Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Tony Lewis.
1972-present. Annual summary and analysis of research in the field of anthropology. Good source for an overview of the current state of research on a given topic at a given point in time.
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor Oversize GN11 .E63 2006 (3 vols.)
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor CC100 .E54 2001 (3 vols.)
Print Location: Burling 2nd Floor GN50.3 .H57 1997 (2 vols.)
1888-present. Full-text online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
Indexes journal articles and edited works in archaeology, anthropology, and linguistics; also covers sociology, history, ethnohistory, demography, geography, international development, and human genetics.
2001-present. Provides indexing and abstracts of books, articles, and conference papers from several hundred journals, covering cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
1957-present. Indexes journal articles in physical anthropology, cultural anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
A cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. Organized by archaeological tradition and by subject. From Human Relations Area Files.
A cross-cultural database that provides ethnographic studies of diverse cultures within the United States and around the world. From Human Relations Area Files.
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.
Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
Constantly updated, AP Images provides access to millions of primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Also provides audio, video, graphics, and interactives. This database may be used for educational purposes only.
Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1,800 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.
1952-present. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Print Location: Burling 4th Floor East Wall
1961-1972. A quarterly review of ethnological, social, and linguistic studies appearing in current periodicals.
From the American Anthropological Association. Scroll down to "Libraries and Databases."
From the Folklife Center of the Library of Congress.
An international repository for archaeological records, although coverage is strongest for the United States. Includes older digitized records, as well as reports of contemporary archaeological investigations. Produced by Digital Antiquity.
Contains a catalog of archaeological sites in the United Kingdom, an archive of archaeological data sets, and other information. Most of the data is about the United Kingdom, although the archive also includes data from excavations performed by UK archaeologists overseas.
Archaeological Records of Europe—Networked Access. Search for archaeological data from sites in Iceland, Norway, the United Kingdom, Denmark, Poland, and Romania.
Building a national preserve of documentary films about American folk or roots culture. Produced by independent filmmakers, these hard-to-find films give voice to the arts and experience of diverse American groups.
Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files
= Scholarly articles
= Quantitative data
= Highly recommended
Chat will open in a new window.
Chat will open in a new window.
Or, request a Library Lab. Megan will get in touch with you to set up an appointment to meet.