Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Tony Lewis.
1970-present. A collection of hundreds of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to the impact of gender across a broad range of subject areas.
A bibliography on Latin America edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Provides access to future, current, and retrospective volumes of the Handbook.
Database of Spanish-language journals and other academic content on Latin America from the Caribbean, Central and South America, and around the world. Topics include culture, environment, finance, history, law, and literature.
Index of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public policy, and public administration.
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities, includes articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews, and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Please note: database interface and citations are in Spanish.
Database of scientific journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal with articles in Spanish and Portuguese.
Digital repository of complete full-text backfiles of several hundred scholarly journals in the Arts & Sciences, Health & General Sciences, and Ecology & Botany, except for the most recent two to five years.
1969-present. Provides citations for journals, books, dissertations, and working papers on economics from hundreds of sources. NOTE: Many of the articles in EconLit are working papers from the RePEc database. "Search for full text" will NOT take you to the full text of these working papers. Look for the links in the EconLit records to the full text of the working papers.
Covers psychology and related disciplines including sociology, education, and sport. Worldwide coverage includes references to over 1,800 journals, dissertations, and book chapters.
1952-present. Includes citations and abstracts for articles in journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
2000-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from over 50 Spanish-language newspapers and news services based mostly in the United States, Mexico, and some countries in Central and South America.
1978-present. Online resource that provides full-text information from nearly 4,000 United States and international newspapers, news services, magazines, blogs, transcripts, and more. To get to the international newspapers, use the "World" link under Shortcuts in the left sidebar.
Search online versions of major Spanish- and English-language newspapers from countries throughout Latin America. Or: search over 100 major sources with LANIC's Latin American News Custom Search Engine.
Provides links to thousands of newspapers worldwide.
A collection of full-text newspapers that reflect Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
1805-1922. Searchable collection of 35 historical Latin American newspapers published in Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad, and Venezuela.
Before 1000 BCE to the present. Catalog of millions of books, web resources, and other materials held in libraries worldwide, maintained by the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). The best way to identify resources beyond Grinnell College's collections.
Provided by the State Data Center of Iowa and the Iowa Office of Latino Affairs.
The Migration Information Source provides fresh thought, authoritative data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends. A unique, online resource, the Source offers useful tools, vital data, and essential facts on the movement of people worldwide.
Contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the twentieth century up to today. Its purpose is to provide economic and social historians worldwide with a systematic collection of available statistical information in a single on-line source.
This A-to-Z reference details the important people, places, and events that have shaped the relationship between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.
Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
Fully integrated and cross-searchable collection of over 135 academic dictionaries providing short-entry content, as well as many of Oxford’s encyclopedias and companions and other scholarly works.
Customized search engine for the library's print and online reference works, with some full text.
Print Location: 1st Flr Oversize E184.S75 E587 2005
Print Location: REF F1406 .E53 2008
Print Location: 2nd Flr F1406 .E515 2000
Print Location: 1st Flr Oversize F1210 .E63 1997
This research guide focuses on electronic resources to help you find the law in Latin America and the Caribbean. Approaching Latin American legal research is similar to approaching legal research of any country, including the United States....
A large collection of full-text legal and government publications both current and historical, covering United States Federal and State law, foreign and international law, legal classics, law journals, treaties, case law, and much more.
Available as a downloadable .pdf, this guide covers all aspects of Mexican legal research. Its purpose is to provide a contextualized overview of how to conduct research on Mexican law, referencing applicable Spanish language resources and highlighting any available sources in English.
Web portal maintained by the Universidad de La Rioja (Spain) offering a table-of-contents alerting service and some full text of Spanish-language journal articles and dissertations. Note: Grinnell College does not have a subscription to Dialnet; full-text access is limited to the portal's small percentage of free content.
Includes resources for several Latin American countries, as well as links to regional and international information centers.
Provides open access to the full text of scientific materials from over 1,000 journals published throughout Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.
The Latin American Migration Project (LAMP) is a multidisciplinary research effort between investigators in various countries of Latin America and the United States. LAMP is currently based at Princeton University and the University of Guadalajara.
The Mexican Migration Project (MMP) was created in 1982 by an interdisciplinary team of researchers at the University of Guadalajara (Mexico) and Princeton University (US) to further our understanding of the complex process of Mexican migration to the United States.
"El Observatorio Permanente de la Inmigración es un órgano colegiado que tiene atribuidas, entre otras, las funciones de recogida de datos, análisis, estudio y difusión de la información relacionada con los movimientos migratorios en España,..."
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation.
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition, second printing.
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
Online research management, writing, and collaboration tool designed to help researchers at all levels easily gather, organize, store, and share all types of information and to instantly generate citations and bibliographies.
International Migration Review, Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, Citizenship Studies, Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies, Ethnic and Racial Studies, Journal of International Migration and Integration