Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Tony Lewis.
1975-present. Annual summary and analysis of research in the field of sociology. Good source for an overview of the current state of research on a given topic at a given point in time.
Print Location: Burling 2nd Floor HM425 .B53 2007 (10 volumes)
Print Location: Burling 1st Floor Oversize HM425 .E47 2005 (2 volumes)
Print Location: Burling 2nd Floor HM425 .J64x 2000
Also available online.
Print Location: Burling Ref HM425 .C36 2006
The New York Times is one of the leading news providers in the U.S. This link goes to a page with options for accessing the New York Times in the Grinnell College Libraries.
Digital collection of leading women's-interest magazines, including Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Better Homes and Gardens, and others, with content from 1886 up to 2005. Issues are scanned in color from cover to cover, including advertisements, and are fully searchable.
See the subject guide on finding newspaper and magazine articles for more sources.
1952-present. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Indexes and abstracts articles in the fields of social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Subject areas cover abuse & neglect, addiction, crisis intervention, gerontology, poverty & homelessness, and more.
1982-present. Indexes articles from the literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy.
Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
Constantly updated, AP Images provides access to millions of primary source photos from 1825 to the present. Also provides audio, video, graphics, and interactives. This database may be used for educational purposes only.
Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1,800 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.
Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, from early childhood to higher education in all educational specialties. Includes indexing and abstracts, as well as some full text.
1915-present. Index of scholarly and non-scholarly articles, books, government documents, reports, and more, covering global public policy and social issues, from the Public Affairs Information Service.
Building a national preserve of documentary films about American folk or roots culture. Produced by independent filmmakers, these hard-to-find films give voice to the arts and experience of diverse American groups.
1970-present. A collection of hundreds of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.
Database of Spanish-language journals and other academic content on Latin America from the Caribbean, Central and South America, and around the world. Topics include culture, environment, finance, history, law, and literature.
Print Location: Burling Z7161 .C8
An international bibliography that deals in alternative issues with bibliographies and trend reports on various aspects of theoretical and applied sociology, such as rural sociology and the sociology of marriage. Issues back to 1952 are available in print; issues from 1999-present are available online.
Print Location: Burling 4th Floor East Wall
1961-1972. A quarterly review of ethnological, social, and linguistic studies appearing in current periodicals.
Provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information, as well as economic data, crime data, environmental data, and more. Users can create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and other social changes. Most data is for the U.S., but some data on Canada and European countries is also available.
Includes both U.S. and international statistics.
Statistics on 95 demographic variables, including education, health, and employment. Statistics are available at the state level for the United States, at the country level for more than 220 countries; statistics are also available for the world as a whole and for 28 world regions and sub-regions. Statistics can be displayed as rankings, bar graphs, or maps.
AMERICAN FACTFINDER HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED. PLEASE USE DATA.CENSUS.GOV.
Statistics and aggregate data from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Puerto Rico Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Economic Census, and Annual Economic Surveys.
For more sources of statistical information, see the subject guide for data and statistics.
1789-present. Provides access to the CIS Index, a comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications, plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents, including the full text of the Congressional Record. Also contains an extensive collection of Executive Branch documents.
1976-present. Indexes all types of U.S. government documents, such as reports, hearings, debates, and records, from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.
1937-1967. Online archive of primary source material from the Mass Observation project, a pioneering social-research organization in Britain in the mid-20th century. The collection combines scientific observation of human behavior with diaries and personal writings from a panel of volunteers, and includes both published and manuscript materials.
Print Location: Reserve HM569 .A43x 2014
(Ask at circulation desk in Burling or Science Library)
Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files
= Scholarly articles
= Quantitative data
= Highly recommended
Chat will open in a new window.
Chat will open in a new window.
Or, request a Library Lab. Julia will get in touch with you to set up an appointment to meet.