A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Sheryl Bissen.

more information Restricted Resource Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online
Searchable full-text database of the complete writings of Ben Jonson in a readable, modernized form. Also includes around 90 old-spelling texts, 550 contextual documents, 80 essays, several hundred high-quality images, and 100 music scores, as well as details on more than 1,300 stage performances and a cross-linked bibliography of over 7,000 items.
more information Cambridge Grammar of the English Language
Print reference work providing a description of the grammar of general-purpose, present-day, international Standard English, offering a detailed account of the principles governing the construction of English words, phrases, clauses, and sentences.
more information Restricted Resource Cambridge Structural Database
Database of bibliographic, chemical, and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds, provided by the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, the world's repository of small molecule crystal structures.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains newspapersCedar Rapids Gazette
Provides the electronic edition-of-record for this Iowa newspaper, excluding paid advertisements. Access is through the NewsBank database.
more information Center for Research Libraries
A consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries that acquires and preserves traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
more information Restricted Resource Resource is highly recommendedChemical Abstracts
Provides in-depth coverage of the scholarly research literature published internationally in all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering.
more information ChemIDplus
Online chemical identification resource maintained by the National Library of Medicine. Provides comprehensive information about chemical substances from over 70 chemical databases.
more information Restricted Resource Chicago Manual of Style (Online)
Completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets, along with fully searchable Q&A content.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains newspapersChicago Tribune Historical (1849-1990)
Searchable online access to the full text of the Chicago Tribune (including advertisements) from 1849 through 1990. Available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. For more recent editions, see National Newspapers Expanded.
more information Restricted Resource China Academic Journals Database
1994-present. A full-text database of Chinese-language journals in the areas of literature, history, and philosophy. Articles are in Chinese and may be downloaded as PDFs. Searching can be done in English, and some abstracts are available in English as well.
more information Restricted Resource Choice Reviews Online
Provides reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education, publishing over 7,000 concise reviews every year.
more information CiNii: NII Scholarly and Academic Information Portal
Japanese academic portal for information-related fields, connecting to CiNii (citation information by NII), Webcat Plus, KAKEN, and JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online).
more information CiteSeer
A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
more information Restricted Resource Civil Rights in America
Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great Society is a fully searchable archive of Congressional documents related to all aspects of civil rights in the United States, from segregation to women’s suffrage to discrimination of all kinds. The digitized materials include publications and reports from the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, the executive branch, special investigations, and non-governmental organizations.
more information Restricted Resource Clase and Periodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities, includes articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews, and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Please note: database interface and citations are in Spanish.
more information Restricted Resource Classical Music Reference Library
Provides reference materials spanning the history of Western classical music. Includes Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (also available in print in Burling Reference), and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, providing coverage of all classical genres from Medieval times to the present. Definitions of musical terms and biographical information on the major classical composers and artists is also provided.
more information Restricted Resource Classical Scores Library
Provides classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions, representing both major and lesser-known composers and works. The database includes material from Boosey & Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series, spanning the period from the Renaissance to the present. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
more information Restricted Resource Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions
1945-1991. Translated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
more information Collembola Collection
Database including all records of Collembola from the collection of Grinnell biology professor Ken Christiansen. The records are mainly from North America but include some specimens from China, Lebanon, Mexico, and Syria.
more information Resource contains quantitative dataComext
External trade data for the European Union. This site is designed for downloading data for analysis rather than for quick access to individual statistics.
more information Resource contains quantitative dataCompustat (via Research Insight) Help Guide
Note: Access via the Research Insight client, which should be installed on all lab and classroom computers on campus.
1950-present. The definitive source for data on corporations in the United States and around the world. Updated quarterly; for up-to-the-minute information, use the Bloomberg terminal.
more information Congress.gov
1973-present. Official government source for information on bills considered by the U.S. Congress. Provides overviews of legislation, profiles of members of Congress, committee information and reports, and educational materials on the legislative process. Also offers the Congressional Record from 1995 to the present.
more information Restricted Resource Congressional Hearings Digital Collection-Historical Archive
1824-2010. Searchable database of U.S. Congressional committee hearings, both published and unpublished, with abstracts, indexing, and full-text PDFs.
more information Restricted Resource Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
Complete text of the Congressional Record from 1789 to 1999.
more information Restricted Resource Contemporary Authors
Search authors by name, nation of origin, ethnicity, and time period at the Literature Resource Center, which provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, work and topic overviews, biographies, and more.
more information Restricted Resource Contemporary Literary Criticism
Online access to a selection of Contemporary Literary Criticism volumes provided by the Literature Resource Center. Print volumes are held at Grinnell's Offsite Storage Facility and are available upon request.
more information Restricted Resource Continental Rationalists: Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz
Full-text database of the writings of René Descartes, Benedict de Spinoza, and Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz presented by Intelex Past Masters.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains quantitative dataCQ Voting and Elections Collection
A collection of research tools about voting in America, past and present, produced by CQ Press. Covers political parties, campaigns and elections, and demographic information about voters.
Search Databases
Key to Icons
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Resource is highly recommended = Highly recommended
Resource contains quantitative data = Quantitative data
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains newspapers = Newspapers
= Scholarly articles
Resource contains video = Video files