Find It

More 3Search options

Find books, music, and videos in the Grinnell College Libraries.


Advanced Search

Search for an item in libraries near you:
Visit WorldCat.org

Search the Center for Research Libraries for newspapers, journals, documents, and archives, and request them via ILL. See Searching the Center for Research Libraries for more information.

Search for a journal by title or ISSN.

To search for individual articles, click on the "Subject Guides" tab.

Search for databases by name.

Or, view the full Databases A-Z list.

Select a subject to begin your research:

JavaScript disabled. View the Subject Guides page.

Search our Special Collections and College Archives finding aids:

Search examples of student, faculty and staff scholarship and digital versions of items from the College's manuscript and book collections.

Find books and videos on reserve.

All Resources

Access, use, and reproduction of the electronic resources made available through the Grinnell College Libraries are governed by license agreements with publishers which may impose greater restrictions on use than does copyright law. The user is responsible for observing these agreements as well as the copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, United States Code), including the fair use guidelines that protect scholarship and research.

When accessing subscription databases from off-campus, you will be asked to sign in using your campus username and password. If you have any problems accessing library resources from off campus, please contact Becky Yoose, Julia Bauder, or Sheryl Bissen.



Background Information

History of Poweshiek County

L. F. Parker's history of the county from its earliest settlement to the beginning of the 20th century.

      Google Book Search

J.B. Grinnell's autobiography Men and Events of Forty Years

J. B. Grinnell's own story of his life and accomplishments

     Google Book Search

Biographical Information

Grinnell – Chapin Genealogical Material

This collection consists of Grinnell and Chapin family genealogical data 1480 to about 1920. Except for Chapin land deeds papers in the collection were written late 1890s to 1926.

Primary Sources

Dunham/Grinnell photograph collection, 1893 - 1894

This collection of photographs was donated by Marian Dunham, who received it from her uncle, Josiah Bushnell Grinnell. Grinnell graduated from the college in 1894, and the collection of photographs includes those of members of the 1894 class along with written reminiscences.

Henry G. Little Family Scrapbooks 1874-1900

Three record books from the henry G. Little family preserve information about the family of Grinnell Mayor Henry G. Little in the last decades of the nineteenth century.

Horace A. Wolcott Papers

The collection consists of photocopies of letters and business papers of Horace Alanson Wolcott. Wolcott lived briefly in Grinnell about 1856 then moved to Boulder probably in the early or mid 1860s, and corresponded with people in Grinnell. Papers selected for photocopying are those relating to his Grinnell connections.

I. M. Harrington Diary

I. M. Harrington of Grinnell, Iowa, kept this diary of his work in the West and Northwest selling buggies and carriages for the Spaulding Manufacturing Company, June 1892 – September 1893.

Entre Nous Records, 1908-1990

A group of women who had belonged to literary societies at Grinnell College organized Entre Nous in 1908. Originally, papers presented at meetings focused on a central theme, such as Italian cities, Iowa history, or modern sociological problems.

Fortnightly Club Records, 1904-

The club was founded in 1904, partly at the instigation of Professor Edward Steiner, for the purpose of ‘literary and social improvement”. Active membership is about 25 men from the college faculty and from the town businesses and professions.

Historical and Literary Club

The club began in 1882 as the Ladies Reading Circle. This club’s purpose was “to gain an intelligent understanding of the world achievements, and its problems, through the study of its history, literature, science, and arts.” This collection contains meeting minutes, financial logs, study topics, yearbooks, papers, and paraphernalia from the organization.

Josiah Bushnell Grinnell Papers

The J. B. Grinnell papers consist primarily of correspondence ca. 1852-91; the remainder are land deeds and Grinnell’s 1850 diary. The major portion of the correspondence is Grinnell’s letters to his wife 1852-54, and 1868-69, some of these touching on his coming to Iowa in 1854.

Magoun Club

The organization was founded in 1870 and eventually named for its first president Elizabeth Magoun, is the oldest women’s club in Grinnell. The main focus of the club was the reading and discussing of literature. These records consist of financial documents, meeting minutes, clippings, correspondence, and a book of recipes from 1870-1995.

Local Collections

Historical Data

John Kleinschmidt Collection

Kleinschmidt was interested in the architecture and history of Grinnell and collected photocopies, copies of microfilm and Sanborn maps, copies of newspaper articles, correspondence, and black and white photographs of local buildings. His collection was donated to Grinnell College following his death in 2000.

Style and Citation Guides

Purdue University Online Writing Lab Style Guides: Chicago/Turabian Style

This style guide contains information on the Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in September 2010.

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource

Subject Specialist
Picture: Chris Jones

Chris Jones
Special Collections Librarian and Archivist of the College
Tel: (641) 269- 3364

Ask a Librarian
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please enable JavaScript, or submit questions via the Web form.