Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Tony Lewis.
1998-present. Annual summary and analysis of research in the field of political science. Good source for an overview of the current state of research on a given topic at a given point in time.
Print Location: JK 1012 .A44
Current edition on 2-hour reserve in Burling; older editions back to 1972 on the second floor.
Print Location: JK 1 .C66
Current edition in Burling reference; previous editions back to 1960 on the second floor. Each edition contains a detailed summary of one year's activity in Congress, including narrative histories of important bills and complete data on roll call votes.
Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.
1915-present. Index of scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports, and more, covering global public policy and social issues, from the Public Affairs Information Service.
A large collection of full-text legal and government publications both current and historical, covering United States Federal and State law, foreign and international law, legal classics, law journals, treaties, case law, and much more.
Indexes 2,000 journals published worldwide covering the history of the United States and Canada. Includes some full text. Coverage includes articles, book and media reviews, and abstracts of dissertations.
Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
Print Location: Burling Ref JK1967 .A8
Voting statistics for national and statewide elections, 1956 to the present. Some of this information is also contained in the online CQ Voting and Elections Collection.
Time-series data on voting behavior and political opinions back to 1948.
A collection of research tools about voting in America, past and present, produced by CQ Press. Covers political parties, campaigns and elections, and demographic information about voters.
Detailed, individual-level data on which people donated money to which candidates.
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains and provides access to the world's largest archive of raw data sets in the social sciences. Before downloading data, you will be prompted to create a MyData account. You must be on campus to create this account. As long as you log in to your MyData account from an on-campus computer at least every 6 months, you will also be able to download data while you are off campus.
Download bulk data on campaign finance, lobbying expenditures, 527 groups, and the personal finances of politicians. A project of the Center for Responsive Politics.
1940s-present. Coded datasets of policy changes based on Congressional hearings, Congressional roll call votes, executive orders, State of the Union addresses, and more.
Print Location: Burling Ref JK1965 .B86 2010
1788-2008. Extensive data on American presidential elections, including turnout data for all presidential elections. Also includes some data on gubernatorial and Congressional elections.
1789-present. Provides access to the CIS Index, a comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications, plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents, including the full text of the Congressional Record. Also contains an extensive collection of Executive Branch documents.
Fully searchable content management system and repository for official Federal Government publications, providing free online access to the documents of all three branches of the U.S. government.
1993-present. Contains all official statements of the president, including speeches, executive orders, letters to Congress, etc. Through FDSys.
Print Location: Burling 2nd Floor J 82
1929-1933 and 1945-1996. Public messages, speeches and statements of the presidents. For messages, speeches and statements 1996-present, see the Compilation of Presidential Documents.
Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.
A more powerful alternative to Refworks. Mendeley is a free program that works best as a desktop application, although there is a Web interface.
A Firefox plugin that is another option for managing bibliographies.
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files
= Scholarly articles
= Quantitative data
= Highly recommended
Chat will open in a new window.
Chat will open in a new window.
Or, request a Library Lab. Megan will get in touch with you to set up an appointment to meet.