Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.
When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Rebecca Ciota or Tony Lewis.
Full-text database containing all U.S. Executive Branch documents listed in the "Checklist of Public Documents, 1789-1909" (and not printed in the U.S. Serial Set), as well as thousands of additional documents from 1910-1939. Indexed by subjects, names, agency report numbers, and SuDocs Classification.
Fully searchable content management system and repository for official Federal Government publications, providing free online access to the documents of all three branches of the U.S. government.
1976-present. Indexes all types of U.S. government documents, such as reports, hearings, debates, and records, from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.
Print Location: 4th floor West (Gov Docs) along the west wall
Use these to find government publications that are too old to be included in the GPO online catalog.
Cross-search several government databases, including the Library of Congress catalog, FDSys, PubMed, ERIC, and more.
Search WorldCat to identify government documents, including online-only documents.
1789-present. Provides access to the CIS Index, a comprehensive index/abstract to Congressional publications, plus the full text of some hearings, reports, and other Congressional documents, including the full text of the Congressional Record. Also contains an extensive collection of Executive Branch documents.
1973-present. Official government source for information on bills considered by the U.S. Congress. Provides overviews of legislation, profiles of members of Congress, committee information and reports, and educational materials on the legislative process. Also offers the Congressional Record from 1995 to the present.
1817-1994. Online access to the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, with numerous images and statistical tables. Print version, approximately 13,800 bound volumes, available upon request.
1789-1838. Full-text database of U.S. Congressional materials.
Free access to over 600,000 opinions from the U.S. Supreme Court and other federal courts.
= Restricted resource
= Video files
= Audio files
= Scholarly articles
= Quantitative data
= Highly recommended
Chat will open in a new window.
Chat will open in a new window.
Or, request a Library Lab. Megan will get in touch with you to set up an appointment to meet.
If the full text is not linked from the database, copy down the title and the SuDoc number (a special kind of call number used for government documents) and search for the title in the library catalog. Be aware, though, that we may still have a physical copy of the item even if it doesn't appear in the library catalog! Many older government documents were never entered into Grinnell's library catalog. Using the SuDoc number you copied down, look for the item on Burling 4th, in the microforms room, and/or in the map cases on the first floor of Burling.
If you still can't find the document, you can ask a librarian for help searching, or you can place an interlibrary loan request.