Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Tony Lewis.
... a commonsense approach to help you find relevant, quality information--for writing a paper, preparing a presentation, working on a lab experiment, answering a question, etc.
... questions to ask; how appropriate and valuable is the information? A worksheet to go along with the questions.
Seek information, not affirmation
Source + Motivation = Value
Dig deeper–do not rely on just one source
Primary and Secondary Literature:
Secondary literature looks like this or this ...
Primary literature looks like this, this, or this ... (note the format--Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, References)
Register for any device, any time access to the –
New York Times
Chronicle of Higher Education
Chronicle.com (log in—upper right)
www.pressreader.com/catalog (sign in upper right; works best with Chrome)
Questions? See Kevin (firstname.lastname@example.org)
... what is the question(s) you are trying to answer? These secondary sources can help you --
*answer fact questions
*discover search terms, phrases, and names
*focus a research question
Remember, true research is rarely a straight path.
Blog -- topic ideas, and Science news and analysis ...
Contains reference material covering all major scientific disciplines with articles drawn from McGraw-Hill encyclopedias, dictionaries, and yearbooks, as well as videos, curriculum materials, and links to primary source documents.
An easy-to-use online reference tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as numerous images, audio files, and video clips.
Print Location: Science Library RC455.2.C4 D536 2013
Current edition of the standard handbook of the American Psychiatric Association.
MEDLINEplus -- United States National Library of Medicine; a guide to thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications, and herbs and supplements.
In-depth information about marketed drugs; National Library of Medicine.
Print Location: print/online
Read summaries of research in --
Advances in Child Development and Behavior
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology (online)
Advances in Experimental Social Psychology (print)
Advances in the Study of Behavior
Search the Library Catalog to find good, readable overviews of topics in books and other publications; look for clues in this information to help you find primary literature.
Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.
... these sources can help you find evidence to answer your question or validate/invalidate an answer.
Use the "Advanced Search"; can also be used as a tool to focus a broad search (try out search terms, find a possibility, search that possibility in a disciplinary database, and then use the indexing to more precisely find additional papers).
This database offers a comprehensive, up-to-date, and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Includes nearly 14,000 indexed periodicals and journals covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other many subjects in a variety of languages. Full-text articles are available in either PDF or HTML formats.
Includes articles, book chapters, and images that have been used and cited by multiple Grinnell students and have been highly cited in the scientific literature.
Search these five databases at the same time; a good way to start searching for primary literature for almost any topic in Psychology.
Search the database by itself.
Subjects covered include the nature, use, and teaching of language as well as linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and related topics.
PsycBOOKS includes the full text of over 1700 books (including newly-published APA books and the complete APA Handbooks in Psychology series), approximately 120 archival resources, and the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycARTICLES provides full text articles from numerous journals (principally published by the APA) covering general and specialized topics in Psychology and related disciplines.
1966-present. Indexes education-related literature, including library science. Covers journal articles, dissertations, government documents, conference proceedings, and much more.
Bibliographic database that indexes literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of traumatic events, covering prevention, assessment, and treatment, as well as professional ethics and public policy.
Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.
... get that evidence--download it, find it on the shelf, etc.
Includes links to resources available through Grinnell College (from computers on campus).
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files
= Scholarly articles
= Quantitative data
= Highly recommended
Chat will open in a new window.
Chat will open in a new window.
Or, request a Library Lab. Kevin will get in touch with you to set up an appointment to meet.