SubjectsPlus: Film Studies

Bookmark and Share
Find It
JavaScript disabled. View the Complete Library Hours.

Find books, music, videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search          Request materials for the collection

My Library Account

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search by title of journal, not title of article.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for a specific database.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search Digital Grinnell, our digital archives:

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.



Film Reviews

Access World News: United States Restricted Resource

Includes film reviews for the Chicago Sun-Times, 1986-present.

National Newspapers Core Restricted Resource

Includes the following newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, 1988-present; Los Angeles Times, 1985-present; New York Times, 1980-present; Wall Street Journal, 1984-present; Washington Post, 1987-present.

New York Times Historical (1851-2010) Restricted Resource

Complete online access (including advertisements) to the full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2010. For current access, see National Newspapers Expanded, LexisNexis Academic, and other sources.

Motion Picture Guide
Print Location: PN1993 .M4334

Provides reviews of many films from 1927 to 1999.

Article and Journal Databases

Film & Television Literature Index Restricted Resource

Covers film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Includes full text of more than 90 journals and indexing for more than 600 publications.

Mobile access to Film & Television Literature Index

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 Restricted Resource

Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States, including full coverage of the Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. Reflects the history of the 20th century, offering access to information about history, culture, and seminal developments across nine decades.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource

1926-present. Online database indexing scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Literature Online (LION) Restricted Resource

Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, with nearly 400 full-text literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources.

JSTOR Restricted Resource

Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.

Mobile access to JSTOR

Project MUSE Restricted Resource

Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Reference Resources

IMDb (The Internet Movie Database)

Contains basic information on over 1 million titles in TV and Film. Includes details such as plot, cast, director, producer, filming location, and links to other related websites.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film [electronic resource] Restricted Resource

Provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

Oxford Reference Restricted Resource

Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.

Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts
Print Location: PN1993.45 .H36 2006

Contains articles on a variety of genres, movements, theories, and terms related to cinema studies.

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (Oscars)

The official domain of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), including six sections covering the organization's scope: The Awards, Meet the Academy, Events and Exhibitions, Science and Technology, Education and Outreach, and Research and Preservation.

Web sites

Film & TV Resources

From the University of Washington, this site focuses on music in Film & TV.

Silent Era

Provides listings and in-depth information about 21,000 films released internationally between 1888 and 1929.

Film and Video Collections

Archive of American Television

Collection of over 600 video interviews of well-known television actors, directors, executives, designers, stylists, location managers, and other professionals with years of experience in television.

Finding Films in Grinnell College Libraries

Explore our collection of documentary and feature films by limiting catalog searches to the Material Type of MEDIA.  

Internet Archive Feature Films

Feature films from many countries whose copyright protection is believed to have expired. Available for streaming or download.

Filmakers Library Online Restricted Resource

Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. 

Global Shakespeares: Video and Performance Archive - Open Access

A collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field.

Library of Congress American Memory: Motion Pictures

Provides a list of online collections at the Library of Congress containing motion pictures. Select promising collections before trying your search.

MOVIECLIPS.com

Provides free access to over 12,000 high-image-quality film clips from over 2,000 films, legally licensed. The clips are indexed by actor, title, genre, occasion, mood, and theme with extensive browsing capabilities.

Prelinger Film Archives

Made available by the Internet Archive, this free public archive includes 2,139 ephemeral films assembled by Rick Prelinger, a filmmaker and historian.  A tag cloud of the public collection allows clear, easy access. 

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper

Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries.

RefWorks

Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Resources at Grinnell

FILM (From Connections: A Hypertext Resource for Literature)

Professor Erik Simpson's site containing class material used in various courses. This section covers tools used to analyze and critique films.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Phil Jones

Phil Jones
Humanities Librarian & Coordinator of Research Services
Tel: (641) 269- 3355

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.
Book Search

Find books, music, or videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search