A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

more information Restricted Resource Resource contains newspapersGale Newsstand
This InfoTrac collection provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers, as well as some international titles. Also included are thousands of radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
more information Gallica: Bibliothèque Numérique
The online catalog for the Bibliothèque Nationale de France includes digitized versions of over 2 million texts, documents, and periodicals.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audioGarland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Comprehensive online resource devoted to research on world music. Features overviews of various regions with a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Images and audio files are included. A print version with CDs is available at Burling reference.
more information Restricted Resource GenderWatch
1970-present. A collection of hundreds of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.
more information Restricted Resource General OneFile
This InfoTrac collection covers general interest topics — from the humanities, education, and business to current events, science, and environmental issues — and includes more than 8,000 full-text periodicals, over 3,600 journals, and five newspaper indexes — totaling more than 13,000 titles in all. Also features more than 500 travel guides, a full collection of National Public Radio programs with searchable transcripts, and links to thousands of video files from television news programs.
more information Restricted Resource Gerritsen Collection of women's history
1543-1945. Online collection of books, pamphlets, and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights, originally created by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen in the late 19th century. The collection is noteworthy for its size, scope, and diversity, and contains substantial material relating to women's experiences in the public arena as well as all aspects of women's lives within the home.
more information Restricted Resource Global Issues in Context
Designed to support global awareness, this database brings together a wide range of authoritative content that enables students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Over 600 international newspapers, magazines, and academic journals are represented, with dedicated topic pages for 250 countries and 400 global issues such as economics, diplomacy, climate change, and more.
more information Google Scholar
Accesses the scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other websites. Includes links to resources subscribed to by Grinnell College.
more information Resource contains quantitative dataGovernment Finance Statistics
1972-present. Provides economic data from the International Monetary Fund's eLibrary database. Also available in print (most recent year is in Burling Reference; issues back to 1977 are on the second floor).
more information GQuery: The Life Sciences Search Engine
A search system created by the National Center for Biotechnology Information to search its major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
more information Restricted Resource GreenFILE
Information on aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government, and general-interest titles about global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
more information Restricted Resource GREENR
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) offers authoritative reference content for the study of sustainability and environmental issues such as global warming, food safety, and the development of green technologies. Featuring primary-source documents, news and commentary, interactive maps, and contextual multimedia, its materials can be organized by issue, organization, or country or discovered with robust search capabilities.
more information Grinnell College Musical Instrument Collection
Created and maintained by Roger Vetter, this collection features the acoustic instruments commonly used in music-making today throughout the world, as well as earlier forms of many modern instruments and those used in the non-Western world. Entries include a brief essay about the instrument's history, design, contexts of usage, and musician-instrument interface, plus illustrations and audio or video files. Descriptions of the standard ensemble combinations of instruments found in the Western and non-Western traditions are also provided.
more information Restricted Resource Grove Art Online
Online art encyclopedia, covering all aspects of visual culture. Contains articles, bibliographies, learning resources, and searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations. A version is also available in print at Burling reference.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains audioGrove Music Online
Online resource for music research, featuring the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Grove Dictionary of American Music, and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. A version is also available in print at Burling reference.
Search Databases
Key to Icons
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Resource is highly recommended = Highly recommended
Resource contains quantitative data = Quantitative data
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains newspapers = Newspapers
= Scholarly articles
Resource contains video = Video files