A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Sheryl Bissen.

more information Restricted Resource OAIster
Contains digital resources from over 1,100 open-archive collections; includes a wide array of materials: digitized books & articles, audio files, data sets, images, movies, research papers, technical reports, theses & dissertations, and more.
more information Online Books Page
Index of over one million full-text books available on the Internet. Also provides pointers to significant directories and archives of online texts and out-of-copyright materials.
more information Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audioOpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
Searchable directory of academic open-access repositories. Each repository listed has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded in the database. Repositories can be searched by name or content or listed alphabetically by region.
more information Organic Syntheses
Online procedural manual for the synthesis of organic compounds. Provides detailed descriptions of verified practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds, as well as illustrations of important synthetic methods with general utility.
more information Restricted Resource Oxford Art Online
Gateway to art research and access point for full-text Oxford art reference publications, including The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Searchable database also includes specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
more information Restricted Resource Oxford Classical Dictionary (online)
Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, the Dictionary covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. It also contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology.
more information Restricted Resource Oxford Dictionaries - French (Online)
A high quality French-English/English-French online dictionary with audio pronunciations and other interactive features.
more information Restricted Resource Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History
This work examines our shared history "from the bottom up," with entries on numerous topics, including the way automobiles shaped American lives, the westward movement of settlers and farmers in the 18th and 19th centuries, the transformation of work over time, the women's suffrage movement, counterculture, leisure activities, consumption patterns, voting habits, population movements, racial divides, and many more. This resource is intended to help readers develop a richer framework for understanding the social experience of Americans throughout history.
more information Restricted Resource Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).
more information Restricted Resource Oxford Music Online
Gateway to music research and access point for full-text Oxford music reference publications, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
more information Restricted Resource Resource is highly recommendedOxford Reference Online
Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.
Search Databases
Key to Icons
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Resource is highly recommended = Highly recommended
Resource contains quantitative data = Quantitative data
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains newspapers = Newspapers
= Scholarly articles
Resource contains video = Video files