel, electricity, ethanol, hydrogen, natural gas, and propane"; U.S. Department of Energy.

Renewable Resource Data Center (RReDC)

"Information on several types of renewable energy resources in the United States in the form of publications, data, and maps"; U.S. Department of Energy.

Locate

Locate

... the publications identified above at Grinnell or elsewhere--get your information

Grinnell College Libraries

Books, media, Web sites, databases, art work, and more.

Mobile access to Grinnell College Libraries

Journal Finder

The full text of journals, magazines, newspapers, and books available online through the Grinnell College Libraries.

Other Library Catalogs

Evaluate

Evaluate

...the validity, objectivity, and usefulness of the information

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Kevin Engel

Kevin Engel
Science Librarian
Tel: (641) 269- 4234

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search