Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Tony Lewis.
Print Location: 3rd Floor PQ241 .A3 1962
This five volume history covers the history of 17th century France and the writers of that time.
Print Location: 3rd Floor PQ526 .L3
The pre-classical period, 1610-1634.
The period of Corneille, 1635-1651.
The period of Molière, 1652-1672.
The period of Racine, 1673-1700.
Print Location: PQ1851 .M57 2002
This encycopedia relies on the verifiable facts surrounding Moliere. Many of the entries list works for further reading. A chronology outlines the chief events of Molier's life and his contributions to the stage. The volume concludes with an bibliography of resources for further study.
Print Location: 3rd Floor PQ243 .P36
This semi-annual publication presents articles on the literature and history of the French Seventeenth Century. Some issues are online. http://www.narr.de/periodicals/papers_on_french.html
Print Location: 3rd Floor PQ241 .B47 1990
A guide to 17th Century French literature
Print Location: 3rd Floor PQ261 .D37x 1986
A guide to 17th and 18th Century literature and civilization.
Print Location: 1st Floor Z2171 .K55
A comprehensive annual bibliography of Western-language materials about French language and literature.
Collection of primary source texts from 17th-century France including Diderot's Encyclopédie. Founded in 1982 as a collaboration between the French government and the University of Chicago, the ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources.
Historical Abstracts covers world history after 1450, except for the U.S. and Canada. You will find articles from over 2,000 journals, books, collections, and dissertations in many languages including French and English.
This is an annual collection of essays first published in 1994 and still in publication. Each volume is on a theme, Volume 1 was Word and Image and the most recent volume has the theme of Spectacle. Articles are in French or English.
Find biographical and critical information from a variety of literary dictionaries, encyclopedia, other reference works, or journals on writers for most periods of French literature. In the advanced search boxes, Choose Person-by-or-about from the drop down options, Name-of-Work, or keyword.
Print Location: Ref. AE25 .E53 1751a
Often referred to as the Diderot Encyclopedia, this facsimile of the original encyclopedia was a defining publication of the French Enlightenment. The electronic version is available through the ARTFL database.
Print Location: Burling Reference PQ41 .N49 1995
This one volume compendium provides brief entries on authors and works from all time periods of French literature as well as information on topics of literary and historical importance.
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files
= Scholarly articles
= Quantitative data
= Highly recommended
Chat will open in a new window.
Chat will open in a new window.
Or, request a Library Lab. Rebecca will get in touch with you to set up an appointment to meet.
- French literature -- 18th century -- History and criticism
- Women and literature -- History -- 18th century
- Women and literature -- France -- History -- 17th century
- French fiction -- 17th century -- History and criticism
- French fiction -- Women authors -- History and criticism
- French drama -- 17th century -- History and criticism
Searching for books on a specific author:
- Sade, marquis de, 1740-1814
- La Fayette, Madame de (Marie-Madeleine Pioche de La Vergne), 1634-1693 -- Criticism and interpretation