Find It

I'm looking for...

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Sheryl Bissen.


Background Information

Annual Review of Political Science Restricted Resource
1998-present. Annual summary and analysis of research in the field of political science. Good source for an overview of the current state of research on a given topic at a given point in time.
Europa World Plus Restricted Resource Resource is highly recommended
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
Political Handbook of the World
Print Location: Burling 2nd Floor JF37 .P61
Detailed overview of the politics and governments of every country in the world. Current edition in reference; older editions back to 1977 on the second floor.
Guide to U.S. Elections
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor Oversize JK1967 .G85x 2005

Reference Universe Restricted Resource
Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.

Newspaper and Magazine Articles

New York Times and Index Resource contains newspapers
The New York Times is one of the leading news providers in the U.S. This link goes to a page with options for accessing the New York Times in the Grinnell College Libraries.
Newspapers and Magazines
See the subject guide on finding newspaper and magazine articles for more sources.

Scholarly Articles

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.
PAIS International Restricted Resource
1915-present. Index of scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports, and more, covering global public policy and social issues, from the Public Affairs Information Service.
HeinOnline Academic Core Collections Restricted Resource
A large collection of full-text legal and government publications both current and historical, covering United States Federal and State law, foreign and international law, legal classics, law journals, treaties, case law, and much more.
SSRN eLibrary
Database of nearly 450,000 working papers from the Social Sciences Research Network. Primarily covering economics and law, with some political science and other subjects. Being working papers, this research may not necessarily have been peer reviewed.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Resource is highly recommended
Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
Project MUSE Restricted Resource
Access to the full text of approximately 350 scholarly electronic journals in the arts & humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
LatAm-Studies Full-Text Online Restricted Resource
Database of Spanish-language journals and other academic content on Latin America from the Caribbean, Central and South America, and around the world. Topics include culture, environment, finance, history, law, and literature.

Data and Statistics

iPoll Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Restricted Resource
Searchable database of U.S. public opinion data from academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, such as Gallup, Pew, network TV news bureaus, and more. In many cases, you can download the full data set from the survey through RoperExpress. View the Terms of Use for this resource.
New York Times/CBS News Poll Archive Resource contains quantitative data
Searchable archive of New York Times/CBS News Polls since 1976. Raw data from these polls is available through ICPSR.
Policy Agendas Project Resource contains quantitative data
1940s-present. Coded datasets of policy changes based on Congressional hearings, Congressional roll call votes, executive orders, State of the Union addresses, and more.
Voting in American Elections
Print Location: Burling Ref JK1965 .B86 2010
1788-2008. Extensive data on American presidential elections, including turnout data for all presidential elections. Also includes some data on gubernatorial and Congressional elections.

Government Information

ProQuest Congressional Restricted Resource
1789-present. Provides access to the CIS Index, a comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications, plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents, including the full text of the Congressional Record. Also contains an extensive collection of Executive Branch documents.
ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection - Historical Archive Restricted Resource
1824-2010. Searchable database of U.S. Congressional committee hearings, both published and unpublished, with abstracts, indexing, and full-text PDFs.
Congress.gov
1973-present. Official government source for information on bills considered by the U.S. Congress. Provides overviews of legislation, profiles of members of Congress, committee information and reports, and educational materials on the legislative process. Also offers the Congressional Record from 1995 to the present.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted Resource
1817-1994. Online access to the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, with numerous images and statistical tables. Print version, approximately 13,800 bound volumes, available upon request.
U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) via FirstSearch Restricted Resource
1976-present. Indexes all types of U.S. government documents, such as reports, hearings, debates, and records, from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.

Other Databases

CQ Voting and Elections Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains quantitative data
A collection of research tools about voting in America, past and present, produced by CQ Press. Covers political parties, campaigns and elections, and demographic information about voters.
ProQuest Executive Branch Documents, 1789-1939 Restricted Resource
Full-text database containing all U.S. Executive Branch documents listed in the "Checklist of Public Documents, 1789-1909" (and not printed in the U.S. Serial Set), as well as thousands of additional documents from 1910-1939. Indexed by subjects, names, agency report numbers, and SuDocs Classification.
United Nations Voting Records
View the full text of resolutions brought before the United Nations General Assembly and Security Council and see how specific countries voted on those resolutions. Includes every resolution from the beginning of the United Nations to the present. Click on "New Keyword Search" under "Voting Records."
GenderWatch Restricted Resource
1970-present. A collection of hundreds of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.
American Presidency Project
Searchable database of presidential documents, from State of the Union addresses to convention speeches executive orders, from George Washington to the present.
OpenSecrets.org Resource contains quantitative data
Data on campaign finance, lobbying expenditures, 527 groups, and the personal finances of politicians. A project of the Center for Responsive Politics.
Federal Election Commission Campaign Finance Data
Searchable database with campaign finance information for candidates in U.S. federal elections from 1999 to the present.
Congressional Research Service Reports
1972-present. Thousands of reports by the Congressional Research Service, a government agency that provides think tank-style reports on a variety of subjects to the members of Congress. Via the University of North Texas Digital Library.

Agriculture and Food

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives Restricted Resource
1941-1996. Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American, and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.
Apartheid: Global Perspectives Restricted Resource
1946-1996. Translated news broadcasts and publications of the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and around the world.
Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions Restricted Resource
1945-1991. Translated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Restricted Resource
1941-1996. As the United States' principal historical record of political open-source intelligence for more than half a century, the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report provides insights into six decades of turbulent world history. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Digitized from original paper copy and high-quality microfilm, this fully searchable collection features full-text transcripts from Africa, Asia and the Pacific, China, Eastern and Western Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, and the Soviet Union. Includes the FBIS Daily Report Annexes and five topic-based sub-collections.
Immigrations, Migrations, and Refugees: Global Perspectives Restricted Resource
1941-1996. Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports Restricted Resource
1957-1995. As a unit of the Central Intelligence Agency, the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) prepared translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from around the world, particularly communist and developing countries. These reports, covering military, socioeconomic, political, environmental, scientific, and technical issues and events, were used by U.S. government officials, various agencies, and the research and industrial communities. Now in a fully seachable digital edition, a vast body of foreign materials is available in English to researchers studying geopolitics, public policy, the Cold War, and more.
Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives Restricted Resource
1958-1994. Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East during the Cold War, covering cultural, economic, and political developments within this volatile region.

Style and Citation Guides

Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper
Collection of links to guides for citation styles, prepared by the Duke University Libraries via Fisher College.
RefWorks
Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.

Resources at Grinnell

Course Guides

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Resource is highly recommended = Highly recommended
Resource contains newspapers = Newspapers
= Scholarly articles
Resource contains quantitative data = Quantitative data

Subject Specialist
Picture: Julia Bauder

Julia Bauder
Social Studies and Data Services Librarian
Tel: (641) 269- 4431

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.