A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Sheryl Bissen.

more information Restricted Resource LatAm-Studies Full-Text Online
Database of Spanish-language journals and other academic content on Latin America from the Caribbean, Central and South America, and around the world. Topics include culture, environment, finance, history, law, and literature.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains newspapersLatin American Newspapers
1805-1922. Searchable collection of 35 historical Latin American newspapers published in Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad, and Venezuela.
more information Latindex
Database of scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal with articles in Spanish and Portuguese.
more information Restricted Resource Learning Express Library
Requires individual registration; online guide to test preparation in basic skills and career advancement. Includes practice tests for: academic, advanced placement, basic skills success, civil service, college preparation, cosmotology, EMS, ESL (Spanish) skills improvment courses, firefighter, GED, graduate school entrance, law enforment, military, real estate, skills improvment courses, teacher certification, technical and career college, and US citizenship.
more information Restricted Resource Left Index
1982-present. Indexes articles from the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy.
more information Restricted Resource Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Thought and Culture
Online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbian, gay, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains newspapersLexisNexis Academic
Provides access to a wide range of full-text content for news, business, legal, and reference information. Particularly strong in legislative, government, corporate, financial, and demographic information, as well as market research and industry reports.
more information Restricted Resource LGBT Thought and Culture
Online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbian, gay, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
more information Library Literature
1933-1993. Print reference work that covers library & information science including records from library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews.
more information Restricted Resource Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Index of more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
more information Restricted Resource Resource is highly recommendedLinguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts/Sociological Abstracts/PsycINFO/PsycBOOKS
2-primary. Search these four databases as a good starting point for finding primary literature in linguistics and related areas.
more information Restricted Resource Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.
more information Restricted Resource Literary Encyclopedia
Online encyclopedia that addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements, and historical events around the world, with interactive features that enable the user to place literature within its historical context.
more information Restricted Resource Literature Online (LION)
Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, with nearly 400 full-text literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources.
more information Restricted Resource Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Includes the MLA Bibliography which provides some links to full-text sources.
more information Restricted Resource Lynda.com
Brief online courses on a variety of topics, mostly related to technology. The first time you use Lynda.com, you must register using these procedures.
Search Databases
Key to Icons
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Resource is highly recommended = Highly recommended
Resource contains quantitative data = Quantitative data
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains newspapers = Newspapers
= Scholarly articles
Resource contains video = Video files